We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, Great location but extremely small rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ITC Hotel

Save Saved
You added ITC Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ITC Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Princegracht 1051, 1017 JE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #230 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, Great location but extremely small rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed in the ITC hotel for 5 nights in June 2013. The hotel is located on the Prinsengracht which is a five minute walk from Rembrandt square and there is a tram stop right outside the hotel. The location is good for travellers who wish to spend most of their day in the city center. We booked the hotel through Expedia and requested a double room, we were told that we requested a twin room which was incorrect, coincidentally there was no other double rooms available so I believe the hotel was overbooked. The rooms were tiny, with two suitcases inside the room was literally just a bed. There were shared facilities which is understandable for a town house hotel, the showers and toilets were reasonably clean. The showers provided the option of ice cold or boiling hot. I feel the hotel relies on its location too much, and borders on being a hostel. The staff are extremely friendly and cannot be faulted. The security safe (which happened to be a laptop safe, which could of easily just have been taken if anyone had broken in) was not working and within a few trips to reception they had replaced it. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is on a budget but doesn't want to stay miles out of the city, although for the price i'm sure you could find a hotel in Amsterdam without shared facilities.

Room Tip: The hotel consists of many different buildings. Avoid rooms in the Townhouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    64
    62
    31
    35
See reviews for
19
56
49
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Great lovely simple hotel. Not suitable for people who can't get up and down the stairs. Basic needs for a hotel is great such as free wifi and free printing for boarding pass. You can go to the main station & Rembrandt sq with the tram is only 20 steps away from hotel. Staff is quite knowledgable and always happy to help.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here for a night, since there was a major goof up by their other hotel ie hotel hermitage with our bookings!

Nevertheless, hotel itc is well located , close to public transport and cafe's and the lively areas of the city. The staff and the reception were extremely nice and helpful. They helped us with all our queries and directions. They were generally very hospitable .

The room we stayed however was very small and bathroom even smaller. So be prepared for that and carrying your luggage . Also light sleepers might have a thought time with people coming in to sleep at early morning after partying, after all its Amsterdam

Room Tip: If you have a lot of heavy luggage , then close to the ground floor. Otherwise higher floor facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Face it, you don't travel to Amsterdam to stay in your room, so the compact dimensions really aren't a factor. The hotel has a great location, both for walking and for catching the tram. There are lots of restaurants and cafes nearby, though finding vegetarian meals was a bit of a challenge. Staff are all really knowledgeable and helpful.

Room Tip: ITC has three properties in Amsterdam, all very near each other. For an uninterrupted night's sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed at this hotel from the 02 to the 6th of may for 4 nights. Although the room was small I totally enjoyed the stay at ITC: after all I spent all day visiting places so I was never at the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the premises very clean. I shared the facilities with other people(toilet and shower) and those were very immaculate at all the time thanks to the other guests too. The hotel is very close to everything, so no need to use public transports at all: my room was in the attic and there was a very steep stairs to get there but it was not a problem. You get free wi-fi and housekeeper cleans your room every day plus you get towels changed every day. Very good value: I will definetely stay there nex time in Amsterdam. Also the location is very quite which helps to a good night sleep

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

I was looking for some small hotel near down town - so here it is! Small single rooms under the roof. In my opinion too expensive for Queens day week, but it excusable )) if you want to stay near the center and not ready to pay 1,5k per week )

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here as price for two nights was really cheap. We got what we paid for so can't grumble too much. We booked a triple room and our room was located in the Townhouse (across the road from main hotel). The Townhouse was quite hostel like. As with most canal houses, stairs very steep so probably not ideal for some. We were on the third floor and had a lovely view onto the canal over Prinsengracht. Three single beds and a tiny, tiny bathroom. Luckily for us, we didn't plan on spending too much time in the hotel. Room got quite chilly at night so consider layers for the evening. Room was clean and beds were quite comfortable although we didn't think much of the pillows!
In the Townhouse, there are some rooms that share bathroom facilities. The toilet was located right outside our room which was unfortunate. Paper thin walls and creaky old stairs meant that we were frequently woken up throughout the night whilst people used the communal toilet.
As three women, we were a bit disappointed that there wasn't a full length mirror in the room, or even a mirror outside of the bathroom (bathroom mirrors got incredibly steamed up when someone used shower and no fan in bathroom to eliminate this). Also, lack of sockets in room.
We didn't eat breakfast but it costs 7.50e. Looked like standard breakfast of pastries, meat slices, cereal. Lots of cafes and places near by to add a bite to eat and slightly cheaper than the busier areas of the city.
The location trumps any negative points for this hotel. Gorgeous location out of the hustle and bustle of the city and only 5 stops away from Centraal on the tram, which costs 2.80e for hour pass or 7.50e for 24hrs. If you were to walk to Dam Square, it would probably be a 20minute walk from hotel but a straight forward route.
Overall, I'd recommend this hotel. Great value for money but probably not for those who are used to luxury.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal for a fantastic view. If you expect an en suite in your room, c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ITC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Hotel

Address: Princegracht 1051, 1017 JE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — ITC Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your ITC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itc Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ITC Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.