We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“<3 Coco Mama and the Mama's!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocomama

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cocomama to your Saves list
Cocomama
Westeinde 18, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“<3 Coco Mama and the Mama's!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

By far the best place in town… If you're looking for a great hostel.. walkable from the city centre nice atmosphere and great staff Coco Mama is the place to be.

Always welcomed by a smile from the friendly staff a stay there is a absolute treat when visiting Amsterdam. All the rooms have different Holland related themes and are super clean. The living room has a fully equipped kitchen and homey vibe… books.. dvd's.. video games and even a garden.. I was trying to look for something that wasn't good but just couldn't find anything to complain about… Highly recommend a stay at Coco Mama.

OH and the house cat Joop is the cutest thing ever!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SabinaColada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Great location (just at the perfect distance to the tumult of the center of the city, but still not too far away, just enough to be away from all the noise), cosy atmosphere, very friendly staff. Great for solo travellers! This was my first time travelling by myself and the idea of it was very formidable-all my worries were gone when I arrived at the hostel; it really is a place that makes one feel at home. Furthermore, there's a very cute cat in the house that just adds to the homely feel.

Definitely recommended, definitely a place I would stay again the next time I'm in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tunc_BD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Alright - I'm a newbie backpacker and I was absolutely frightened at the thought of travelling across Europe on my own as an Asian woman, first time in Europe. You would think that Asia is a lot less safe but that's another story altogether.

Amsterdam was my landing point from Singapore arriving at an ungodly hour of 7am. Goodness knows I was incredibly relieved to have picked Cocomama! The girls who ran the place were incredibly warm and friendly. They made me feel at home and were so helpful. The kitchen was really fully furnished and was a great hangout place. Everyday I'd shop at the Albertcuypmarkt and look forward to actually cooking my dinner since there's always someone so interesting to talk to.

The rooms were clean and cosy - nothing special really. You're there for the community and it's a brilliant place for lone travellers - especially women so I highly recommend it. The place is situated very close to Rijksmuseum and Heineken beer museum. Would highly recommend to also walk around Pijp - a lovely neighbourhood just nearby and you'll be able to get your groceries too Albertcuyp Markt and the AlbertHeijn nearby. It's only about 15 minutes walk from Rembrandtplein and getting to damrak is literally 15 minutes by tram. Best decision ever since it was just far enough for a retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anja_oranjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Multiple award winning !! they know exactly what travelers are looking for. Feel right at home in this beautiful & historical townhouse. Relax around the lounge & garden, prepare your own meal.. new fully equipped kitchen w/ free pasta, meet fellows during one of the
hostel-organised activities. You can have a spin on one of the hostel bikes.. ease into it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CITYSPYinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Easily the best hostel you could ask for. Super helpful and friendly staff. Stayed in a mixed 4 bed dorn (called cheese, rooms have names not numbers) with an ensuite. Bed was incredibly comfortable, and large. Each bed had its own reading light which was very convenient. Lockers were a bit small but there was enough space in the room and shower temperature control wasn't too sensitive so it remained hot but the cold weather neglected this as a problem. There is also an adorable but cheeky in house cat who can try to steal food off your plate but this just adds to the homely feel of the hostel. Kitchen and dining area is nicely decorated and very cosy. Bike hire at 5 euro a day is great and the staff cooked meals are a bargain. As is the free pasta and rice. Couldn't praise this place highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

This hostel was so nice it felt more like a social hotel than a hostel!! The room I stayed in (I think it was big brothel?) was very clean and had big lockers for storage, which was good because the door to the room didn't lock by itself (this is my ONLY complaint about the whole hostel). Bathroom was also very clean and the shower was huge! Staff is all incredibly friendly (shoutout to Solveiga, Elina, and Moo!) and the kitchen/common room was so cozy and friendly. Weather wasn't great so I didn't get to spend any time in the backyard, but it looks like it would be a great place to hang out on nice days. Joop the cat is also a nice touch! Next time I am in Amsterdam I'll definitely be back at cocomama!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Eca20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

A great surprise to find in Amsterdam , the place is clean , cozy, very friendly with a great option to cook by yourself , they have once a week an evening surprise(dinner,film,etc) at the living room
The bedrooms are ok with warm beds . Is great for all kind of travelers and in a quiet neighborhood but close to everything . They rent bikes for !half the price!!!
Thanks guys for a really nice stay

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Pattyvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,018 reviews
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#132 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 679 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#28 of 207 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocomama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocomama

Address: Westeinde 18, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 207 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Cocomama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocomama Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing