We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Night Party in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anco Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anco Hotel
Save
You added Anco Hotel to your Saves list
O.Z.Voorburgwal 55, 1012 EJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 353 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“4 Night Party in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed in Dam twice now, both times at a gay hotel. THE ANCO IS AMAZING. We just returned from four nights in the studio apartment at Anco. We can't wait to go back ASAP and stay there again, While we were there we met a chap who has been staying there 23 years, I hope we could do the same. VERY FRIENDLY HELPFUL staff. I read a review of someone complaining about no sugar in the room.... GO AND BUY SOME, LIKE I DID. (2 euros) ha ha ha. This hotel looks after you, the sense of humour in the staff is genius. the room was spotless clean, nice toilets, clean shared facilities. I would happily choose a room here with shared shower and toilet, I have seen them and they are nice. so either way the rooms are nice, the location is amazing for the red light district. Every day our room was checked to see what we needed, the boss sat and had a beer with us and took that we had missed breakfast. if you are gay stay here. if stairs are an issue, the stairs here are among the easiest to climb but if you have a room at the back of the hotel, you will have a lot of stairs to climb after hours, you could easily write an email to see if rooms 33,32 on the top front, or 22,21 on the front mid floor, or the studio, room 14 that we stayed in are free. other rooms need a lot of stairs after hours, but as I said, these are good stairs... stay here and have a great time, me and tris will be back there VERY SOON xxx. yes a room at the front in the red light district is noisy and we didn't get hours of sleep, but we were coming home at 5am. if you want your sleep, go stay in Eastbourne or Bournemouth

Room Tip: if stairs are a problem, email ahead to see if a front room is free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    50
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
1
31
62
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Location: Party Place
Facilities: My perception meets my expectations as per website.
Services: Friendly Staff. They cook eggs for breakfast.
Cleanliness: Not consistent in cleaning BUT they will surely replace your towels daily.
Security: Security system in place.
Price: Good

I will recommend this place to solo travellers especially for those who wants to party all night.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed 6 nights at the Anco Hotel at queen's day 2013, guys - don't think twice !! Book now ;)
The stuff are so welcoming and worm like a family, felt like home (was so hard to leave though)
The rooms are nice and clean (took a double bedroom) .. Don't worry about the shared facilities - its very privet though..
Will defiantly book again ;)

Shai,
From Israel

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My stay at Anco Hotel was very pleasant. Contrary to the previous negative customer service reviews, I found the guys that worked there to be helpful, friendly, and accommodating. I had actually booked a dorm bed, but due to some sort of renovation going on, they moved me to a single room for no additional cost. And the location is just A-plus. In the heart of the red light district, overlooking a picturesque canal and church, Anco is just a few minutes walk to the gay bars on Warmoesstraat and beyond the Damrack. I stayed here a couple of months ago, and am now just getting around to writing the review, but I definitely wanted to give it a thumbs up. Breakfast was good, shared bathroom wasn't a problem, and if the hotel is busier I can see the downstairs bar area being a lot of fun.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed at the Anco late August - early September 2012 and found it great. Very clean rooms, but share bathroom; (some rooms have a private bathroom). Also very quiet. Comfortable bed. Was very close to everything which was basically why I booked it. I have mobility problems and found it very easy to get around. Stars are very steep and narrow, which could be an issue for some people. But this is characteristic of all canal houses. Originally I was given a room way up the top but due to my mobility they changed rooms for me to a first floor room which was great. Breakfast provided in the morning which looks appetizing - I don't eat breakfast so don't know how it tastes. Friendly welcoming staff. Internet service was OK. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My partner and I recently stayed at this hotel. On arrival we were welcomed and given all the relevant info for the city. We were offered coffee and it all seemed very pleasant. The next morning when we arrived down for breakfast there was no communication with the guy on duty. we got a table and asked for tea and coffee as we were having continental breakfast. I asked could I get sugar for my cereal and the attendant turned to the guests and said "Sugar for cornflakes". He then proceeded to a press under the buffet table where he handed me a few sachets of sugar. After breakfast we went out and returned in the afternoon with the same guy on duty. I asked could we get coffee - he said 1 or 2. I said 2. he banged presses and proceeded to brew coffee. Eventually he left them on the counter and the only word was €5. We paid and proceeded to our room. The next morning we came down for breakfast there was only one setting on the table for the two of us. As there was no cimmunication I proceeded to the press under the buffet table where the sugar was stored to get a setting for breakfast. Then this elderly guy stampeded through the breakfast area and siad "stop, what are you doing, don't go near those presses" he slammed the press closed and shouted that he would get me what I wanted". I got such a fright I was unable to answer, so my partner and I decided to leave immediately.
The hotel business is all about hospitality, its where people go for a rest and a break - to be spoilt. We were not looking for any special treatment but the attitude and manner of these people leave alot to be desired. You don't pay to stay in a hotel where the staff do not communicate to you, where you feel you are a nuicance and you certainly don't want to be shouted at or humiliated. I or my partner would certainly never return there again.
The hotel itself is well maintained and the location is good but the engine of the hotel - it's staff should not be in this business.
Amsterdam is a lovely city but this experience has left a very bad taste with us. Surley they know that they are not the only gay hotel in Amsterdam. It is very disappointing to be treated like that and having to pay for such an experience. The tourist board in Holland should pay a visit to this non hospitable establishment.

Room Tip: The only tip is not to stay as there are quite a few hotels in the city which are well located and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Excellent location, quality breakfast, fun and attentive staff. When my partner and myself return to Amsterdam we'll certainly be booking our shelves back into the Anco. The location doesn't get any better in Amsterdam for gay men looking for all the bars, clubs and restaurants. The owners and staff make you feel very welcome. It was our home in Amsterdam for 13 nights and we are very happy to have selected that hotel, - we'll be back!

Room Tip: The large room first floor at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Anco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anco Hotel

Address: O.Z.Voorburgwal 55, 1012 EJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Anco Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.