We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, value and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anco Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anco Hotel
Save
You added Anco Hotel to your Saves list
O.Z.Voorburgwal 55, 1012 EJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, value and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Came here for 4 days in summer with my friends and the owners were very hospitable and friendly. Great location close to all the bars and coffeeshops in the area as well as shopping areas. Split a room with a friend so it was cheap and the rooms were nice. They were overbooked when we arrived but gave us a nicer room than we booked which was very nice. Over all great place!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    50
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
1
32
62
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This place was fantastic on service.
I stayed at the hostel room. I got the feeling of a bed and breakfast because the owners and employees were sooo helpful and nice. If I come back to Amsterdam I will definitely be staying here again.

The shower needs a bit more ventilation and having a TV in the room is kind of a downer taking away from meeting other travelers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I recommend the Anco to all gay travelers the staff are fantastic and they serve you extremely well. The other guests are friendly and the atmosphere is great. I will be staying here on my next visit to Amsterdam. I had the biggest room in the house overlooking the canal and it was excellent. The location is great right in the heart of the gay district what more do you want?

Room Tip: take a double room with a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed in Dam twice now, both times at a gay hotel. THE ANCO IS AMAZING. We just returned from four nights in the studio apartment at Anco. We can't wait to go back ASAP and stay there again, While we were there we met a chap who has been staying there 23 years, I hope we could do the same. VERY FRIENDLY HELPFUL staff. I read a review of someone complaining about no sugar in the room.... GO AND BUY SOME, LIKE I DID. (2 euros) ha ha ha. This hotel looks after you, the sense of humour in the staff is genius. the room was spotless clean, nice toilets, clean shared facilities. I would happily choose a room here with shared shower and toilet, I have seen them and they are nice. so either way the rooms are nice, the location is amazing for the red light district. Every day our room was checked to see what we needed, the boss sat and had a beer with us and took that we had missed breakfast. if you are gay stay here. if stairs are an issue, the stairs here are among the easiest to climb but if you have a room at the back of the hotel, you will have a lot of stairs to climb after hours, you could easily write an email to see if rooms 33,32 on the top front, or 22,21 on the front mid floor, or the studio, room 14 that we stayed in are free. other rooms need a lot of stairs after hours, but as I said, these are good stairs... stay here and have a great time, me and tris will be back there VERY SOON xxx. yes a room at the front in the red light district is noisy and we didn't get hours of sleep, but we were coming home at 5am. if you want your sleep, go stay in Eastbourne or Bournemouth

Room Tip: if stairs are a problem, email ahead to see if a front room is free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Location: Party Place
Facilities: My perception meets my expectations as per website.
Services: Friendly Staff. They cook eggs for breakfast.
Cleanliness: Not consistent in cleaning BUT they will surely replace your towels daily.
Security: Security system in place.
Price: Good

I will recommend this place to solo travellers especially for those who wants to party all night.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed 6 nights at the Anco Hotel at queen's day 2013, guys - don't think twice !! Book now ;)
The stuff are so welcoming and worm like a family, felt like home (was so hard to leave though)
The rooms are nice and clean (took a double bedroom) .. Don't worry about the shared facilities - its very privet though..
Will defiantly book again ;)

Shai,
From Israel

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My stay at Anco Hotel was very pleasant. Contrary to the previous negative customer service reviews, I found the guys that worked there to be helpful, friendly, and accommodating. I had actually booked a dorm bed, but due to some sort of renovation going on, they moved me to a single room for no additional cost. And the location is just A-plus. In the heart of the red light district, overlooking a picturesque canal and church, Anco is just a few minutes walk to the gay bars on Warmoesstraat and beyond the Damrack. I stayed here a couple of months ago, and am now just getting around to writing the review, but I definitely wanted to give it a thumbs up. Breakfast was good, shared bathroom wasn't a problem, and if the hotel is busier I can see the downstairs bar area being a lot of fun.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,832 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#59 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 658 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#132 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#19 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,446 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#145 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anco Hotel

Address: O.Z.Voorburgwal 55, 1012 EJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#44 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Anco Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.