We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“greattt staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anco Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anco Hotel
Save
You added Anco Hotel to your Saves list
O.Z.Voorburgwal 55, 1012 EJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“greattt staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

very accomodating staff..they were very friendly and full of life. the owners were wonderful and went out of their way to make you happy. AS for Dave - he is the perfect host..LOVE love love him..his happiness and energetic ways make me feel at home. Thanks again guys for making my vacation a wonderful one

Room Tip: get the bottom floor..steps are narrow..:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    46
    11
    8
    4
See reviews for
1
24
55
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isla Mujeres
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Small rooms, steep stairs, shared bath... That's Amsterdam! Anco has great canal-front location, extremely clean, great breakfast and friendly management. We loved sitting on the front stoop with a cold beer and soaking up the neighborhood. Our first choice for retrun accommodations

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011 via mobile

My name is mo I stayed at Anco's for 2 nights The new Management are very nice and friendly they know how to make you feel welcome the guest are also friendy
meet a few friends. Thanks

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Had the pleasure of staying twice during my recent holiday to Amsterdam & Belgium. Within a few hours of arriving I was on a private canal tour with a great bunch of guests & Dave is a wonderful guide. The morning breakfasts are a great start to the day & a nice way to meet others. Location is central for venturing out & easy to find your way around from. Great people, place & price. Happy to recommend & return again soon!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

I had three great days staying at the Anco. Having read earlier reviews, I know what the reported problems with staff ' attitude' is. Actually, there is no problem, it is just a Dutch form of humor. Part sarcasm, part dry humor. Just play along and you will find the team here are great fun. Especially in the morning when the breakfast guy slams down you eggs! Look carefully and you will see a sly smile.

I went on the boat cruise that the Anco run on their small boat. Excellent value and a great experience.

The room was clean and the bathrooms serviced regularly. If you are looking for 'extra fun' you can find it with other guests although it is not too obvious (no orgies in the corridors). If you want to be left alone then that is easy too.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

if you want to get an idea of their lousy service, just phone them and try to book a room. It'll give you a flavour of what to expect when you get there. I guess there are obvious reasons why gay men would want to go here, but that means the rude staff don't have to try. Be great if they got proper competition, hope some aspiring entrepreneur gives them some, it's needed. Should have followed my instinct. Avoid.

Room Tip: choice of noise or no view. no view is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

The Anco Hotel is conveniently located, clean, comfortable, and owned and managed by two very pleasant, friendly, and helpful gentlemen. The entire staff was friendly and helpful and always provided personalized service. The breakfast was delicious with a variety of choices. Our next trip to Amsterdam will definitely find us staying at the Anco!

Room Tip: We had the studio with an ensuite bath and kitchenette. It was a very large room with a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anco Hotel

Address: O.Z.Voorburgwal 55, 1012 EJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Anco Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.