We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“do not expect more than bed & breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ITC Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added ITC Hotel to your Saves list
ITC Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Princegracht 1051, 1017 JE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #233 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“do not expect more than bed & breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We spent 3 nights at this hotel in this month ( June). The room was small but enough for just spending nights. Bed sheets were clean but the room not. Bathroom was too small, washbasin was in the room not in the bathroom. Hot water was always available. But internet connection had always problem. The stairs were so steep like most hotel in Amsterdam. Location was good, walking distance from center, cafes and pubs. We didn’t have breakfast but as I see from other guests it was nice. The worst thing during our stay was NOISE. Walls and windows were in bad position, all noise from inside of hotel and outside were in the room. To sum up, if I have chance to visit Amsterdam, I won’t stay this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    77
    74
    37
    40
See reviews for
23
64
56
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We spent 3 nights at this hotel which by british standards is little more than a 2 star. We had asked for a smoking room with tea and coffee facilities, which we had to ask for again when we got there. The room had 3 windows each looking out towards a high wall we could see the sky only if we crouched down and looked up with head fully back! The whole room seemed to slope, from the semi-circle table attached to the wall (badly as it sloped downwards) to the mattress on the bed which sloped fairly badly so i almost rolled out a few times! The lady on reception was lovely however the chinese/asian man was like Manuel from fawlty towers, when i asked for an ashtray we got first a bowl and then a cup??? The room was cleaned once while we were there, nothing was replenished or replaced also the chambermaids work til 5 so if you want a siesta good luck!! The hotel website states a bar and lounge to relax in ...i dont think so its the reception area and when we asked about the bar were told they dont have one. Breakfast is served next to reception not a nice place to relax, and as they are currently decorating even less appealing! Bits of skirting missing, curtains not hung completely and general wear and tear in the bedroom makes it rather depressing. The bathroom was a wetroom which is a pain if you need to go in after someone else, and the bathroom doors are louvre doors which have no handles inside so you either have to leave the doors ajar or someone has to close them for you,they also didnt provide much privacy. Its not the worst hotel i have ever stayed in but tbh for the money it wasnt great. The location however was perfect, a leafy neighbourhood, Rembrandtplein ten mins away, shame the hotel didnt live up to expectations.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuerich
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Like many others here i stayed in the House opposite the main hotel. When i arrived i first walked upstairs just to realize that my room is in the basement. Little narrow room , small bed and the toilet and shower was 1 floor up. And yes there is only 1 shower/toilet for the 10 rooms!! When i first came in i was a bit "shocked" , i wanted to call reception to get another room, but the phone wasnt working. And i was too tired to go back to the hotel. Once in bed, you see feets passing by the window and not only see them , you hear them too. Lucky me i brought my earplugs !! ... way to expensive for what it is. Amstedam goes New York ...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Firstly some internet searches and publications list this as a gay hotel. It is NOT a gay hotel. The only resources there for gay travellers were a couple of out of date maps. There are 2 sides to this hotel. We pre booked on the internet and gave a credit card for a deposit. Once we did that we were trapped by their cancellation policy. We stayed 5 nights and were given a room downstairs at the back of the main hotel. The room was large, it was summer, the was a small fan that sounded like a plane taking off. The only ventilation was from a window without screen that opened onto a roof littered with cigarette butts, stagnant water in drain pipes and a couple of used condoms. With the window open we got devoured by mosquitoes and the walls and ceiling were smeared with the blood and remains of mosquitoes squahed by previous guests. No attempt was made to clean them. We asked for another room but were told there was none. I said I had noticed a better room at the front was vacant and was told that room was for 3 people not 2 and a lot more expensive. The next day I heard the receptionist rent the room to a single woman who walked in off the street and the rate was about 2/3 of what we were paying for a vastly inferior room. We also heard another man who had booked in advance and was tied into their cancellation policy leave his room and move to another hotel because it was so bad. The receptionist spoke to the "boss" over the phone and the boss said that the man would be charged for his full stay even though he was not going to be there and later that day I heard the receptionist let the room at a greatly reduced rate to someone who phoned up and then arrived from the station without booking ahead.
There are some ok rooms at this hotel but they seem to be reserved for walk ins and people who book on the day. Those who book in advance are given inferior rooms at inflated rates because they are captives to the cancellation policy whllst those who are not tied into the cancellation policy are treated very differently with better rooms at cheaper rates.
Also when we were there, there was a street festival on. The street were packed with drunk people and the owner opened the toilets in the hotel to the public, charging people 2 euros each to use them. This meant queues of drunk loud people in the corridors and that the guests sharing these facilities had to wait in a line. In addition despite heavy volume of use there was no extra cleaning of the toilets.

Room Tip: Dont book in advance. Ask to see the room first and go for a room at the front and in the main hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ITC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Hotel

Address: Princegracht 1051, 1017 JE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #233 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — ITC Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your ITC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itc Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ITC Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.