We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly small hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amistad Hotel

Save Saved
You added Amistad Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amistad Hotel
2.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Kerkstraat 42, 1017 GM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly small hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I had a very enjoyable stay here recently. All the staff I met were very friendly and they served a large breakfast till 1pm included in the price of the room. Ideal for those out on the town late the night before! The room I stayed in was probably the most basic in the hotel but the price reflected this. It still contained a small double bed despite being called a single room. But there was a free safe in the room for valuables as well as a TV and fridge. The hotel is very central in Amsterdam and it's easy to walk everywhere; I only used the trams when arriving and going home. I did find it a little bit noisy at night but then in the centre of the city you can't really complain. I will definitely stay here again when I next visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    47
    10
    12
    12
See reviews for
Families
0
50
40
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

this hotel is in a great location in amsterdam and next to a tram stop for travel within city. The breakfast and the person serving it are as good as it gets in any hotel, The gentleman also is very knowledgeable of the gay scene. The rooms are a climb which is no problem and they assist you but the rooms are dated and could use some refreshing

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just returned from a 7 night stay at The Amistad, had the single room on the ground floor - ideal if you don't like steps (like Me), I was very surprised how quiet the room was being only about 70M from three main tram lines.
For an Amsterdam single room this was very spacious, very comfortable double bed with lots of large pillows, large bathroom and lots of storage space including a safe which although small in size did accommodate my 13in MacBook Air and many other bit and pieces.
Arriving at the hotel I was greeted like a long lost friend by Joost, this friendly but professional approach continued for the entire stay with all the various 'team' members i encountered - it was like staying with 'family' - only a lot better!!!
I would recommend The Amistad to any gay guys requiring decent, clean accommodation in the city centre, close to all amenities.
Finally, it also seems to attract a decent type of client of all ages - I'm 66 and felt a lot younger being in their company - an excellent highly recommended hotel (but a little bit more).
I will return!!!

Room Tip: The single room on the ground floor is excellent!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

For those not familiar with Amsterdam, this property is located in a great location. It is just a half block of one of the primary shopping and tram corridors. Numerous trams from the train station run nearby every hour (you do not hear them). The flower market is a couple of blocks away. If you choose not to use the trams, the museum district is about 10 or so minutes away. There are numerous restaurants also within just a couple of minutes.

Joost is a great host and he makes a great "made to order" breakfast.

Room Tip: As a general rule, all hotel rooms in the Netherlands are, regardless of the price, smaller than mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Everything about this Hotel was great, staff, service, breakfast. Can't say enough good things. Certainly helped make my first visit to Amsterdam not be my last. The location could not have been better, close to everything.Highly recommend !

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Very satisfied with my four nights stay here. Simple room, but perfect location and really great service. Thumbs up for the stuff that noticed I had an unexpected night guest and supplied us with extra towels! Great!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDINBURGH
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I checked into the very central Amistad Hotel on Saturday 16th February for a 5 day break. When I arrived I received the warmest of welcomes from one of the owners - the delightful Joost. he always seems to be smiling and you are immediately made to feel welcome. Everything was ready as normal and I was shown to my room after a very easy check-in.

The room was room 4, on the first floor, its a fairly spacious ensuite room, with a nice comfy bed, enough space for 2, and all you would require from a room. There was a useful safe, tea and coffee making facilities, a great tv, should yor require to catch up on the news, and FREE WI-FI, which is a nice touch. I should point out there is not just free wi-fi, there is also a computer in the room for guests to use - which I made good use off to research the area.

Amsterdam has a real buzz, so I doubt you will be in your room much, but it was nice to return here after a night out. The room is as warm as toast, with a superb heating system, which was nice as Amsterdam in February can be a little cold - but no complaints here, in fact I was so toasty I had to turn the heating down!

After a great nights sleep I wandered down to the breakfast room. They offer cold meats and cheese, which is traditional in Amsterdam, and in addition they do yummy fresh eggs, cooked to your preference, scrambled, sunny-side up, or whatever you fancy. I opted for the sunny-side up option and they were great. In addition to all of this there is the usual apple or orange juice and the freshest of bread - which, if you prefer will be toasted to order.

Breakfast can sometimes be a rather sociable affair as you are served around a large rectangular table, however, most mornings it was quiet in the breakfast room as people tend to have a lie in. The good thing is they serve breakfast from 9am until 1pm - so even if you do oversleep, you are unlikely to miss breakfast.

Now, we come to Mike, I think he is the Manager, or should be!!, Mike is usually on reception when Joost is busy elsewhere, and a more helpful person you will not meet. I have to say I find most of the Dutch people helpful, but Mike just makes your stay. I have stayed with them previously, not in the hotel, but in one of the super apartments in the same street, and always found Mike extremely helpful and friendly.

He will advise on sights to see, arrange trips if you would like, or just chat away to you whilst he prepares your breakfast, and he is always on hand to get you a taxi should you require it at the end of your stay back to the airport.

At the Amistad, they do make you feel rather special once they get to know you, you dont feel like a hotel guest, you begin to feel like friends, and that is very important in smaller hotels.

It really does speak for itself with all the return business they get, they know what their market is and they really go out of their way to look after you.

All in all, I had a super break and just want again express my thanks for a super stay.

Craig, Edinburgh

Room Tip: Room 4 or 5 are on the first floor and are quiet, but all the rooms seem to be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amistad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amistad Hotel

Address: Kerkstraat 42, 1017 GM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Amistad Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Amistad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amistad Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amistad Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.