We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of fun away from the loudness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocomama

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cocomama to your Saves list
Cocomama
Westeinde 18, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 179 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Pasadena, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lots of fun away from the loudness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I had a great time at the brothel turned hostel. I got there much before check-in (took the night train into town) but they were able to take my bags, give me a map and point me to a great breakfast place and a free walking tour. One of the workers, Britt, even showed us around to a few more local bars with awesome atmosphere.

The rooms didn't have much free space but both lockers and showers are in the room.

Room Tip: The "Big Brothel" (6 person) and "Little Brothel" (4 person) are on the rear of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    57
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
8
40
130
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed here for 8 nights and I absolutely loved it! The staff are so friendly and really make you feel welcome. The kitchen is great with free spices and what not, and the beds and so sturdy and so so comfy. I loved that the location isn't in the thick of it all (you can walk anywhere in Amsterdam). It was so relaxing and so homely, also really really great for meeting other other travellers!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

The staff made me feel so welcome and making friends in the common room/kitchen was a breeze - it's a space conducive to a good time for sure with a NES. The rooms were comfortable and colorful just mind the stairs when you're wasted. To top it all off they have a friendly cat called joop who's good if you need a friend. Favorite place in Amsterdam. 10/10 will stay again. Cheers, Sam.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed here for 6 days. Had an amazing stay, this is a really high standard hostel. Probably the best I've stayed in. Great for solo travellers, I met several great people staying there. The staff are what makes this place though - they're so helpful and really go above and beyond to ensure you have everything you need. Britt especially was awesome and made me feel very welcome. Overall an awesome hostel. Only downfall is it is slightly out of the main part of Amsterdam but this was actually kind of nice if you use a bike. It was right by Albery Cuyp market which was awesome!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niterói, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Cocomama was by far the best hostel i've stayed during my eurotrip!! The bed is supercomfortable, the environment is very cool (personalized rooms), the staff is AWESOME, and the location is also good.

I had a great time there, got to know everyone at the common area and just felt home! Whenever i visit Amsterdam again, there is no doubt: COCOMAMA AGAIN!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Cocomama is a great find in Amsterdam. It was a great place to meet other solo travelers (like me). The group was awesome, and it's a great place to make fast friends. The location was perfect. Quiet enough to get some rest, and nothing is too far for walking. Staff was great, too. They went out with the guests, and leaving bags at the hostel for a late train/flight is no big deal.

Room Tip: Book early. They fill up quickly, and most people there were trying to add on days once they saw the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The staff are great, the beds super, the bathrooms mint, the kitchen lounge so cosy
Great social atmosphere without being too over the top party place
Lots to do organised with hostel and great location.
Highly recommend it
Breakfast would be the only thing for the price i think should be included

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cocomama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocomama

Address: Westeinde 18, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 179 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Cocomama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocomama Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocomama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.