We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great find!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amistad Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Amistad Hotel to your Saves list
Amistad Hotel
2.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Kerkstraat 42, 1017 GM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 195 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A Great find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Nice, clean rooms. Very friendly staff. Lovely breakfast too and they serve it until quite late (12h), which was perfect for us. Right across from a "Coffeshop", if you are into that sort of thing ;) .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    48
    10
    14
    13
See reviews for
1
56
42
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed at Amistad over Pride weekend. We requested the room on the ground floor having stayed in this same room on a previous visit. The room is very good size with a private, en suite bath. The hotel is in a fantastic location. It is a 15-20 minute walk to Centraal Station. There are three tram lines that run on the cross street, very very close. It's so centrally located, we only rode the tram twice in 12 days, which was to and from the train station when we had our luggage. After reading some other reviews, I am pretty baffled about anyone who complains that it was far away from nightlife. There are bars on the same block, and about 3 or 4 block away. Yes, there are other bars, up near the Red Light District, that are farther away, so I guess if you MUST go to those bars, then it's a bit of a longer walk (15 minutes, maybe).

Breakfast in the mornings is very hearty, with eggs (cooked to order), fresh breads, meats and cheese. A nice assortment of jams and jellies, cereals, fruit, and coffee/tea. No reason to start your day hungry. There is a safe and a refrigerator in this particular room, and a computer. Mike, Dikky, and Joost were all very helpful with answering questions about the better way(s) to get somewhere or tips to avoid lines, etc. Be advised, there is no air conditioning. There was a fan in the room, which helped greatly, but during our stay it did get very hot (probably the hottest day of the summer). Luckily it was only 2 days that it was really hot weather. The rest of the time, the fan was really all we needed. Would rate "excellent" if there was air conditioning. In spite of that, we will definitely stay again on our future trips to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I had a very enjoyable stay here recently. All the staff I met were very friendly and they served a large breakfast till 1pm included in the price of the room. Ideal for those out on the town late the night before! The room I stayed in was probably the most basic in the hotel but the price reflected this. It still contained a small double bed despite being called a single room. But there was a free safe in the room for valuables as well as a TV and fridge. The hotel is very central in Amsterdam and it's easy to walk everywhere; I only used the trams when arriving and going home. I did find it a little bit noisy at night but then in the centre of the city you can't really complain. I will definitely stay here again when I next visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

this hotel is in a great location in amsterdam and next to a tram stop for travel within city. The breakfast and the person serving it are as good as it gets in any hotel, The gentleman also is very knowledgeable of the gay scene. The rooms are a climb which is no problem and they assist you but the rooms are dated and could use some refreshing

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just returned from a 7 night stay at The Amistad, had the single room on the ground floor - ideal if you don't like steps (like Me), I was very surprised how quiet the room was being only about 70M from three main tram lines.
For an Amsterdam single room this was very spacious, very comfortable double bed with lots of large pillows, large bathroom and lots of storage space including a safe which although small in size did accommodate my 13in MacBook Air and many other bit and pieces.
Arriving at the hotel I was greeted like a long lost friend by Joost, this friendly but professional approach continued for the entire stay with all the various 'team' members i encountered - it was like staying with 'family' - only a lot better!!!
I would recommend The Amistad to any gay guys requiring decent, clean accommodation in the city centre, close to all amenities.
Finally, it also seems to attract a decent type of client of all ages - I'm 66 and felt a lot younger being in their company - an excellent highly recommended hotel (but a little bit more).
I will return!!!

Room Tip: The single room on the ground floor is excellent!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
166 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

For those not familiar with Amsterdam, this property is located in a great location. It is just a half block of one of the primary shopping and tram corridors. Numerous trams from the train station run nearby every hour (you do not hear them). The flower market is a couple of blocks away. If you choose not to use the trams, the museum district is about 10 or so minutes away. There are numerous restaurants also within just a couple of minutes.

Joost is a great host and he makes a great "made to order" breakfast.

Room Tip: As a general rule, all hotel rooms in the Netherlands are, regardless of the price, smaller than mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Everything about this Hotel was great, staff, service, breakfast. Can't say enough good things. Certainly helped make my first visit to Amsterdam not be my last. The location could not have been better, close to everything.Highly recommend !

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#247 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#84 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 534 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Seven one Seven
Hotel Seven one Seven
#20 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#51 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Brem's Apartments
Brem's Apartments
#51 of 195 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amistad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amistad Hotel

Address: Kerkstraat 42, 1017 GM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 195 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Amistad Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Amistad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amistad Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amistad Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.