We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine location, but praise ends there - - Skip this one and keep looking (trust me!)” 2 of 5 stars
Review of ITC Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added ITC Hotel to your Saves list
ITC Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Princegracht 1051, 1017 JE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #245 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Birmingham, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fine location, but praise ends there - - Skip this one and keep looking (trust me!)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Small main building overlooks the Prinsengracht Canal on a relatively quiet street. Continental breakfast (not buffet-style) is adequate and good value at 7.5 euros. (Just 3 two-seat tables available in canal-view alcove.)

Convenient location for canal strolls, dining and catching trams. There's also a tempting herring stand just steps away!

Those are the only positive comments because we were bumped to a highly undesirable second-floor room above a yogurt shop half a block away on a thoroughfare with heavy pedestrian and vehicle traffic -- including clanging trolley service from 7 a.m. to midnight. Keeping the window shut wasn't an option, as the bare-bones rooms (more like a cell) lack air conditioning or ceiling fans, (Speaking of windows, they're old and open only a few inches when propped up with a small holder.)

We were awakened repeatedly by drunken revelers from nearby Rembrant Plein (square) and by the ding-dinging cable cars.

The room, though clean, was uncomfortable. No desk, outside phone, desk or wall-mounted hair dryer (had to request one from desk).

Definitely undeserving of 3 stars -- a laughable over-rating, though we were hardly felt like laughing.

Room Tip: Insist that lodging in main building is guaranteed, or book elsewhere. Trust me on this -- it should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    91
    84
    50
    47
See reviews for
26
76
64
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here on a short break to Amsterdam. The room we were offered was very basic and across the road from the main hotel. It appeared to be previous staff quarters and was in fact 2 rooms with some stuff being stored in it. Room was of a very basic standard and we decided to complain. I have no complaints about staff who were helpful and agreed to give us a different room, although pointed out this would also be basic and that we would have to move again as room we would be in was booked out next day. We agreed to this and have to say this room was better, although still extremely basic. Mattress on bed noted to have springs sticking up and definately needed changed. I would not stay in again or recommend this hotel. However, location is good and may suit if you are on a budget, although have to say we did not feel it was particularly cheap.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I would NEVER EVER recommend this hotel to anyone. I booked 7 days here. On the 3rd night, at 4 am, someone was knocking on doors asking to be let in. I tried to call the front desk only to discover that the phones only take INCOMING calls, not outgoing. There was a button to call the reception and NOONE ANSWERED MY CALLS. This person came back a second time, knocking on doors, asking to be let in. All I could do was email the hotel desk and hope someone would read my email. In the morning I asked to speak to the manager. I felt UNSAFE in this hotel and I wanted my money back for the remaining nights. The staff gave me a run-around, come back at 4, come back at 11, and the manager never showed up. I forfeited 3 nights and moved. MY SAFETY IS MUCH MORE IMPORTANT THAN ANYTHING ELSE. There are better hotels out there, folks, and this hotel should be avoided at all costs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Welcoming staff on the most part, but the room (triple) lacked any useful furniture, views or space.

The safe was not bolted down and had no key.
There was no wardrobe, but 3 hangers balanced on a radiator. (Useless)
No tea/coffee facilities in room.
In fact the only furniture we had were beds and a tv, so a bit disappointing on that front!

Great location though, but not sure if we would go back at the price we paid.
Also not sure that the taxi company they use follow the 'agreed rate' to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

After arriving in Amstersam as a group of 6 boys, and leaving the hostel we booked because it was appaling ( Leidseplein Hotel ), we looked around and found this. The receptionist was a young asian woman who could not have been more helpful. The staff were friendly and sociable. The rooms were nice, Clean beds and extremely comfortable ( best bed I've ever slept in ) shower facility is good although water stays in the shower area for a couple of hours so wear shoes when going to the bathroom. The hotel is right on a canal and we were getting blazed there everyday and the hotel didn't even mind! This hotel literally saved our lives as we would've had to sleep in the street for 3 nights in the rain if they hadn't helped us. They even gave us a £30 discount EACH because we explained the situation! A friend of mine paid over £600 for a hotel for the same duration and he admitted the ITC hotel was better. STAY HERE

Room Tip: Room 01 , Room 15 ( big windows to smoke out of ) , Room 19 ( seperate shower and toilet )
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Hotel was clean and tidy, very budget but good location!! only downside was the receptionist when we stayed very unhelpful & rude man..

I would recommend this hotel to any one due to the price and location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Hotel is very central, on Prinsengracht and very close to Rembrandt Square. Far enough away for it to be quiet at night though. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was bigger than expected for the price (three beds for two adults and a five year old), clean and the ensuite shower/toilet had been newly refurbished. Perfect for a short stay in a beautiful city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to ITC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Hotel

Address: Princegracht 1051, 1017 JE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #245 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — ITC Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Otel so you can book your ITC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itc Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ITC Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.