We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anco Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anco Hotel
Save
You added Anco Hotel to your Saves list
O.Z.Voorburgwal 55, 1012 EJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
279 helpful votes 279 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

What is the most brilliant feature of this hotel?
Yes - the hosts are! They perfectly manage this hotel in a warm and considerate way making guests welcome.
Yes- the location is! Walking distance from the main railway station and in the middle of everything. Note: there is some red light business around which was not intimidating or disturbing at any moment I have been there.
Yes - it is the view from the window (street side rooms). One glimps and you perfectly know where you are. It looks like the essence of Amsterdam with a canal, typical buildings and even church bell chimes to the hour.
Yes - it is the room quality. Although small, the rooms are renovated, fresh and accomodating. I would say they offer all you need.
There is a bar where breakfast is served, too. Dutch breakfast with international features. Good coffee and teas.
Thank you, Karl & Josef, for making my stay so wonderful and cosy. I am longing to come back to the Anco hotel soon!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    46
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
1
24
58
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Once again my partner and I stayed here for six nights. Our second stay. I have to say this is a great welcoming place to stay. If you want to be in the middle of the red light district it's location is superb. Shared facilities are kept clean and tidy. Rooms are serviced and the staff are very kind and helpful. I have no hesitation in staying here again, and will do on the next visit to Dam.
Friendly atmosphere, good price, ideal location, great staff and the owners treat you like one of their own. 10/10.
Nice to see key deposits gone and replaced with door swipe cards.
Great breakfasts
Good coffe
Sweet hotel pooch
Friendly customers.

Room Tip: Ask for room 21,22 if you want a canal view, highly recommend the front studio apartment too but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I have visited Amsterdam several times and good accomodation is difficult to find at avergae prices. This hotel keeps a good balance, for Amsterdam standards; located in an old property overlooking the Oudekerk, it has a great atmosphere, very gentle staff that look after your needs in all moments and a great location if you want to be right in the center of the city. The canal can get noisy but it did not disturb me at all. An experience I would like to repeat in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

From the minute I walked in until I left, the staff was amazing! The owners are an adorable older couple that love to have fun with each other. I didn't like my first night where I didn't have an apartment suite with a private bathroom because someone over flowed a toilet in the middle of the night and I stepped in the water...but that is not the hotels fault. However, the apologized, without a second thought asked for all of my dirty clothes and washed them, gave me a free drink and really went above and beyond...again it wasn't even their fault.

The next night my suite was ready and it was amazing. Everything was as described, the view of the red light district was awesome and I was in love with Amsterdam. If you are going to Amsterdam, go to Anco Hotel...it is the only place to stay!

Room Tip: Get the suites...it's worth it for the private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Ended up at the Anco hotel after originally booking a hostel and not liking the look of it. The Anco was great for us as a gay couple. The staff were so friendly and helpful. They were knowledgable about the local area and able to recommend some great bars and places to eat. Would recommend. There were also a couple of straight couples there too who seemed to enjoy the friendliness and unpretentiousness of the place. Great location. A little noisy, but to be expected for the location. The after hours basement door is great fun after a few drinks :-).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The hotel is located directly in Red Light Disctrict. So around are all the coffeshops, bars, etc. So the busy and "living" area. Anco Hotel is a gay hotel, but hetero guests are welcome as well. We had studio room with own bathroom. The other rooms are sharing bathroom on the corridor. Our room was very nice and clean.
The studio room has the windows into the busy street. So dont expect quit nights :-) But still, its not that bad. And if you come after the party back to the room, it just doesnt matter :)
In the room price is the breakfast included. The Staff of the hotel, the owners, been very nice and friendly. I can only recomend this hotel to everyone. Gays will feel very good and the heteros as well.

Room Tip: I would recomend to choose studio, as you will have your own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed five nights in this hotel that is centrally located in Amsterdam, within walking distance to Central Station and many of the key sights. The room was clean as were the shared bathroom and shower. The continental breakfast was quite good. Yes, it is noisy, but that obviously is a function of the hotel's location and not an issue with the hotel itself. Their price offers a very good value in that part of the city. Karl and the rest of the staff were very friendly and accommodating and made our stay one to remember.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anco Hotel

Address: O.Z.Voorburgwal 55, 1012 EJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Anco Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.