We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amistad Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Amistad Hotel to your Saves list
Amistad Hotel
2.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Kerkstraat 42, 1017 GM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 207 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Amsterdam is amazing and the Amistad simply adds to a great stay in the city. Owner Joost and his team (Mike and Rick) made our stay a most enjoyable and memorable one. The location is great and Joost was extremely helpful in pointing out many of Amsterdam's highlights for tourists. I am certain to return to Amsterdam and would make the Amistad my first stop again - THANK YOU to you all for a great stay!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hugobossfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Jamaica Plain, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Just returned from a week stay at the Amistad. I had booked this hotel on line and was pleasantly surprised. It is very convenient to shopping, the flower market and the museums. There are about three gay bars on the same street and others about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Mike, Rick and Joost were great hosts, cooking breakfast to order each AM. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

From the moment we arrived and were greeted by owner Joos it set the tone for our stay. Located in a typical central Amsterdam shop/house it is perfect for getting around by day or night. Rooms are simple but well appointed but like all similar properties the stairs are steep! Loved it and would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Think of your legs. If you need a lower room ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tittletattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newington, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This gay friendly hotel is in an excellent location with an easy stroll to restaurants on Leidsplein and a little beyond to the beautiful gardens of Vondelpar, and in the other direction to the floating flower market and endless shops on Kalverstraat.
The decor of this hotel is very nice and the room was comfortable - we had a double room on the 2nd floor and it was quiet. The bathroom looked recently updated, and had underfloor heating.
The included breakfast was great with plenty of selection from toast to cereal, to continental with meat and cheese to cooked eggs.
Great hotel and would stay here again if we return to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: I think any room in this hotel would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IanKAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I recently stayed in the single deluxe room for 4 nights which was the only room located on the 1st floor and it had a private outside terrace area as well. The room was much larger than I had expected and the bathroom was clean and updated. The location of the hotel was perfect. There are 2 gay bars only yards away, and it was a 5 minute walk to the gay street Reguliersdwarsstraat where more bars, restaurants and stores are located. The staff was extremely friendly and informational. If you choose Amistad, request the single deluxe on the first floor. Even if there are 2 of you, there is plenty of room and it is more private as well as quiet than the other rooms. I never once heard noise from the outside, and I even slept with the terrace door open every night.

Room Tip: Single Deluxe on the first floor is the best for quietness and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timothy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Great location, close to everything. The downside to this is the noise from the street during the night, particularly if your room is facing the street from both people and the tram. Despite this, I had a great stay. Good friendly service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norlop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed there for 4 nights, the location is just excellent, everything is close to it though it is on a bit quiet street of the city. The stuff was friendly, very very helpful and really made us feel so comfortable like we were visiting friends. The breakfast is served on a big table so you can meet other people and also is served until 1 pm (first time I've seen something like this). The room was very clean though a bit dark coloured, but I liked that. I would really suggest it to friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Konstantinos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#256 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#85 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 618 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#56 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Seven one Seven
Hotel Seven one Seven
#19 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 359 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#101 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 318 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#44 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amistad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amistad Hotel

Address: Kerkstraat 42, 1017 GM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 207 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Amistad Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Amistad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amistad Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing