We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible bed, not value for money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo

Save Saved
You added Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Leidsekruisstraat 12-14, 1017 RH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 173 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Terrible bed, not value for money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Unfortunately whilst backpacking in Europe my girlfriend and I ended up staying in Amsterdam over the weekend, which meant alot of places were full and prices doubled. So firstly i'd recommend that you avoid the weekend, even stay outside of down just for Friday and Saturday nights then come back on Sunday.

The AVERAGE price for the four nights (Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday) each for a four person dorm was €41.43, this was by far the most expensive place we stayed at in Europe.

Good: Staff, location, people I met - we had great room mates, free computers, wifi in room.

Bad: Price, the bed was really bad, it's a thin mattress and you can feel the two metal bars that support it, i'm 100kgs so i really felt it. Only one powerpoint in the room and it was underneath the light switch (1m above ground, awkward). Only one toilet and one bathroom per level shared between 4 rooms, so at least 16 people. Admittedly it wasn't too bad, we did have to wait for showers but i'd had worse.

I understand that even at this price it was still cheaper than alot of other places but in terms of valur for money, definitely not, i don't care if it's what you do on the weekends, it's not worth that price, €20/night yes.
Need new beds and/or thicker mattresses.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    32
    23
    32
See reviews for
2
16
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Lets remember that this is not a hotel and therefore as a hostel it is perfect... Within walking distance of most things and full of restaurants and bars down its street, there is not much more to ask for. This is by far the best way to spend your time in Amsterdam as you'll be out and about he majority of the time. Well recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We found the location to be the only positive. It's close to a tram line and restaurants surrounding the area. As for the hostel.. We stayed here for 3 nights and I only showered once as the shared toilet and shower were dirty. Our twin room fitted a bunk bed, a sink and room for 1 bag. It was the most expensive place we have stayed at ( only place available at the time which was cheapest in Amsterdam.) & easily the worst we have stayed in. Also because it is in a busy area there is alot of street noise which became quiet about 4am.I only recommend this place if you need a place to sleep after a night out. That is all..

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The good: location (right next to great food and nightlife), staff was very friendly, free wifi with chill vibe. The bad: Showers were disgusting with poor water pressure, lack of plugs in room, small room (I stayed in the six bed room), no lockers. For Amsterdam, this place was good but would not spend more than a few nights here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Went with friends and had a room with private toilet. Had to sit sideways on toilet as there was no room. Only one light worked, as for more bulbs they never came. Breakfast is a joke. Bread and jam. Expensive for what it is. Great location though and staff were friendly enough.

Room Tip: wifi only works in lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I was with a friend and we arrived directly from UK. It was quit expensive for a hostel but in a good location. We had to share the toilets and the bathroom:
The toilets are tiny and stunk a lot... Our room was tiny as well. The breakfast was really really really basic... at least it was included. One of the employee was nice but the other guys were weird.
Next time I will check the reviews on tripadvisor !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The stay was tolerable, that is all you can really ask for in a hostel, just somewhere to put your head for the night. We stayed in a twin private room with a shared toilet and shared bathroom. The toilet stunk but the shower was clean. The rooms are tiny but it didn't really bother us. We got to use the kitchen which saved us money because we didn't have to eat out. If you do want to eat out the area is surrounded by streets of restaurants with loads of different choices of cuisine, most seem quite cheap. For example, on the first night we were there we went to an Italian that were offering pizzas for 5 euro. The hostel was a bit overpriced but we did only book two weeks in advance. All in all it wasn't as bad as I thought it was going to be.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo

Address: Leidsekruisstraat 12-14, 1017 RH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 173 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for suitable budget accommodation? Then Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo is the right place for you. Your stay in Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo will surely be something to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.