We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Gay Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amistad Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Amistad Hotel to your Saves list
Amistad Hotel
2.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Kerkstraat 42, 1017 GM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 179 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Homer
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming Gay Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2007

Having stayed in more commercial hotels in the past, the Hotel Amistad was a pleasant change. Very friendly staff. Mike and Dikky had up to date info on the hot spots of amsterdam. Staying in deluxe room, very clean with internet in the rooms. Nice dutch breakfast served til 1pm. I would definitely recommend to other friends traveling to Amsterdam.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    47
    10
    14
    12
See reviews for
1
52
41
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Yolrk
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2007

During a 10 day stay in Amsterdam, I had the pleasure of staying at the Amistad Hotel on Kerkstraat. I have to say that they scored 100% on the 3 "C"s: Clean, Comfortable and Convenient. After getting to know the city a little, I came to realize that the Amistad was truly in the middle of everything a visitor would want. Walking distance to EVERTYING. The building, a beautifully restored "Canal Style" house adds a cozy element not found in major hotel chains, and really adds to the whole "Amsterdam Experience". The included breakfast service was fantastic and it stayed open until 1pm for the days I felt like sleeping in. Additionally, the high-speed internet (available privately in your room or in the internet lounge) was an impressive amenity also included in the price of the room. The team the runs the Amistad is extremely friendly, welcoming, and knowledgeable about where to go, when to go and how to get there. As well as being in the historic center of town, the Amistad is also in the middle of Gay nightlife. I would definitely stay there again and recommend the Amistad highly to anyone considering a trip to Amsterdam. (Important lesson learned: Most if not all of the hotels I researched online SAY that they are in the City Center of Amsterdam, but that is definitely not true. The Amistad is in the center of the old part of the city, which is exactly where a traveler would want to stay).

  • Liked — The friendliness of the staff, the size of my room, and best of all, the LOCATION
  • Disliked — Steep staircases, typical of historic Dutch buildings take some getting used to.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2007

The Amistad guys were awfully nice at the check-in, and amicably asked for the whole payment in advance and in cash.

For the next three days we begged them to fix the TV which wasn't working and to do something about the hot water in the shower. For three days we were answered with polite excuses such as "let's talk about it in the morning", "the guy who fixes things is out of the neighborhood" and "there are supposed to be hot water".

Imagine our surprise when they refused to discuss refunds at the checkout, and gave us ever-polite and awfully nice hints that they are starting to lose their patience.

Amsterdam is great, by the way.

  • Liked — The central location and the friendly, informal approach until the end
  • Disliked — The malfunctioned facilities, the lack of service, and the stiff "we're very sorry sir but up yours" we were sent away with.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, IL
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2007

The Amistad Hotel staff was extremely friendly and courteous. The hotel itself is in a great location right off of Leidsestraat and was clean, nicely decorated, and had all of the amenities - even an internet cafe. Great value for the money.

Would definitely patronize the Amistad again.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2007

Room was clean and adequate, though small. In-room fridge is a real plus. Bathrooms down hall are separated into WC and shower, to minimize delays. Not too many rooms share, so waiting is not a problem. The owners and other desk staff are first-rate, friendly, very helpful. One carried my heavy bag up the flights of tricky stairs. And the night guy even accompanied me with bags all the way to the tram stop when I left early in the morning (and refused a tip). . . The big problem with this hotel is also its biggest plus--its location. In the midst of gay bars and saunas, and half-a-block from a major thoroughfare with clanging trams, it is the NOISIEST place I have stayed anywhere. With the help of my iPod's music or plain earplugs, I slept OK, but with windows open all night there can be quite a din, and at any and all hours. . . Also, they run an internet cafe out of the DR from 1 p.m. to midnight, which makes it impossible to use the only community space as a relaxed place to hang out with fellow guests. At a gay guesthouse in Barcelona, the DR table was a major gathering place at any hour of the day or night, whenever there were two or three guys who happened to be around, and it was a great opportunity to meet people from all over. . . I would shut it down and tell the guests that this is their space, to use and to share. So many people travel now with their own computers, it would be a great place to set up and pass the time not being spent touring, toking, and tubbing.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — location (noisy)
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West London/Middx
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2007

We stayed - one couple and 2 singles, with Amistad for the weekend 10th - 13th May. The weather was terrible and it rained soon after we arrived. The great thing was that we hardly noticed. the warmth of the reception at the hotel and the friendliness of the staff made our arrival most memorable. When we went down one block to 62 where we had 3 apartment rooms, again we were pleased. OK, so the loft room is small - but well designed, clean and great fun. The main room with the ensuite was superb for the two of us and above, the other double had access to a roof terrace which was great in the patches of sun we got from time to time.

The staff checked how we were during our stay 9we didnt make it to breakfast) and recommended a few bars - geenerally we were made to feel welcome and that nothing was too much trouble. The pricing is reasonable, and for what we got I thought was excellent value overall. Well done Amistad

  • Liked — Location and design were good
  • Disliked — One room a little small but OK
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2007

The Amistad Hotel is a small hotel like many in Amsterdam. It is clean and the hosts and staff are very friendly. The location is good and the breakfast was delicious. The rate was reasonable. Everyone spoke English.

  • Liked — hosts
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amistad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amistad Hotel

Address: Kerkstraat 42, 1017 GM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 179 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Amistad Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Amistad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amistad Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amistad Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.