We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cosy and nice place, but much too expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cocomama

Save Saved
You added Cocomama to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cocomama
Westeinde 18, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very cosy and nice place, but much too expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Cocomama is a really nice place in Amsterdam. It's set on a great location: near the tram and near nice spots of Amsterdam. Nice people, good atmosphere, sociable common room and great bedrooms: very comfortable beds (but véry small...). However, a price of 38 euros for a bed in a 6 bed dorm, is far too much, even though it's a really nice hostel and I know house prices in Amsterdam are very very high, you simply can't ask that for a bed in a dorm with even no breakfast included (there are cereals, but no milk or yogurt to put in in for example). I slept very well there and I like the place (and it was my own choice to sleep here), but to be fair to your guests, I'd say: increase the price with 25%.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    51
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
8
37
121
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The staff was very friendly, and if you don't mind walking then this is a great place outside of where all the action is going on in Amsterdam. I walked everywhere, and if the weather is nice then it is no problem. The rooms are much smaller than the average hostel, but the bathrooms are much cleaner than the average hostel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed at this hostel back in June 2011 for my first ever trip to Amsterdam. I was not disappointed. The staff are extremely friendly, and the feeling is very homey. The dining area downstairs provided some basics for people to use while making their breakfasts or dinners. There are areas for dining and also for hanging out. The backyard was quaint and had lots of greenery.

The one thing that really stands out about this place is the room decor! My room was apparently "lust" themed with interesting pictures hanging up everywhere if you get my drift. ;) The en suite bathroom was clean and the bed was comfortable. The vibe was overall very chill. I would definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: Stairs are very steep, be prepared to carry your luggage up and down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

A great staff and homey downstairs lounge and kitchen make for a great place to meet people and spearhead exploration of Amsterdam. Awesome location next to the best street market in Amsterdam. Overall an outstanding place to stay while visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

It was awesome. Everything was awesome. Friendly staff especially Nicole, you're superb. Very nice, comfortable and clean room. Location was good! I will definitely stay here if I have a chance to visit Amsterdam again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Cocomama was hands down one of my best hostel experiences ever. The staff are friendly, helpful, and easygoing. There's something going on every night and you'll definitely meet new people either at the lovely common area downstairs or by going for hostel events (like pub crawl). I travelled solo so this point was great. If you can handle dutch bikes then renting a bike from cocomama is your best bet for transport at 5euros a day. Other rental companies in amsterdam do something like 10euros for 3hours. Nothing much going on in the neighbourhood - the Albert Cuypstraat market is very nearby and also the supermarket so very convenient for getting snacks and other supplies. The place is easily accessible by tram, although I mainly walked everywhere (20min walk to most attractions). Also the resident cat is ADORABLE!!!!

I had to move rooms once but that wasn't too much of a problem. Beds are comfortable and warm with duvets, toilets are clean, and each room is nicely done up with a theme. If you are a light sleeper try to avoid the rooms on the first floor as you can hear the front door slamming every time someone comes back and people talking at the reception in the morning etc. I slept very well except one unfortunate night when there was a guy snoring really loudly in the same room....

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The hostel is a little outside the city center, but the city center is easily accessible by tram or subway. The guests at the hostel seemed to be younger (mostly people in their 20's). The staff were really nice and helpful. I would highly recommend renting a bike from the hostel because it's cheaper to rent one at the hostel then to go to a bike shop. The 6 bedroom dorm I stayed in was a bit outdated but clean. There was a nice kitchen and common room where there was always people chilling. The hostel was right near a good grocery store. It wasn't noisy at night and I slept well.

Room Tip: Rent bikes at the hostel and save lots of money. The hostel is the cheapest place to rent a bike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cocomama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocomama

Address: Westeinde 18, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Cocomama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocomama Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocomama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.