We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you have are deaf or have really a very well sleep: this is your hotel!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Amistad Hotel

Save Saved
You added Amistad Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amistad Hotel
2.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Kerkstraat 42, Amsterdam 1017 GM, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 171 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“If you have are deaf or have really a very well sleep: this is your hotel!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are quite small. That might be okay but especially the doors are very bad insulated. So, if somebody is walking along the corridor the stairs or entering the room beside your room it's like somebody is walking directly through your bed. In conclusion I woke up every night several times because somebody was entering the neighbor's room.
Clearness of the floor could be better.
Breakfast was quite cheap supermarket quality: no fresh breakfast rolls no croissant. The omelette were really tasty. The service quality was very much dependent of the guy who was in charge and his mood.
So, to come to a conclusion: Amsterdam has very outrageous hotel prices. But 188 € was to much for a small and loud hotel room together with a lousy breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    44
    11
    12
    11
See reviews for
Families
0
49
39
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Starting from the location (Leidsplain) where shopping,restaurants,Cafes,Museums,Night life and more is only a few steps away! not to mention public transport (Trams & buses) only a few feet away.

the hotel is a cozy small and very friendly Gay and straight friendly with Amazing and lovely Staff starting with the owner Joost and the Manager Mike & the Lovely Dikky who are so happy to help and serve in anyway.

The rooms are lovely with free wifi,small fridge,DVD player and flat TV with international and local channels,tea & coffee and a PC to use (in case you forgot ur laptop or iPad)

the best part for me is breakfast were it is served on a huge table were you can meet all the guests and enjoy a lovely chat or share tips about where to go and what to do.

I have been staying in this hotel since 2009 and would never stay anywhere else anytime am in Amsterdam (I visit almost 4 times a year and have been in so many hotels)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Nice, clean rooms. Very friendly staff. Lovely breakfast too and they serve it until quite late (12h), which was perfect for us. Right across from a "Coffeshop", if you are into that sort of thing ;) .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed at Amistad over Pride weekend. We requested the room on the ground floor having stayed in this same room on a previous visit. The room is very good size with a private, en suite bath. The hotel is in a fantastic location. It is a 15-20 minute walk to Centraal Station. There are three tram lines that run on the cross street, very very close. It's so centrally located, we only rode the tram twice in 12 days, which was to and from the train station when we had our luggage. After reading some other reviews, I am pretty baffled about anyone who complains that it was far away from nightlife. There are bars on the same block, and about 3 or 4 block away. Yes, there are other bars, up near the Red Light District, that are farther away, so I guess if you MUST go to those bars, then it's a bit of a longer walk (15 minutes, maybe).

Breakfast in the mornings is very hearty, with eggs (cooked to order), fresh breads, meats and cheese. A nice assortment of jams and jellies, cereals, fruit, and coffee/tea. No reason to start your day hungry. There is a safe and a refrigerator in this particular room, and a computer. Mike, Dikky, and Joost were all very helpful with answering questions about the better way(s) to get somewhere or tips to avoid lines, etc. Be advised, there is no air conditioning. There was a fan in the room, which helped greatly, but during our stay it did get very hot (probably the hottest day of the summer). Luckily it was only 2 days that it was really hot weather. The rest of the time, the fan was really all we needed. Would rate "excellent" if there was air conditioning. In spite of that, we will definitely stay again on our future trips to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I had a very enjoyable stay here recently. All the staff I met were very friendly and they served a large breakfast till 1pm included in the price of the room. Ideal for those out on the town late the night before! The room I stayed in was probably the most basic in the hotel but the price reflected this. It still contained a small double bed despite being called a single room. But there was a free safe in the room for valuables as well as a TV and fridge. The hotel is very central in Amsterdam and it's easy to walk everywhere; I only used the trams when arriving and going home. I did find it a little bit noisy at night but then in the centre of the city you can't really complain. I will definitely stay here again when I next visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

this hotel is in a great location in amsterdam and next to a tram stop for travel within city. The breakfast and the person serving it are as good as it gets in any hotel, The gentleman also is very knowledgeable of the gay scene. The rooms are a climb which is no problem and they assist you but the rooms are dated and could use some refreshing

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just returned from a 7 night stay at The Amistad, had the single room on the ground floor - ideal if you don't like steps (like Me), I was very surprised how quiet the room was being only about 70M from three main tram lines.
For an Amsterdam single room this was very spacious, very comfortable double bed with lots of large pillows, large bathroom and lots of storage space including a safe which although small in size did accommodate my 13in MacBook Air and many other bit and pieces.
Arriving at the hotel I was greeted like a long lost friend by Joost, this friendly but professional approach continued for the entire stay with all the various 'team' members i encountered - it was like staying with 'family' - only a lot better!!!
I would recommend The Amistad to any gay guys requiring decent, clean accommodation in the city centre, close to all amenities.
Finally, it also seems to attract a decent type of client of all ages - I'm 66 and felt a lot younger being in their company - an excellent highly recommended hotel (but a little bit more).
I will return!!!

Room Tip: The single room on the ground floor is excellent!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amistad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amistad Hotel

Address: Kerkstraat 42, Amsterdam 1017 GM, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 171 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Amistad Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Amistad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amistad Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amistad Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.