We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel, great location, staff, & cleanliness; just need to fix WiFi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anco Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Anco Hotel
Save Saved
You added Anco Hotel to your Saves list
O.Z.Voorburgwal 55, 1012 EJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Burlingame, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good value hotel, great location, staff, & cleanliness; just need to fix WiFi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Good value in a clean and well maintained budget hotel near Central Station in the Red Light district. Showers and toilets are shared for most of the rooms, but rooms have individual sinks. Front rooms have charming views over the canal to the Oude Kirk; other rooms lack a view, but are quiet. The rooms that are accessible by stairs behind the reception when it is open are only accessible by ascending to the top floor and then descending the back staircase after 10 PM. The front desk staff (Dennis, Dave) are friendly and helpful, as are owners Josef and Karl, and Carlos kept the room clean and stocked with towels. Breakfasts included ham, cheese, and eggs. I needed a taxi for my return flight and Karl was up before the scheduled breakfast time to give me coffee and to be sure the taxi arrived.

The reason I assigned 4 stars instead of 5 was that they were having ongoing WiFi problems both times that I stayed there during a 2-week period, and internet was accessible for only a couple hours in the mid-morning during weekdays. For those who rely on the internet for travel information (sights, venues, schedules, email, flight updates, etc.) you will want to check before booking to be sure that the WiFi is working. Cell phones that also depend on WiFi (instead of exorbitant roaming charges) worked only to place calls when WiFi was inoperative.

Room Tip: Front rooms have charming views over the canal to the Oude Kirk; other rooms lack a view, but are qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    46
    11
    8
    4
See reviews for
1
24
54
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

As is the case with all things in Amsterdam, space is at a premium and any budget or reasonably priced options translate into small rooms. That is the case with the Anco Hotel - small rooms but if you aren't planning on spending a lot of time in the room then it shouldn't be a big deal. The staff at Anco were very friendly and extremely helpful. The breakfast was good with basic options. The bathroom and shower were shared one floor above mine and I never had an issues getting in when I needed to. The location of the hotel is great for easy access to Damrak, Central Station, red light district, numerous restaurants and assorted bars and clubs.

On the down side there was a lingering smoke smell in the room and the stairs can be very noisy and creaky at night. I also had issues with a "neighbour" who kept their TV volume up way too loud.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The hotel was a good value for the money spent. The location is ideal, right in the center of everything. The room was small and very basic, but clean.
After reading the reviews before my trip I thought it would be a little more like a hotel, but really it's like a very clean hostel or B&B. The rooms are clean, and the bed was comfortable, but it doesn't have all the accomodations you would expect from a hotel (private bath, shampoo/soaps, hair dryer, etc). However, they put on a nice breakfast, and have a small bar on-site as well.
One drawback, you need to leave a 20 Euro deposit for the key, which you get back when you check out. If you're like me, I checked out and went right to the airport - not ideal.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the front street/canal can be loud - I was on the 3rd floor facing the Oude Kirch a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Nice small city hotel. Very helpful and good staff. CLEAN and 2mins for Red Light District and Dam Sq all within walking distance!!! Would definitely stay again but would pay the extra for another hotel if I was going with my partner (that doesn't mean this hotel was bad in any way)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Very, very well located, very kind staff, cool breakfast (they serves smalls kips leverworst!) and cheap! Guest keys so no reception issues!
Even if you are straight (like I am), you'll feel comfortable!
Anco is a great place for a short stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The ANCO is a wonderful place. Just don' take alot of suit cases. As there is not lift and the stairs are typical of old Amsterdam homes, narrow, steep and winding, kind of hard to get any big luggage up. Karl, Dennis, Dave and the rest of the staff were wonderful and very helpful. Get Dave to take you on a private canal cruise on his boat parked in front of the hotel. Better then the customary commercial ones in Amsterdam. A great spot in the heart of the Red Light district. Very close to all of the gay bars. And those are another subject what a place Amsterdam is.
Oh and lets not forget breakfast great selection and good food. We even on morning had an early day trip and they got us breakfast early so we could eat before we left. We were there 8/29 - 9/5/2013 and we will go back and only stay at the ANCO.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in room 24, its well worth a visit, the hotel is clean & very friendly staff (Dave is so funny & as camp as they come). Its in a very good location, its a short walk from the station too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Anco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anco Hotel

Address: O.Z.Voorburgwal 55, 1012 EJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Anco Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;