We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amistad means friendship, so it's a good name for the hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amistad Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Amistad Hotel to your Saves list
Amistad Hotel
2.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Kerkstraat 42, 1017 GM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 178 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Naples, Italy
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Amistad means friendship, so it's a good name for the hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

Amistad is a gay hotel, so even if they, of couse, accept anyone, you may consider that this hotel could be not your best cup of tea, if you are not gay.

A gay hotel doesn't me that the staff is drugged or drunk on the morning (no way), or that they propose you some sex together, as some stupid reviews I've read here say. They are nice, friendly and sweet people, doing the best for their guest that they respect a lot.

The stairs (I was at the top floor) are the usual ones you find in _every_ house in Amsterdam, and are by all means manageable: if you really want an elevator, you should go to another city and/or go to the nearest gym to work out on your body.

Things that I really loved from this hotel:

- the breakfast, that is from 9am to 1pm, which means you can sleep all the time you want. Plus, the breakfast is in one big table, with the other guests, taking and chatting with the hotel staff as they are servicing you and suggesting things to do and place to see. If you wanna know some people, maybe tourists like you, or have some insight into the dutch culture and way of life, it's the best you could ever ask; come, chat and know people, an excellent idea;

- the free of use internet-connected computer in every room: you save a lot of space in your luggage, especially good when you are with a low cost flight;

- position: excellent, it's extremely easy to reach the hotel with 1,2 or 5 bus line, and within minutes of walking you are at the museum quarter; plus the hotel is in one of the Amsterdam gay streets, not the busiest but there are a couple of places in the same street;

Things I consider a bit more critical:

- usually, in Amsterdam, breakfast is not included in the hotel price, so I understand that I cannot say anything about the quality and the quantity of it. Let's just say that is sufficient, not excellent (and I am italian and quite tall, so I eat a lot and have some natural good taste when it comes to food);

- if you can't sleep with some noise, it's better you have something to protect and cover your ears, because of course you have to pay something for being really near the most useful and trafficked bus lines.

Cleanliness was good, and I will strongly suggest this hotel to every gay solo or couple in Amsterdam. Others may accept it neverthless, as it was reasonable cheap.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    47
    10
    14
    12
See reviews for
1
52
41
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

Had a wonderful stay at the Amistad Hotel. It is a small hotel with a very friendly and personal touch from all the staff. The room was tight, but very clean with great bathroom ensuite. The access to internet was included as well as the traditional dutch breakfast with the boys. But for sure the location is it's main highlight close to all major sights and bars. Could walk every where you needed to be while staying in the great city of Amsterdam.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

I had a reservation to the Amistad hotel on april 22 and had to cancel it, as the volcanic ash made it impossible to fly into Amsterdam. Of course I should have been more careful in reading there booking conditions, but the end result was that the hotel charged me for two nights (274 euros) for a room I never got to use. Travel insurance was no help here either. Wrote an email to the hotel, but they are quite inflexible if you cancel your reservation. So make sure you go there, or your money will be lost. Next time I will book a hotel with more flexible booking conditions.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São paulo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

We had a great stay in the Amistad Hotel, very nice room with great bathroom. We felt at home immediately!! It's like I'm staying at my best friend's house.
woke up earlier just to by in the breakfast room with all the cuteboys. I liked the breakfast a lot.
I'll be back!
Grande beijos São paulo

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The World
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

The Staff is friendly and helpful. I stayed in the deluxe room and it was clean, warm, own smoking area. My room was located next to their main staircase so everytime someone when up or down you could hear it, loudly. This shouldn't be an issue if you are staying upstairs. All rooms do include a PC for surfing the net, it's included in the room price. If you bring your laptop you can easily connect the land cable to your pc and it works just fine. The location is great, close to everything. Breakfast is included and it's a great place to start meeting other guest and mingle a bit. I will definitely come back next year.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

I went to Amsterdam for The New years celebrations, whilst looking for a hotel I found The Amistad Hotel which offers free computers in the rooms, which ment that I could really travel light leaving my laptop and work at home. luckily I didnt need to use the computer exept to check the best cruising places in amsterdam and who was online at gaydar. The hotel is in the perfect location for the parties in the center and next to the Leidse square to get a cheap taxi to the ones outside. I love the staff and my styled room and lets not forget the nespresso coffee at the late breakfast and at 5mins to1 they still served me ;-) I havent been to any other gay hotels in Amsterdam so I cant say its the best but compared to other hotels which I have stayed in elsewhere its right up there.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2009

A total, complet waste of money for and overrated hotel.

First of all, staff was not this kind and most limited in their servicing maners. They only give you a map with few and ONLY gay tips. If you do not need to be in a gay atmosphere, choose another hotel, where you'll find much much better service and quality-price relation. The breakfast was the POOREST I've ever had in a Hotel in my life.
The tub was not that clean.The door didn't close properly.There were ful ashtreys outside the room.

We've been to amsterdam several times and trust us : there are much better hotels to stay in.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amistad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amistad Hotel

Address: Kerkstraat 42, 1017 GM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 178 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Amistad Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Amistad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amistad Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amistad Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.