We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very satisfied with the hotel, all staff and transport options” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ITC Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added ITC Hotel to your Saves list
ITC Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Princegracht 1051, 1017 JE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #232 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
essex
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very satisfied with the hotel, all staff and transport options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

We stayed at the ITC hotel in early February 2010 ... we were apprehensive
after reading some reviews ... we had booked a double room with a canal
view ... however when we arrived the room was double booked so we had a
back room (number 6, third floor) - no canal view ... the room itself
was okay ... the separate shower and toilet were fine ... with lots of
hot water on demand .. the heating was very efficient ... no view to
speak of ... just overlooking another house ... the room was big enough
... decoration was okay ... some of the other rooms might be smaller
... but it's a place to sleep, not to live ... all are clean, warm and
comfortable (we had a look at some whilst the housekeeper cleaned).

The next day we moved to room 7 (a triple room) overlooking the canal
(also on the third floor)... its a big room ... with three beds ( we
used two) so plenty of room to stretch out ... we were very happy with
this room ... again the shower and toilet were good ... the hot water
and heating excellent.

The staff were very helpful ... although there were no tea and coffee
making facilities in the room ... there is a machine in the reception
where you can get free tea and coffee to take to your room ...
breakfast (7.50 euros) was fine ... the usual continental fare ...
bread/toast, cereal, meats, eggs, cheese, orange juice, tea and coffee
etc. ... self service ... as much as you wanted.

The stairs were steep and winding ... but this is what you must expect
in a old converted canal house ... it all adds to the charm of
Amsterdam ... the stop and go bus will stop outside the hotel if you
hail it (1 euro 1 hour - excellent value and one every 10 - 15 minutes)
and will drop you off at any point on route to the station ... the
number 4 tram stops on the bridge outside the hotel.

Overall ... this is a clean and friendly hotel ... the sheets and
towels were fresh and changed regularly ... the housekeepers were
friendly ... and would change sheets/towels etc if asked ... This is
not a five star hotel ... if you want a sterile homogenized environment
... then you need to go a modern sealed double glazed hotel ... at this
one you can open the windows and experience the sights and sounds of
Amsterdam ... We would recommend this 2 star hotel as a good base for
your stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    77
    74
    38
    40
See reviews for
24
64
56
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

I spent 2 nights at this hotel which I booked online via the hotel website ( room # 3 ). To start with this place is a Canal House not a modern hotel. Which is, yes the stairs are really steep and there's no elevator ( no comfortable if you have heavy or a lot of baggage ) and what travellers might expect from a hotel are not going to get at this place. Even if posted on the hotel website, there's no bar but wending machine, breakfast is served by the receptionist on the 2 tables that are available for ( with a very nice view indeed ), no toiletries in the room, no safe & no internet. When I visited ( Nov. 24,2009 ) there were works on the rail line of tram nr. 4 which included a diversion to a different stop. Keep in mind you will need between 10 and 20 minutes by foot depending on where you get off to reach the hotel. Don't rely too much on the door bell when checking is, as it is not always attended ( in my case, I was waiting for a good 6 mins before a guest came out of the building to let me in ). After you are checked in you will receive your own key though.
Rooms are very basically appointed and furniture shows the ages. In my room 2 main light bulb were not working or missing and no one ever replace them. Some linen were stained. The room overlooked the opposite building, 20 meters aways, so you could see inside the other places but no view of the canal and not even the sky. There's no really a bathroom but a separate shower & toilet were closed off by a door, which didn't close propely, while a sink was next to the bed. There was a folded away table attached to the wall. Walls are also not that soundproofed.
The reception was always attended but I only found one lady very helpfull with informations and directions.
The location of this place is very interesting and at the time of booking for a double room single occupancy I paid 59 €uros without breakfast, though the room wasn't really double and if you pay the bill with your C/C you will get a 3% surcharge.
The hotel rate wasn't expensive for Amsterdam standards but there are a bit too many downs to let me choose this property again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

I stayed in room number 11, on the third floor of the ITC for about $35 euro per night. The room looked newly remodeled and overlooked a canal. The wifi is good. Staff was very accommodating.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

The hotel's location is good; fairly close to the attractions and on a nice, fairly quiet, canal street. The front desk was actually pretty nice; especially the late night guy who let me make a couple of international calls using the front desk phone when I couldn't make them from the pay phone. The 4th floor shared bathroom was clean and well stocked with toilet paper. Now for the bad comments: To get up to the 4th floor (the attic floor,) I had to climb a stairwell that was more like a ladder than stairs. Also, the room was kind of shady. The window frame was broken so the window was hard to get up and down, the mirror was cracked, the paint was chipping, and the TV got terrible reception. Also, the room seemed to make me a little 'ithcy.' AND there was a strange off & on rumbling noise from the room next door that sounded like someone was chopping off body parts. If you're traveling on your own, and on a tight budget, I say go ahead. If traveling with a partner, and can pay a few extra $$$, I say go somewhere a lil nicer!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and were charged 400 Euros for two nights' substandard accommodation - unfortunately we had booked two rooms, which meant a total of 800. The price was apparently inflated because of a banking conference in the city that weekend. Problems with our room included a window propped open by two plastic water bottles because of a broken sash; a faulty door handle - a clear fire hazard;
a miniscule and unventilated toilet area; a bed more like three-quarter sized than double - a proper double bed would not have fitted into the narrow, inexpertly-divided room; damp in the wardrobe; a partly-unpainted ceiling; a cigarette burn in the duvet cover; only half a roll of toilet paper on arrival; a stained and burned bedside cabinet;
no hairdryer; no shampoo/ shower gel/ tissues; no tea/ coffee making facilities in the room; no breakfast included in the price; apparently no bar, as advertised and pictured on the website ....I could go on. The receptionist offered me a 15% discount, but the owner instructed him to withdraw this offer. The owner refused to speak to me and has failed to anser any of my emails. Two other guests complained that they had been charged considerably more for an equally substandard room. Another had had no hot water over the weekend. We were unable to move hotels, as we were advised that we would still be charged for our second night. Really really horrible and an absolute rip off. I wouldn't recommend this place to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

Anyone posting negative reviews here is clearly coming to Amsterdam for the first time. It is a very expensive city to stay in - and ITC was fantastic for the price. I was in a single room for 6 nights, and will definitely return here.
You cannot expect a luxury hotel for this price - but ITC is cosy, has old-style character, is located bang in front of one of the most historic canals in the city, and has convenient services (breakfast buffet, cable tv, fast free wifi, and staff that will advise on anything you need). The neighbourhood is smart so the food options are pretty good - traditional fish stalls, delis and bakeries, etc.
There are a variety of rooms, so you can be more or less lucky - I was grateful for my room which had shutter windows opening onto the canal, small but cute.
Staff are really lovely and friendly too. I stay in a lot of hotels, and don't often feel compelled to recommend them - but this one gets a huge thumbs up! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

We stayed in this terrible hotel two nights. The misleading photos published on the booking sites.They do not match up with the real rooms.The rooms are not clean enough. No soap, toilet paper and raggy towels with holes.The furnitures and beds are
poor, old-fashioned and some of them are even broken. The hotel is too expensive compared to the quality of the rooms.Not only the pictures, the value of the hotel also does not match up with the price. The manager/owner has no idea about the hotel management, even the staff manage the hotel better than him. A manager /owner without qualifications made this wonderful situated hotel poor and poor.. The only positive thing about this hotel is the location. it is located in a beautiful part of the city and close to downtown.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ITC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Hotel

Address: Princegracht 1051, 1017 JE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #232 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — ITC Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your ITC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itc Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ITC Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.