We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL AND FRIENDLY STAFF AND MANAGEMENT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ITC Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added ITC Hotel to your Saves list
ITC Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Princegracht 1051, 1017 JE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #230 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“GREAT HOTEL AND FRIENDLY STAFF AND MANAGEMENT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

If you want to stay in a great place with lovely staff, clean room and a lot of privacity its is the place to stay in Amsterdam. And off course the prices are very very good for one 2 star hotel. Is near of all coffee shops and tourist atractions and you can see the channel in your front. I will recommend this hotel to all my friends who comes to Amsterdam for a short or long stays. If you want deep informations about the cultural life ask for Justyna, she is in charge of the hotel in the week days, she give you all support for a perfect stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    72
    65
    34
    38
See reviews for
21
60
53
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

It seems there are 2 types of budget hotels. On the one hand you have those budget hotels where offering inexpensive rooms with a minimal service level is a conscious decision, like easyHotel, and these hotels typically offer simple but clean and decent looking rooms with decent furniture. Then on the other hand you have those budget hotels that over the years have become so worn and run down that they cannot pretend they are any but a budget hotel. And ITC Hotel definitely belongs to this second category.

The hotel is centrally located and that is perhaps its only good feature. Overall the hotel gives a rather run down feeling, with the stairs/hallway in need of a paint job and the smell of smoke/marijuana permeating the building, the hallways and the rooms as it definitely does not look like this hotel has a non-smoking policy.

My room was a decent size for Amsterdam standards, but that probably was mainly because I had opted to go for a double room instead of a single room, which I feared would be too small. The room was rather noisy, with sounds coming both from the hallway and the upstairs room, the bed sheets smelled strongly of smoke, things like the remote control and the lamp above the sink weren't working and I couldn't say the room was overly clean.

All in all it is one of those hotels you stay once and never come back again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

The one and only good thing I can say about this hotel is its just a few blocks walking distance from Rembrant Square, but thats it. The room was tiny and smelled, heater did not work. The bathroom door did not reach all the way to the floor, therefore there was no privacy. The shower curtain so moldy it stuck to its self in one big clump, nasty nasty, nasty. And for $116 US, outrageous.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

We stayed at the ITC for one night only, and our stay wasn't planned. We originally booked at another hotel, which I wouldn't have put a dog in, and walked out. We found the ITC through laterooms.com, and got a good rate at the eleventh hour, but having got an appreciation of hotel prices in Amsterdam, and having seen the poor quality of some of them, it was an absolute pleasure to check in here. The hotel is a traditional Dutch Town House, and has a lot of character and charm. Don't expect big rooms, they don't come cheap in this city. If you have realistic expectations, then the ITC is a great little find. The hotel staff are very helpful, and even accommodated us with a canal view room (with a little persuasion), and complimentary breakfast once they had heard about the experience with the previous hotel, and the bad day we had had. The breakfast is continental buffet style, and served til 12 noon, in a comfortable room with canal views. The place is very clean, and we couldn't fault the standard of hygiene or service. I don't know where the other negative reviewers stayed, but I don't understand some of their comments. You get what you pay for, and with the ITC we got more than that.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

The room was very small, but we got a room with a lovely view over the canal. Very clean! Nice neigbourhood.
The location is good, walking-distance to everything. If you don't want to walk there is a tramstation just across the street.

No elevetor.

Perfect for me and my partner who didn't spend to much time in the hotel. Cheap!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

This hotel is near some of the main attractions of Amsterdam, such as the Amstel river, Leidseseplein and Rembrandtsplein, the Museumplein and about 1/2 hr walk from Anne Franks House. It is also within walking distance of Centraal station, but can be reached by many different tram and bus services. The Stop/Go from the station is just 1 EURO.
The hotel we stayed in was not ITC but the Townhouse, which is just over the other side of the Prinsengracht. We had booked a double room, but were given a twin room which we were not totally happy with as it was also very small, but there was a shower and hairdryer which we had not expected. We were given fresh towels, soap and bed linen each day, and the hotel was quite clean. However, there was a thick glue-like substance on the windowsills which was not removed and the table had a number of stains on it and looked as though it had not been cleaned for some time! Also, there was no wardrobe nor coathangers and no kettle, despite the fact that we had been provided with coffee, tea and cups!
I was also extremely disconcerted about the lack of staff. Despite the very friendly receptionist we did not meet any other staff members during our entire stay! I believe that the Townhouse is actually unstaffed as on the Wednesday morning we were woken at 8am by a smoke alarm, followed by a door alarm. This was because a group of individuals on our floor had been smoking cannabis in the shared toilet facility and had run away from the hotel once the alarms went off. We had to wait outside for some time until the hotelier from over the way at ITC came to switch off the alarm. In fact, he said that this must not happen again as the alarm wires had to be cut! Goodness knows what should happen if there is a real fire in the hotel. Also, the hotel has a strict no-smoking policy according to a number of sources yet the smell of cigarette and cannabis smoke was almost constantly present.

Despite these negatives, however, the hotel is in a good spot and provides the value for money that is to be expected from a 2 star hotel. With a bit more attention to the decor, upkeep and cleanliness of the hotel the Townhouse could get better reviews. This sort of hotel is for the no-frills, budget traveller, and backpackers/younger travellers looking for something that not far off from being a youth hostel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

In my opinion the best location in the city. Easy walking distance of the Museums, Opera House and Concertgebouw. Easy transprot connections to Red Light District and Leidesplein or a 20 minute or so walk from either. The Cafes and eating places in Utrechtstraat and Rembrandtplein are on the doorstep.
My single room was small but clean and comfortable and fair value for the price. The rooms are small and the walls thin but no more so than in similar hotels everywhere. A feature of Amsterdams architecture is tall narrow buildings with corresponding staircases which make humping heavy luggage a pain. Travel light if possible.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ITC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Hotel

Address: Princegracht 1051, 1017 JE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — ITC Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your ITC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itc Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ITC Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.