We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not what it seems.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Amistad Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Amistad Hotel to your Saves list
Amistad Hotel
2.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Kerkstraat 42, 1017 GM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 177 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“It's not what it seems.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Looks like a nice BnB, hotel online but the minute I walked in I was disappointmed. This is the smallest room I have ever had........ever! We had to climb over each other to get into bed! The price isn't reflective of what you get.
There is a kettle in the room yay to that, but alas no milk! Lighting is appalling, with the lamp and light on we couldn't read!
The location is good, the breakfast guy was friendly and willing to help out with directions etc. Although, we had an early start and asked to have an early breakfast, but this didn't happen!
Rooms have a computer for your use..........I couldn't find how to turn it on. The door has to be slammed to get it shut and a vice like grip required to actually lock it. I'm sorry to say I can't say anything good about this place.

Room Tip: Amsterdam has so many accommodation options, so look around. Rooms in this town can be small. But fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    47
    10
    13
    12
See reviews for
Families
0
51
40
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My trip to Amsterdam was a last minute decision. Luckily, the good people at Amistad were able to get me a room. The accomodations are fine. I used ear plugs at night, since I'm a light sleeper. The real standout is the staff. Kind, patient and helpful to a fault, thanks especially to Joost and Dicky.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

I stayed here for a few nights and it was pretty poor.
Unfortunately the day I arrived it was raining and cold so I pretty much froze through the night as I wasn't aware of this until the day after. You would expect a basic like heating would be always working in this climate. I was given an extra blanket which kept me warm but the room was just cold night & day.
Upon check out inspection of the drawers I found a draw full of underwear and medication left from the previous guest which was obviously missed by the cleaner.
The room was clean although window ledges were filthy.
The most annoying thing was that I was told only cash was accepted for payment as no credit card system was in place, this wasn't a problem. A couple of days after checking out I checked my credit card to find they had taken the security deposit from my card, so obviously they did have card facilities. Not what you would expect from a hotel.
Breakfast is around a shared table with other guests which is nice and the location is good also.
Hosts were also nice and helpful.


Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We were very welcomed at the hotel, the service and attention given by Joost was excellent. I highly recommend to stay here whenever you go to Amsterdam! (my review actually ended before, but TripAdvisor insists in 200 characters at least, so...).

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

All rooms are different in size, so don't compare by the pics you may have seen. Great location, economical prices. We switched to here after the Black Tulip closed a number of years ago, and have returned annually. Front rooms may get street noise in the morning, so we have moved one room back. No view, but who stays in the hotel? Staff has always been great. Basically gay singles and couples and that's what we're looking for. Spyker Bar and Club Church are within one minute. Great location near the Museumplein and Leidseplein.

Room Tip: All rooms are walk up. Largest room on 1st floor front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel and fell in love with it. The staff was fantastic, very personable and took a sincere interest in their guests. The room was very nice, quite spacious for a hotel in Amsterdam with a really nice shower and bathroom amenities. The area where the hotel is located is excellent, close to the Leidseplein which has many cafes, restaurants and bars. It is also an easy walk to most of the attractions in the central part of the city.

Unfortunately I was only there for one night but am looking forward to returning soon. As most reviewers have said the breakfast alone is worth staying there!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I recently stayed for a week at this hotel with friends who were visiting from the US. The hotel staff were charming and hospitable and could not do enough to make us feel welcome. They were very happy to offer suggestions as to places to visit and things to see to make the most use of our limited time. Unfortunately, jet-lag proved to be a bit of a problem but the information was most welcome. The rooms we booked were spacious enough for our needs and provided comfortable beds and facilities. The street the hotel is on can be a little busy but it is difficult to avoid any noise in a city that attracts so many visitors.

I have already made a future booking at this hotel and look forward to the great reception and service we enjoyed this time.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amistad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amistad Hotel

Address: Kerkstraat 42, 1017 GM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 177 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Amistad Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amistad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amistad Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amistad Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.