We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cocomama, the Pterodactyl of hostels. Simply the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocomama

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cocomama to your Saves list
Cocomama
Westeinde 18, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 201 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cocomama, the Pterodactyl of hostels. Simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Now this is the story all about how
My holiday got flipped, tripped upside down
And I'd like to take a review just read right here
I'll tell you how I had the best time in a town called A'dam.

For someone that has spent almost 150 nights in hostels all around the world, and in countless countries, I still tell everyone that Cocomama's is the best hostel..... ever....anywhere. I just love it. It was my second time here and it was superb. Always greeted by lovely and friendly staff. I planned for 4 nights here but decided to extend another 2 nights, the bodacious and warming staff helped me out and even changed up other things to ensure I didn't have to change beds every day even though I gave them less than 24 hours notice for the extra days.

Indubitably and comprehensively the most comfy hostel beds I have slept in. Let's not lie, I partied my fair amount in Amsterdam and after tiptoe'ing my way back into my room at unknown hours of the morning I still had the most rejuvenating sleeps. All rooms have bathrooms and the beds are super sturdy, no creaks and groans to unexpectedly wake others up....

The common room rocks more than an archaeological dig site, they have a NES to play some Mario (who doesn't enjoy dabbling in oldschool games) and free pasta/rice. Perfect. The staff are gregarious and sociable and most nights they plan 'outings or events' from the common room. Always good fun. And the cat doesn't crave attention, he just sits there sleeping.

If rating this place was on a dial, I would turn it all the way to 11. I give 11 points out of 10.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    63
    16
    8
    2
See reviews for
8
46
152
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I had a great time at the brothel turned hostel. I got there much before check-in (took the night train into town) but they were able to take my bags, give me a map and point me to a great breakfast place and a free walking tour. One of the workers, Britt, even showed us around to a few more local bars with awesome atmosphere.

The rooms didn't have much free space but both lockers and showers are in the room.

Room Tip: The "Big Brothel" (6 person) and "Little Brothel" (4 person) are on the rear of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed here for 8 nights and I absolutely loved it! The staff are so friendly and really make you feel welcome. The kitchen is great with free spices and what not, and the beds and so sturdy and so so comfy. I loved that the location isn't in the thick of it all (you can walk anywhere in Amsterdam). It was so relaxing and so homely, also really really great for meeting other other travellers!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The staff made me feel so welcome and making friends in the common room/kitchen was a breeze - it's a space conducive to a good time for sure with a NES. The rooms were comfortable and colorful just mind the stairs when you're wasted. To top it all off they have a friendly cat called joop who's good if you need a friend. Favorite place in Amsterdam. 10/10 will stay again. Cheers, Sam.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 6 days. Had an amazing stay, this is a really high standard hostel. Probably the best I've stayed in. Great for solo travellers, I met several great people staying there. The staff are what makes this place though - they're so helpful and really go above and beyond to ensure you have everything you need. Britt especially was awesome and made me feel very welcome. Overall an awesome hostel. Only downfall is it is slightly out of the main part of Amsterdam but this was actually kind of nice if you use a bike. It was right by Albery Cuyp market which was awesome!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niterói, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Cocomama was by far the best hostel i've stayed during my eurotrip!! The bed is supercomfortable, the environment is very cool (personalized rooms), the staff is AWESOME, and the location is also good.

I had a great time there, got to know everyone at the common area and just felt home! Whenever i visit Amsterdam again, there is no doubt: COCOMAMA AGAIN!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Cocomama is a great find in Amsterdam. It was a great place to meet other solo travelers (like me). The group was awesome, and it's a great place to make fast friends. The location was perfect. Quiet enough to get some rest, and nothing is too far for walking. Staff was great, too. They went out with the guests, and leaving bags at the hostel for a late train/flight is no big deal.

Room Tip: Book early. They fill up quickly, and most people there were trying to add on days once they saw the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#134 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 592 reviews
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,443 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#29 of 201 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 846 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark
#46 of 201 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocomama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocomama

Address: Westeinde 18, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 201 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Cocomama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocomama Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocomama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.