We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again - a success” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frederik Park House

Save Saved
You added Frederik Park House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Frederik Park House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Frederiksplein 22, Amsterdam 1017 XM, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 297 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Norge
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Once again - a success”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

It is a saying that you shall never try to repeat a success.You may be utterly disappointed. We took the chance, and returned to Frederik Park House two years after our first visit - which we do not at all regret. The same warm welcome, the same nice hospitality, the same good breakfast tray, the same nice french little restaurant on one corner, the pub on the other, and so on.
Frederik Park House has four rooms, all of them very different styled. Last time we had the Library Room, this time the Grand Room. We have to come back at least two more times to check out the remaining two. The neighborhood is very charming, and Martin, our host, is much knowledeable when it comes to restaurants and nice things to do and see, both in the area and elsewhere in Amsterdam. This time we were especially filled with enthusiasme after visiting the maritime museum, located in an old building, but newly reopened after a renovation. We most certainly would not have visited the museum without Martins recommendation.
Since last trip, every room has got its own little coffee machine and water boiler for tea. Very nice when you come back to your room after a long day in full speed around the city....

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
37
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

Writing this on the final night of our stay. Frederik Park House is a wonderful place to stay with nice breakfasts (fresh brewed coffee, OJ, yogurt, a boiled egg, a bit of fresh fruit and great breads and jam) brought to your room. Everything you need and want to see is within walking distance and you're out of the craziness near the DAM and where crowds and traffic are noisy. Martin, the owner is extremely helpful each morning with helping you plan your day and his suggestions for dinner restaurants in the neighborhood are spot on -- Sluizer and Tempo Doeloe were both great. Place is very clean and comfortable. Yes, stairs are steep to the rooms and the bathrooms are small, but that shouldn't deter anyone who is smaller than 6' 5"+ and large or unable to climb a few steps.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

Great location in QUIET neighborhood close to restaurants & shopping. Good value. Helpful, non-obtrusive hosts asked me about my interests and made on-target recommendations. Loved fresh Dutch breakfast delivered on tray to room. Rooftop balcony overlooking courtyard gardens --open to all guests-- is spectacular in spring!

Room Tip: All 4 rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

We have been in Amsterdam for a week and have stayed at Frederik Park House. I would like to say that this B&B has such cosy rooms that you feel there very much like at home (especially when compared to a normal "standard" hotel
room) which is amazing. We stayed at the room with fireplace and at the loft. Both were very beautiful and original in terms of design and were rather spacious as well, which is remarkable. The electric fireplace that was in one of the rooms could also be used for heating (which may be convenient sometimes) and the loft has its own small balcony with flowers and a table where you can have your lovely breakfast when it is warm and pleasant outside. I also would like to mention that the breakfast was always delicious, full and fresh. The hosts of Frederik Park House were very hospital. It was a pleasant surprise that their tips and advice always helped us to see the city with the eyes of a Dutchman :) They suggested us various places to go to in and outside the city for almost each day of our stay (interesting sightseeing, streets, shops, restaurants). It was a very lovely experience to stay there. Just as an additional thing I would like to mention that the heating is turned off from 12 p.m. To 7 a.m. each day, however, this does not bring any additional inconvenience or loss of comfort, just keep this in mind. This was done in Autumn and probably the rule is different in Winter and the heating is not being turned off.
Overall we had an extremely pleasant stay at Frederik Park House and we without any doubts recommend this B&B to all our friends.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

Just to confirm : the location is really good ; great room overlooking the park ; excellent breakfasts ; Lots of good tips from Martin on things to see and places to eat.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

Stayed here on a weekend away. Service was great. Breakfast was tasty. Nice fireplace in the room and confy bed. A walk away from Red Light and Central Station however, close to what matters - excellent shopping and the museums. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

We stayed in the Blue Room (#201), which is actually 2 rooms. Plenty of space for a family of 3. The room was clean and pleasant, with easy access to the shared roof terrace. Breakfast was brought to our door each morning, and was ample and tasty. Our host, Martin, was very attentive and helpful.

The hotel is located in a relatively quiet residential area, close to shopping on Utrechtsestraat and the Albert Cuypstraat market. There are several good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Frederik Park House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frederik Park House

Address: Frederiksplein 22, Amsterdam 1017 XM, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 297 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Frederik Park House 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Expedia so you can book your Frederik Park House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frederik Park House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.