We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B in good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amistad Hotel

Save Saved
You added Amistad Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amistad Hotel
2.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Kerkstraat 42, 1017 GM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great B&B in good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Great location, close to everything. The downside to this is the noise from the street during the night, particularly if your room is facing the street from both people and the tram. Despite this, I had a great stay. Good friendly service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    47
    10
    12
    12
See reviews for
Families
0
50
40
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed there for 4 nights, the location is just excellent, everything is close to it though it is on a bit quiet street of the city. The stuff was friendly, very very helpful and really made us feel so comfortable like we were visiting friends. The breakfast is served on a big table so you can meet other people and also is served until 1 pm (first time I've seen something like this). The room was very clean though a bit dark coloured, but I liked that. I would really suggest it to friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is the third time I've stayed at the Amistad and each time I have enjoyed it. Mike and Joost and very welcoming and have good information and advice on places to visit. The location is very convenient to the trams, shopping and bars/clubs. Breakfast goes until 1 PM and you have lots of choices. I will be coming back again soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I had the back room of the top floor for the first week in May - it was VERY quiet and the bed was very very comfortable, so I had the best "travelling sleeps" that I've had in a long time. I didn't arrive until 9 pm on the May 1 national holiday due to train delays and was greeted warmly by Joost, one of the owners. I apologized for keeping him from the celebrations, and his sincere answer was that he was more concerned about me being safe and able to find the place. There was a problem with the safe in the room, and he gladly stored my valuables in the main safe. The staff were all friendly and helpful (ok, one was a little distracted, but he had just lost his iphone that day and we all KNOW how awful that must be!) The location is ideal for someone who enjoys walking, and it's right on the tram line for those who don't. After I left each day I didn't return until bedtime, so I can't say what it's like to spend much awake time there, but why would you go to Amsterdam and hang out in your room??!! I'm one of those simple folk who really just want a clean and safe place to sleep and use as a homebase - the decor was perfectly nice (dark charcoal walls with clean white trim), but those who see value in glitzy and glamourous decor might be better off at a 5-star hotel (really, just turn off the light and go to sleep!). I will DEFINITELY be booking the back room on the top floor for my next trip to Amsterdam - it was perfect for me.

Room Tip: Please don't book the back room on the top floor when I'm planning on sleeping there. :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Great location. Street noise not too bad as I was at the back. Warm welcome by Michael.
My ground floor rear room was spacious and reasonably well furnished, bed, work station, chairs, shower etc. It all worked incl wi-fi.One room safe out of use and the other could be carried from the room. Needs some t l c.
Breakfast was fine, if limited~ available all morning.
Front desk has very limited opening - basically daytime only, closing by 6.00pm. Very secure - three locks to get thru to room. Property seems to be a shop and upstairs accommodation converted to a B & B. There are no hotel services on offer.
Close to bars and restaurants incl Spiker, Church bar.
The biggest downside is the extremly rude member of staff who made breakfast and acted as front of house for three days. He took joy in insulting clients - a great fan of Joan Collins he wanted us all to admire her prior to getting our breakfast. One young Spaniard who had very limited English didn't comprehend and ended up getting one slice of bread thrown onto his plate by this 'fay' individual. Not funny and a good reason never to return.
I received an 'internet special' deal when booking - don't be fooled this is the same as the rack rate you get if you arrive unbooked. The stated room rate shows "incl taxes" NOT SO. The staff understand none of what your conformation shows. A 5% city tax will be added regardless. They do not have the authority to accept what you are clutching and you pay or don't stay. This is a con. There is also a minium stay rule inoperation.
Badly run - will I return ? - doubt it.

Room Tip: Get one at the back. Ratings for service, value etc seriously down due to my experience over four d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Nothing special. Smaller rooms looked very cramped.Decor a bit tired and no lift. Limited breakfast choices. Staff made us feel uncomfortable rather than welcome, especially Mike.

Great location. Did not notice the noise at night. Will choose another hotel in the same location next time.

Not a terrible experience but I would not recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights, loved my room, the People were friendly and room very clean, the taxi the got for me to the airport came quickly and the driver was also very polite, will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amistad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amistad Hotel

Address: Kerkstraat 42, 1017 GM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Amistad Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Amistad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amistad Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amistad Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.