We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price and convenient location! Super friendly & helpful staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo

Save Saved
You added Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Leidsekruisstraat 12-14, Amsterdam 1017 RH, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 171 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Angers, Pays de la Loire, France
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great price and convenient location! Super friendly & helpful staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Hostel Orfeo offered comfortable beds (although the rooms were quite small) at a great price. The toilets and shower facilities were fine for the price. Free WiFi and breakfast was included. The hotel staff is VERY friendly and helpful. Great location, located right near a major tram stop.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street side are quieter because there is a bar next door to the hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    31
    24
    31
See reviews for
2
16
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The hostel was so expensive, around 40 euros per day in a wekend. The shower and toilet are separated, shared and the size of 1 meter squared, i'm not kidding you. Besides the toilet was dirty, and smelled of piss. One day i wanted to take a shower and the lights of the shower were gone, so when i went to complain they told me to use the shower from the upper floor, unvelievable. There is no kitchen and the breakfast is nasty

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
izmir
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Hostel Orfeo is a very good located hostel with really reasonable prices (breakfast included). They sent me to another hostel (Uptown Hostel) because they were fullybooked, but it was kind of a branch of Orfeo. The rooms and the bathroom were totally clean, no extra charge for sheets and pillows. Very helpful and friendly staff. Highly recommended for those who are looking for a cheap and nice hostel in the heart of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Unfortunately whilst backpacking in Europe my girlfriend and I ended up staying in Amsterdam over the weekend, which meant alot of places were full and prices doubled. So firstly i'd recommend that you avoid the weekend, even stay outside of down just for Friday and Saturday nights then come back on Sunday.

The AVERAGE price for the four nights (Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday) each for a four person dorm was €41.43, this was by far the most expensive place we stayed at in Europe.

Good: Staff, location, people I met - we had great room mates, free computers, wifi in room.

Bad: Price, the bed was really bad, it's a thin mattress and you can feel the two metal bars that support it, i'm 100kgs so i really felt it. Only one powerpoint in the room and it was underneath the light switch (1m above ground, awkward). Only one toilet and one bathroom per level shared between 4 rooms, so at least 16 people. Admittedly it wasn't too bad, we did have to wait for showers but i'd had worse.

I understand that even at this price it was still cheaper than alot of other places but in terms of valur for money, definitely not, i don't care if it's what you do on the weekends, it's not worth that price, €20/night yes.
Need new beds and/or thicker mattresses.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Lets remember that this is not a hotel and therefore as a hostel it is perfect... Within walking distance of most things and full of restaurants and bars down its street, there is not much more to ask for. This is by far the best way to spend your time in Amsterdam as you'll be out and about he majority of the time. Well recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We found the location to be the only positive. It's close to a tram line and restaurants surrounding the area. As for the hostel.. We stayed here for 3 nights and I only showered once as the shared toilet and shower were dirty. Our twin room fitted a bunk bed, a sink and room for 1 bag. It was the most expensive place we have stayed at ( only place available at the time which was cheapest in Amsterdam.) & easily the worst we have stayed in. Also because it is in a busy area there is alot of street noise which became quiet about 4am.I only recommend this place if you need a place to sleep after a night out. That is all..

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The good: location (right next to great food and nightlife), staff was very friendly, free wifi with chill vibe. The bad: Showers were disgusting with poor water pressure, lack of plugs in room, small room (I stayed in the six bed room), no lockers. For Amsterdam, this place was good but would not spend more than a few nights here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo

Address: Leidsekruisstraat 12-14, Amsterdam 1017 RH, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 171 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for suitable budget accommodation? Then Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo is the right place for you. Your stay in Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo will surely be something to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.