We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“25 years on...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ITC Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added ITC Hotel to your Saves list
ITC Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Princegracht 1051, 1017 JE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #244 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“25 years on...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

I originally stayed here in 1989. The stairs were the same (very steep!) but now the prices are the same (very steep!). This place has a fantastic location on the Prinsengracht - right on the Tram 4 link to/from Amsterdam Centraal station and about 12 minutes away (worth checking out the ticket options during your stay). I avoided the breakfast (not worth the money) and went via tram to Dam Square where the is a McDonalds serving hot breakfast foods for 2.95 euros.
Three doors away is Cafe Bouwman with the amazing owner Mirella, her team and aloof white cat! The place and its annexe need a full refurb - I was in the annexe room 24 and it was tired and the WC cistern was not working well. Despite this. I would probably stay again. Couldn't face taking my luggage on the tram to get back to the airport so I booked the shuttle bus at 17 euros and arrived at Schiphol departures in about 20 minutes - expensive but stress free. Reception staff very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on lower floors - the stairs are seriously steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    88
    82
    46
    47
See reviews for
26
73
63
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We really liked the location of this hotel although we stayed in what is called the Townhouse, across the canal from the check-in location. The room was bare-bones but adequate. We had 3 twin-sized beds and a bathroom which is what we requested. However, whenever we flushed the toilet, it came up in the shower. This was obviously disgusting and a health hazard. I immediately went back to the reception area and told the woman about this problem. She said she would have someone come and take care of it. I didn't know what they would do because it seemed to be a problem with their pipes, but ok. However, the problem continued, so the next morning I went back to reception and she promised to have someone come to the room. We were out all day but when we returned, it was obvious no one had come. Again, I reported the problem and this time she sent a man with a plunger. The toilet was not stopped up; it was a matter of their pipes and sewer. Fortunately we left the next day but the woman never offered to move us of refund any money. While the room and view were good, this made our stay unpleasant.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights August 2014 with 3 friends in 2x twin rooms. The rooms were unmodernised with ridiculously small, the bathrooms are poorly positioned and very small. The location of the hotel does not match the cost either. This should be a €30 a night hotel and not €120 as we paid (a night). The rooms were nothing like advertised either!

Booked through Booking.com with a pre-authorisation on the credit card and when we arrived, the price increases by about 10% with no explanation given.

Would not recommend.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

All was fine for us, as it was cheap. The room was presentable, staff very helpful. Location perfect. Close to bars, cafés and restaurants.
The water from the cold tap looked like it came straight from the canal. We didn't notice until we were sober so on the last day. And would have liked tea and coffee facilities in the room. Otherwise a perfect place for a few days away. Loved it! Oh and you can hire there biked, convenient.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

My friends and I had a lovely weekend at ITC. We only stayed one night, and the room was perfect for us. 3-person room across the road - clean, very minimal. Perfect since we were weren't in the room much; we honestly just needed a place to sleep. The staff was very nice and helpful. The only concern we had was with the condition of the room; there was a large hole in the bathroom door (not see-through or anything). Our group just didn't want to be charged for an issue we didn't cause, but everything was fine.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

if you're looking for a fancy hotel this is not the one. Bathrooms are shared, the room is too small for 2 single beds and the TV is impossible to watch due to its position in the room. But actually i wasnt there to watch Tv, so its a detail for me. Its really close to the city center and near to coffee shops, restaurants and nightlife. The staff are very helpful and I had no problems getting there by public transport and also, the price u pay to stay there was Ok. I'd recommend if u r looking for a comfy bed and not to spend lots of money to stay in a regular hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Stayed in a quad room which consisted of a double, two singles and an en-suite. The bathroom was more of a wet room however as the shower wasn't separated by a curtain. This was abit annoying but much better than having a shared bathroom which is quite common in Amsterdam. The beds were extremely comfy and we had our room cleaned and fresh sheets everyday. Would have liked to have more than one bin though. Had a lovely view of the canal from our room as well. The hotel itself does have a smell to it, like a damp or mould but fortunately this wasn't in our room. Some girls in our group had the continental breakfast one morning and said it was delicious. The location is pretty good, walking distance from Rembrandt square where there is a club and bars. The tram stops right outside the hotel and takes about 10 - 15 minutes to get to Dam central/red light district. All the staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and helped us so much in terms of giving us directions to places and travel information. Thank you itc hotel!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ITC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Hotel

Address: Princegracht 1051, 1017 JE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #244 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — ITC Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your ITC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itc Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ITC Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.