We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo to your Saves list
Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Leidsekruisstraat 12-14, 1017 RH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unpleasant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Well, I'm not sure where to begin with this one. I guess I could start by saying that the location was excellent; very, very good. However, that is the only positive thing worth mentioning: The rooms (or prison cells) smelt absolutely horrible. Our room (the beds and the sink) weren't clean and the room was very small. The mattresses were fine, though. There were two power sockets to share between the four of us, which proved to be an issue when it came to charging our stuff.

I had a shower, but that was the only one I had. Not very clean at all. My friend even came back into the room to grab his flip-flops as they were "desperately needed" in the shower. I stank pretty bad when I checked out, but had I showered again, I wouldn't have survived to come out at all. The bathroom and the shower were shared for the entire floor and were small and unclean. There wasn't even any soap or towel to clean and dry my hands with. I think this place should be expected as I believe it is unhealthy to stay here. It it is inspected, I wouldn't be surprised if it were shut down.

I wok up one morning to hear the guy at the front desk swearing unpleasantly at a guest. Not sure what the drama was all about, but not the kind of thing I expect to hear from the man on front desk. There was also a lot of noise outside of our room almost every night. The stairs are narrow and incredibly steep; I feel for the people who have to carry heavy suitcases to the top floor. I was told I couldn't use the washing machine in the kitchen, so I had to wash my clothes elsewhere and pay quite a bit of money to do so.

Breakfast was satisfactory and consisted of bread, jam, peanut butter, marmalade, coffee, and tea. It isn't bad, but it's nothing special. The guy on front desk wanted to charge us 1€ for a city map, which is rediculous. On that note, this is definitely not worth the price you pay; you pay a lot for what feels like not a lot.

I have travelled the world and stayed in many hostels and none have been as dirty or as unpleasant as this. If I am ever back in Amsterdam, I will be avoiding this place like the plague. You should, too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    23
    39
    26
    39
See reviews for
2
18
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

If looking for a lively location in the heart of Amsterdam then this fits the bill. The price you pay is complete squalor. Photo is misleading it is of another street. Place is ill maintained and filthy. Breakfast is bread available to toast, tub of margarine, jam & tea or coffee. Would avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Only positive aspect to this hostel was the location.

Now for the downsides - Firstly we arrived to a very unfriendly grunt to say that we are early at to leave our bags at return at 1pm. This was ok but could of been explained better. Now, the room (prison cell) was far from comfortable - there was no space and if you have big bags you cannot move at all!

Shared toilet and shower - toilet was grim, very dirty and not very nice - refused to shower due to cleanliness.

Breakfast - if you count bread, hardly any butter and half a tub of jam next to a toaster, you will enjoy breakfast - otherwise, don't expect anything decent when your told 'breakfast is included'

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angers, Pays de la Loire, France
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Hostel Orfeo offered comfortable beds (although the rooms were quite small) at a great price. The toilets and shower facilities were fine for the price. Free WiFi and breakfast was included. The hotel staff is VERY friendly and helpful. Great location, located right near a major tram stop.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street side are quieter because there is a bar next door to the hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The hostel was so expensive, around 40 euros per day in a wekend. The shower and toilet are separated, shared and the size of 1 meter squared, i'm not kidding you. Besides the toilet was dirty, and smelled of piss. One day i wanted to take a shower and the lights of the shower were gone, so when i went to complain they told me to use the shower from the upper floor, unvelievable. There is no kitchen and the breakfast is nasty

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
izmir
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Hostel Orfeo is a very good located hostel with really reasonable prices (breakfast included). They sent me to another hostel (Uptown Hostel) because they were fullybooked, but it was kind of a branch of Orfeo. The rooms and the bathroom were totally clean, no extra charge for sheets and pillows. Very helpful and friendly staff. Highly recommended for those who are looking for a cheap and nice hostel in the heart of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Unfortunately whilst backpacking in Europe my girlfriend and I ended up staying in Amsterdam over the weekend, which meant alot of places were full and prices doubled. So firstly i'd recommend that you avoid the weekend, even stay outside of down just for Friday and Saturday nights then come back on Sunday.

The AVERAGE price for the four nights (Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday) each for a four person dorm was €41.43, this was by far the most expensive place we stayed at in Europe.

Good: Staff, location, people I met - we had great room mates, free computers, wifi in room.

Bad: Price, the bed was really bad, it's a thin mattress and you can feel the two metal bars that support it, i'm 100kgs so i really felt it. Only one powerpoint in the room and it was underneath the light switch (1m above ground, awkward). Only one toilet and one bathroom per level shared between 4 rooms, so at least 16 people. Admittedly it wasn't too bad, we did have to wait for showers but i'd had worse.

I understand that even at this price it was still cheaper than alot of other places but in terms of valur for money, definitely not, i don't care if it's what you do on the weekends, it's not worth that price, €20/night yes.
Need new beds and/or thicker mattresses.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo

Address: Leidsekruisstraat 12-14, 1017 RH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for suitable budget accommodation? Then Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo is the right place for you. Your stay in Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo will surely be something to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.