We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocomama

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cocomama to your Saves list
Cocomama
Westeinde 18, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 201 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

If you're looking to stay at a place with gorgeous women running it and amazing rooms to stay in. This is it. Unfortunately my friends and I only had the chance to stay one night before leaving but parting was such sweet sorrow...thanks for the pasta dinner and the wine.
Cheers <3

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    63
    16
    8
    2
See reviews for
8
46
152
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Diamond Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I stayed at Cocomama with my partner for 4 nights in Feb. We had a brilliant time from start to finish. The hostel has a very cosy, personal feeling from all the guests and especially the staff. The common area made it very easy to meet other travellers and the staff organise activities for every night. It felt more like a home than it did a hostel. The rooms are a little tight but it wasn't a problem for us at all. It's a short walk or a quick tram ride to the main square. So if you don't mind being just out of dam square then this is the place for you!

We will definitely be back! Thank you Cocomama!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsville, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

The atmosphere is amazing. Very friendly staff and activities every night. The common area is always full of people who are easy going and talkative. I had a fantastic stay there. Not to mention it is very clean! And the beds are easily the most comfortable I've slept in at a hostel- especially the pillows!

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Why would you stay anywhere else? I loved this place - the staff go above and beyond to be helpful and make everyone feel incredibly welcome, there's a great lounge room for when the weather's no good, you can rent a bike for five euros, the other guests staying there were lovely, there's a social event every night - whether it's a pub crawl or pasta night - so you're never short of things to do. One warning: it's so good that no other hostel will ever feel good enough again. Stay here and you'll wish you never had to carry on.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I was just at Cocomama last week, at the end of my 6 week Euro trip and it was easily the best hostel I stayed in. Franchise hostels get the job done, but Cocomama was different. The atmosphere is the thing that makes it a class above. It's just so friendly. They organise awesome events each night, like pub crawls, dinner nights, wine nights and nights out.
I just had the best time there and felt comfortable and safe, whilst meeting so many people.
The staff were so lovely and amazing. They were always around to talk as well if no one else was.
You must stay here if you're in Amsterdam.
Mitch - Straya xx.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a theme, so it's fun, whichever room you get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Cocomama was an absolute delight to visit, the staff are all lovely, and the hostel itself lovely. I stayed in the well equipped Brothel room (6 bed dorm), which had decent size lockers, and a great ensuite- but you'd be crazy to spend any time there when they offer such an amazing common room. Really well equipped with fridge for storing food, as well as an honesty bar, stove with free pasta on offer, a couple of 6 seater tables and a great comfy lounge and ipod dock for music. It was tempting to just stay in rather than leave!

Each night they offer a different activity I'd recommend everyone gets involved with, I was a solo traveller and met some wonderful people.

Couldn't recommend Cocomama enough!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

By far the best place in town… If you're looking for a great hostel.. walkable from the city centre nice atmosphere and great staff Coco Mama is the place to be.

Always welcomed by a smile from the friendly staff a stay there is a absolute treat when visiting Amsterdam. All the rooms have different Holland related themes and are super clean. The living room has a fully equipped kitchen and homey vibe… books.. dvd's.. video games and even a garden.. I was trying to look for something that wasn't good but just couldn't find anything to complain about… Highly recommend a stay at Coco Mama.

OH and the house cat Joop is the cutest thing ever!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,434 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#134 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 589 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#29 of 201 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 845 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark
#46 of 201 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocomama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocomama

Address: Westeinde 18, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 201 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Cocomama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocomama Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocomama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.