We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel ever!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of ITC Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added ITC Hotel to your Saves list
ITC Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Princegracht 1051, 1017 JE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #245 of 351 Hotels in Amsterdam
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst hotel ever!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Decided to book just over a week here. Not only did I not get the room I asked for: I asked for 2 double rooms, ended up wit one double and one twin share. When confronting the manager in regards to this he tried to deny their mess up despite the evidence of me paying for 2 double rooms and proceeded to do nothing about it. The beds were like sleeping on a pallet of bricks and the walls were thin. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    90
    84
    50
    47
See reviews for
26
76
64
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked in advance for a 3 night stay at the Townhouse Hotel - which is actually opposite and down the road from the ITC.

When we arrived at the Townhouse there was a note on the door telling us to go to the ITC Hotel instead.

We had booked and paid for a double en suite room.

At reception they gave us our keys and pointed us in the direction of our room (number 16 in the ITC not the Townhouse) We were pretty horrified when we saw it. It is the thinnest room ever, below street level, smelled pretty terrible, furniture had all seen better days and it had two tiny single beds either end of the room not a double. As it was getting late in the day we decided that we would just deal with it and go out and explore.

However that night, the beds were so uncomfortable we couldn't sleep - they were so bouncy, we just couldn't get comfy. The noise from the roadside was unbelievable and the walls were so thin we could hear people snoring, coughing and laughing in the room next door and from the corridor.

The en suite was dirty and a horrible smell was coming out of the shower drain.

The following morning we complained and the guy behind reception begrudgingly showed us two rooms we could change to - One was a double in the ITC which looked as grim as the twin room we had had and the other was a far cleaner and brighter twin room in the Townhouse down the road. We took the room in the Townhouse,

The Townhouse room was once the reception and was right by the front door. There was a living room (which was once the reception) which was filled with junk and a reception desk, a bedroom - very clean and quite nice and a en-suite which again was quite nice.

We stayed there for the remaining two nights and although the room itself was okay the noise was terrible. Other guests kept thundering up and down the stairs and shouting outside our room. Above our bedroom was a flat roof so people were out there shouting and talking and walking about both late in the evening and early in the morning. Other guests kept leaving the front door open so safety was compromised. The front windows didn't close properly and people congregated outside smoking, so our room was filled with second hand cigarette smoke.

There was also a huge skylight in the roof of our bedroom which although was nice during the day, it meant we were woken up very early as soon as it was light as there was no blinds or curtains.

So although we had an amazing time in Amsterdam we certainly would NEVER return to either the ITC or Townhouse hotel - There are far better and far more reasonably priced hotels in the city.

The only plus points to either hotel are that they are well located and easy to find.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

Have stayed previously but this time was Thursday to Sunday. I like the hotel, it is in a nice location but becoming increasingly shabby and tired around the edges. Tram line is convenient but can be a bit noisy, but so can the guests - better soundprooffing would be high on my list for a general sprucing upgrade which this place is beginning to need. Also the price it is at the top end of budget and for all its quaint quirky charm I have found cheaper and better hotels with the added extra - like free bikes!

Room Tip: Avoid room overlooking the tram line. Also some of the rooms are very small with restricted headroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

We stayed in this hotel from the Thursday to the Monday and it was in a great spot! As if you stay in the main city centre it would be so noisy with the traffic and people with early starts!

They have comfortable bed, clean rooms and friendly staff!

The only thing is we stayed on the second floor ( room 8) with going up 3 flights of stairs which was fine for us young ones, but might be too much for the more mature adult! Haha :)

Plus is you are staying at this hotel it would be very handy to know, when you get the train into central station you will wonder what Tram to get instead of a taxi! You get tram 4 which is on the left side of central station. And you get off either on the 6th of 7th stop. You will see the hotel to your right when the tram stops at either of those stops. The tram is €3 but your better getting a tram card which cost us 17 Euro for 3 days. It was brilliant, so handy as well to get everywhere!! :)

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Friendly helpful staff, clean hotel room. Great view over the canal. Room on the small side but to be expected for a budget hotel. Fresh towels and bedding each day. Shared facilities clean, again small but perfectly satisfactory. Great location with direct tram to central station. Perfect for a weekend trip away. Only downside would be the noise from other guests but this hardly bothered us.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to ITC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Hotel

Address: Princegracht 1051, 1017 JE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #245 of 351 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — ITC Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Otel so you can book your ITC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itc Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ITC Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.