We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Europe Hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocomama

Save Saved
You added Cocomama to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cocomama
Westeinde 18, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 173 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Best Europe Hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I was just at Cocomama last week, at the end of my 6 week Euro trip and it was easily the best hostel I stayed in. Franchise hostels get the job done, but Cocomama was different. The atmosphere is the thing that makes it a class above. It's just so friendly. They organise awesome events each night, like pub crawls, dinner nights, wine nights and nights out.
I just had the best time there and felt comfortable and safe, whilst meeting so many people.
The staff were so lovely and amazing. They were always around to talk as well if no one else was.
You must stay here if you're in Amsterdam.
Mitch - Straya xx.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a theme, so it's fun, whichever room you get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    194
    47
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
8
37
116
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Cocomama was an absolute delight to visit, the staff are all lovely, and the hostel itself lovely. I stayed in the well equipped Brothel room (6 bed dorm), which had decent size lockers, and a great ensuite- but you'd be crazy to spend any time there when they offer such an amazing common room. Really well equipped with fridge for storing food, as well as an honesty bar, stove with free pasta on offer, a couple of 6 seater tables and a great comfy lounge and ipod dock for music. It was tempting to just stay in rather than leave!

Each night they offer a different activity I'd recommend everyone gets involved with, I was a solo traveller and met some wonderful people.

Couldn't recommend Cocomama enough!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

By far the best place in town… If you're looking for a great hostel.. walkable from the city centre nice atmosphere and great staff Coco Mama is the place to be.

Always welcomed by a smile from the friendly staff a stay there is a absolute treat when visiting Amsterdam. All the rooms have different Holland related themes and are super clean. The living room has a fully equipped kitchen and homey vibe… books.. dvd's.. video games and even a garden.. I was trying to look for something that wasn't good but just couldn't find anything to complain about… Highly recommend a stay at Coco Mama.

OH and the house cat Joop is the cutest thing ever!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Great location (just at the perfect distance to the tumult of the center of the city, but still not too far away, just enough to be away from all the noise), cosy atmosphere, very friendly staff. Great for solo travellers! This was my first time travelling by myself and the idea of it was very formidable-all my worries were gone when I arrived at the hostel; it really is a place that makes one feel at home. Furthermore, there's a very cute cat in the house that just adds to the homely feel.

Definitely recommended, definitely a place I would stay again the next time I'm in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Alright - I'm a newbie backpacker and I was absolutely frightened at the thought of travelling across Europe on my own as an Asian woman, first time in Europe. You would think that Asia is a lot less safe but that's another story altogether.

Amsterdam was my landing point from Singapore arriving at an ungodly hour of 7am. Goodness knows I was incredibly relieved to have picked Cocomama! The girls who ran the place were incredibly warm and friendly. They made me feel at home and were so helpful. The kitchen was really fully furnished and was a great hangout place. Everyday I'd shop at the Albertcuypmarkt and look forward to actually cooking my dinner since there's always someone so interesting to talk to.

The rooms were clean and cosy - nothing special really. You're there for the community and it's a brilliant place for lone travellers - especially women so I highly recommend it. The place is situated very close to Rijksmuseum and Heineken beer museum. Would highly recommend to also walk around Pijp - a lovely neighbourhood just nearby and you'll be able to get your groceries too Albertcuyp Markt and the AlbertHeijn nearby. It's only about 15 minutes walk from Rembrandtplein and getting to damrak is literally 15 minutes by tram. Best decision ever since it was just far enough for a retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Multiple award winning !! they know exactly what travelers are looking for. Feel right at home in this beautiful & historical townhouse. Relax around the lounge & garden, prepare your own meal.. new fully equipped kitchen w/ free pasta, meet fellows during one of the
hostel-organised activities. You can have a spin on one of the hostel bikes.. ease into it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Easily the best hostel you could ask for. Super helpful and friendly staff. Stayed in a mixed 4 bed dorn (called cheese, rooms have names not numbers) with an ensuite. Bed was incredibly comfortable, and large. Each bed had its own reading light which was very convenient. Lockers were a bit small but there was enough space in the room and shower temperature control wasn't too sensitive so it remained hot but the cold weather neglected this as a problem. There is also an adorable but cheeky in house cat who can try to steal food off your plate but this just adds to the homely feel of the hostel. Kitchen and dining area is nicely decorated and very cosy. Bike hire at 5 euro a day is great and the staff cooked meals are a bargain. As is the free pasta and rice. Couldn't praise this place highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cocomama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocomama

Address: Westeinde 18, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 173 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Cocomama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocomama Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocomama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.