We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amistad Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Amistad Hotel to your Saves list
Amistad Hotel
2.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Kerkstraat 42, 1017 GM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Sacramento, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location; clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Joost and Mike are great hosts. They were helpful in directing us around Amsterdam. We stayed for a week, and this hotel is in the prefect location to walk everywhere. Walk to the old city or to the museum district. Lots of bars and restaurants in the neighborhood, including a patissiare open late at night.
I would stay here again in a hearbeat. I thought it was a good value for Europe. The rooms are reasonable size - bigger than the common European size room - and more luxurious. The beds are very comfortable - something not common in Europe.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    47
    10
    14
    12
See reviews for
1
51
41
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I have no complaints about this hotel. It doesn't pretend to be a 5 star hotel and you shouldn't expect one. I had one night in Amsterdam before heading into the countryside, and this place was perfect. I received a very friendly welcome and was given loads of information about the surrounding area, which bars & restaurants to go to etc. The room was clean and pleasant, the stairs didn't bother me - you have to expect stairs in this kind of building in Amsterdam right? So not sure why people complain about it.They kindly gave me a free upgrade on the room on arrival so I had my own bathroom which was appreciated. The hotel is in a fantastic location and the room rates I thought were perfectly reasonable.
I have no problem recommending this place to anyone and would probably book there again next time I am in Amsterdam despite being someone who likes to try different places.
I did receive a couple of pretty nasty mosquito bites while there, but that is hardly the hotels fault & is certainly not a complaint - I just want to warn fellow travellers about the nasty little blighters as it didn't even occur to me to check for them.
In summary: For the price, and for what this place is, it was absolutely perfect for my needs & I enjoyed my stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Amsterdam is amazing and the Amistad simply adds to a great stay in the city. Owner Joost and his team (Mike and Rick) made our stay a most enjoyable and memorable one. The location is great and Joost was extremely helpful in pointing out many of Amsterdam's highlights for tourists. I am certain to return to Amsterdam and would make the Amistad my first stop again - THANK YOU to you all for a great stay!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica Plain, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Just returned from a week stay at the Amistad. I had booked this hotel on line and was pleasantly surprised. It is very convenient to shopping, the flower market and the museums. There are about three gay bars on the same street and others about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Mike, Rick and Joost were great hosts, cooking breakfast to order each AM. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

From the moment we arrived and were greeted by owner Joos it set the tone for our stay. Located in a typical central Amsterdam shop/house it is perfect for getting around by day or night. Rooms are simple but well appointed but like all similar properties the stairs are steep! Loved it and would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Think of your legs. If you need a lower room ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newington, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This gay friendly hotel is in an excellent location with an easy stroll to restaurants on Leidsplein and a little beyond to the beautiful gardens of Vondelpar, and in the other direction to the floating flower market and endless shops on Kalverstraat.
The decor of this hotel is very nice and the room was comfortable - we had a double room on the 2nd floor and it was quiet. The bathroom looked recently updated, and had underfloor heating.
The included breakfast was great with plenty of selection from toast to cereal, to continental with meat and cheese to cooked eggs.
Great hotel and would stay here again if we return to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: I think any room in this hotel would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I recently stayed in the single deluxe room for 4 nights which was the only room located on the 1st floor and it had a private outside terrace area as well. The room was much larger than I had expected and the bathroom was clean and updated. The location of the hotel was perfect. There are 2 gay bars only yards away, and it was a 5 minute walk to the gay street Reguliersdwarsstraat where more bars, restaurants and stores are located. The staff was extremely friendly and informational. If you choose Amistad, request the single deluxe on the first floor. Even if there are 2 of you, there is plenty of room and it is more private as well as quiet than the other rooms. I never once heard noise from the outside, and I even slept with the terrace door open every night.

Room Tip: Single Deluxe on the first floor is the best for quietness and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amistad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amistad Hotel

Address: Kerkstraat 42, 1017 GM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Amistad Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Amistad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amistad Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amistad Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.