We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anco is superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anco Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anco Hotel
Save
You added Anco Hotel to your Saves list
O.Z.Voorburgwal 55, 1012 EJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Anco is superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed here on a recent excursion to Brussels, Antwerp and finally Amsterdam. I was not dissappointed in the least! David, the host, was a perfect gentleman who has a great knoledge of the city. He is funny and very accomodating. We stayed in the apartment which has it's own kitchenette and private bathroom. It also has a great view over the canal and is worth the extra Euro's. The Anco is perfectly situated in the Centrum area of Amsterdam where literally everything you could want is out you doorstep or a way to get there always available. They even have private boat canal tours for 17 Euro. I could go on and on but by now youe probably guess....we LOVED the Anco and will definetely be back!

Room Tip: Get the Apartment...1st floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    48
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
1
27
59
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Staff were very friendly which I wasn't expecting. Location is perfect and the room was 3* level clean tidy and adequate for my needs. Hotel is a stones throw from the centre of the action. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Hotel Anco is ideally located for those wishing to do touristy things or for sampling Amsterdam's nightlife. Set in the red light district it is near several gay bars and clubs.

The hotel itself has recently had some refurb work done and is good overall. I arrived early and this was not a problem at all. The receptionist Denis is hilarious and I got his humour straight away. The hotel were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. I had originally booked a dorm but ended up sharing a twin with another guest which was ideal.

Breakfast was fine and ample and drinks are available both in reception and at a drinks machine. Beds were comfortable and toilet and showering facilities were clean.

The only negatives were that it can be noisy as walls are thin and that at night you have to walk up to 3rd floor and come down all the stairs at the back if you are staying at the back of the hotel. The stairs are quite steep but typical of Amsterdam canal properties.

All in all an enjoyable experience. Perhaps a little overpriced but ideally located. Will definitely return again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel to avoid having to go up and over at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Recently refurbished rooms have pushed this hotel right to the top of anyone's list who wants a downright friendly, superbly located, excellent value b and b right where its at in Amsterdam. Already planning to return.

Room Tip: Try to get double room 22 on 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

I have stayed here many times and always will. For a gay hotel it's in a perfect location. Within walking distance of so much and close to train station. Free Breakfasts. Friendly staff. Rooms aren't high class tho acceptable. After all you only need a clean place to sleep and shower as you'll be out sightseeing.

Room Tip: Any room will do. Single rooms are small. Stairs are steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Main advantage of this hotel is its location. It is perfectly located: less than 10 min walk from train station, 3 min walk from Warmoestraat (heart of red light district), 5 min walk from Dam Square and from tram station where you can trains to almost main attraction in the city. Hotel is situated along a very nice canal, at the border of the red light district. Neighbourhood is not really noisy even during week end.
I travelled alone but booked a double room to have more space. Room was lovely. It seemed it was recently refreshed. Had a nice view on the canal. It was not really big and i think it could be a bit small for 2 people as there is not a lot of space to move around the bed and to store the suitcase. There is only one sink in the bedroom. Shower and toilets are shared. Shower looked old but clean. Toilets were very clean too.
In the bedroom closet is rather small to put the clothes. There was also no dustbin.
Room are not really soundproof as I could hear my neighbour snored at night as if he were in my room.
WIFI is available in every room and worked well.
Breakfast served from 9 am to 11 am. It is continental. It is ok. The second day I arrived in the breakfast room at 8.58 am. The guy at the reception desk was just arriving and told me in a very rude way that breakfast was served at 9 am. I said I did not mind waiting . Then he started mumbling in dutch and looked really angry. So I decided to have my breakfast outside. in the morning I rather have a quiet atmosphere to have my coffee. The day after the same guy had a kind behaviour. Really weird.
Except this guy, the rest of the staff were very kind and helpful.
I paid EUR 99 per night. I found this a bit expensive regarding the service offered, the room without bathroom. Single room is EUR 70. I think it is a bit expensive too. I had the opportunity to have a look inside one single: it was a bit dark as located at the back of the building, the sink was old and had some stains. The mirror above was broken.
This hotel is not a bad option to stay but not the best quality for value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

I had a 14 hour layover in AMS so I went into the city which I have been to before. I went to this hotel and walked in. Nobody was there. So, I then looked downstairs and the receptionist was lying on the couch sleeping. I asked a couple of times if he had rooms...no answer. Then he woke up and asked how I got in. I said the door was opened. I asked if they had rooms (on a Monday night) and he said no. Then when we were walking upstairs I asked him again knowing that the Christmas/New Year travel season was over and he said he had rooms...opened up the key holder and presto, most of the keys were hanging there meaning they were far from filled. He was the most inconsiderate, rude, nasty person I think I have ever dealt with at a hotel. The price of the hotel was taken down to 70 euro. I was then told at 10pm the hotel closes and that I would need to let myself in and out with the key. This was ok. Since I needed to be back at Schipol by 6am I asked if I could have a wake up call and he said no. Then I said I need to find a place that has wake up calls. He then said he would get me an alarm clock. Mind you, the 70 euro room rate is for a room that has a shared bathroom and shower. As many rooms in AMS are small due to the lateral configurations, I expected it to be small but this was on the verge of ridiculous. The room had a sink, a broken cheap "closet", a bed, and a small tv. The view was good as it was on the third floor overlooking a canal. The location is excellent as it is about a ten minute walk from the Amsterdam Centraal Station which has trains leaving constantly and taking 15-20 minutes each way. Would I recommend this hotel? Emphatically no.

Room Tip: Some rooms face inside meaning no views whatsoever. If you get a room ask for one overlooking the ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anco Hotel

Address: O.Z.Voorburgwal 55, 1012 EJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#69 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Anco Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.