We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money for Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ITC Hotel

Save Saved
You added ITC Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ITC Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Princegracht 1051, Amsterdam 1017 JE, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #223 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great value for money for Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Hotel is very central, on Prinsengracht and very close to Rembrandt Square. Far enough away for it to be quiet at night though. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was bigger than expected for the price (three beds for two adults and a five year old), clean and the ensuite shower/toilet had been newly refurbished. Perfect for a short stay in a beautiful city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    68
    72
    38
    34
See reviews for
17
53
48
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were exhausted and this was further than we wanted to walk from Central Station while carrying luggage so we got a taxi. The hotel is split into several buildings around the area so you may not be staying where you thought. We had anticipated a canal view from the main building and instead we were on a busier, louder street in a secondary building. The Red Light District is several blocks away but Rembrandt Square is closer.

The bed seemed somewhat smaller than a standard double bed but for only one night, it was fine. The bathroom is absolutely tiny and the shower splashes on the floor - no way I could find to prevent it - so we used the hand towels provided to make sure we didn't slip on the wet floor.

The wifi was strange. iPad picked up network but the phones could not.

The bed and bathroom were clean. The safe was very small and didn't have a key so there was really no way to lock anything in it. When we go back for longer, I will not choose this location. Too small for an extended stay for more than 1 person and no way to secure valuables in the room.

For 1 person or 2 people for only a night, this is perfectly acceptable if you want to be in the city itself. If you just want to crash for a few hours or even one night, check out the Yotel in the airport.

Room Tip: When I booked, I did not see a way to guarantee a room with a desired view. It seems to be up to wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel is cheap and cheerful, However it is a beautiful building right on one of the canals, It Is very close to Rembrant Square which is where most of the clubs and bars are, it is however far enough away that you are not bothered by the noise of these establishments. There are also plenty of places to eat and shops close by, Central Amsterdam is about a 10 minute walk, so a very good location. The hotel is basic, but clean, the staff are very friendly and helpful, we were given a free map on arrival at reception. I was very impressed that we had wifi access. My only complaint is that we did not have a wardrobe, just hooks, which was not adequate for our four night stay. I was very impressed with what we got for what we payed, I would definately recommned this hotel for anyone wanting to visit Amsterdam on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed in the ITC hotel for 5 nights in June 2013. The hotel is located on the Prinsengracht which is a five minute walk from Rembrandt square and there is a tram stop right outside the hotel. The location is good for travellers who wish to spend most of their day in the city center. We booked the hotel through Expedia and requested a double room, we were told that we requested a twin room which was incorrect, coincidentally there was no other double rooms available so I believe the hotel was overbooked. The rooms were tiny, with two suitcases inside the room was literally just a bed. There were shared facilities which is understandable for a town house hotel, the showers and toilets were reasonably clean. The showers provided the option of ice cold or boiling hot. I feel the hotel relies on its location too much, and borders on being a hostel. The staff are extremely friendly and cannot be faulted. The security safe (which happened to be a laptop safe, which could of easily just have been taken if anyone had broken in) was not working and within a few trips to reception they had replaced it. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is on a budget but doesn't want to stay miles out of the city, although for the price i'm sure you could find a hotel in Amsterdam without shared facilities.

Room Tip: The hotel consists of many different buildings. Avoid rooms in the Townhouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Great lovely simple hotel. Not suitable for people who can't get up and down the stairs. Basic needs for a hotel is great such as free wifi and free printing for boarding pass. You can go to the main station & Rembrandt sq with the tram is only 20 steps away from hotel. Staff is quite knowledgable and always happy to help.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here for a night, since there was a major goof up by their other hotel ie hotel hermitage with our bookings!

Nevertheless, hotel itc is well located , close to public transport and cafe's and the lively areas of the city. The staff and the reception were extremely nice and helpful. They helped us with all our queries and directions. They were generally very hospitable .

The room we stayed however was very small and bathroom even smaller. So be prepared for that and carrying your luggage . Also light sleepers might have a thought time with people coming in to sleep at early morning after partying, after all its Amsterdam

Room Tip: If you have a lot of heavy luggage , then close to the ground floor. Otherwise higher floor facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Face it, you don't travel to Amsterdam to stay in your room, so the compact dimensions really aren't a factor. The hotel has a great location, both for walking and for catching the tram. There are lots of restaurants and cafes nearby, though finding vegetarian meals was a bit of a challenge. Staff are all really knowledgeable and helpful.

Room Tip: ITC has three properties in Amsterdam, all very near each other. For an uninterrupted night's sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ITC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Hotel

Address: Princegracht 1051, Amsterdam 1017 JE, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — ITC Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your ITC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itc Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ITC Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.