We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely and Inviting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocomama

Save Saved
You added Cocomama to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cocomama
Westeinde 18, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 174 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Homely and Inviting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

I stayed at Cocomama with three of my friends for four nights. The staff were so warm and welcoming and the environment of the hostel was homely. Our room , which was a four bunk bed room was extremely clean and comfortable. Perhaps the windows were a bit thin and it got cold at night, with the constant sound of traffic and trams passing by present. The down stairs area was amazing to just chill and relax as well as cook food.

The benefit of staying at Cocomama was that the staff were knowledgeable of the city and gave good tips for places to visit, bars to drink at and of course coffee shops.

Amazing experience, will defiantly be back!

Room Tip: All about the red light room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    51
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
8
37
121
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Hello!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

cocomama is the place to be. If you are looking to stay in amsterdam and be in a good vibe 24h-7 go to COCOMAMA! I went in the summer with my 2 friends and it was crazy. The staff is really friendly and the matresses are fkn comfortable. Rooms are clean and the bathrooms are huge (that's important since you will have the munchies :p)

P.i.t

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Cocomama's service is the 8th wonder of the world. The hostel is in a beautiful neighbourhood that is quiet, yet also within close proximity to supermarkets, parties, galleries, boutiques and cafes'. Their staff are amazing - they ensure your stay is most comfortable and are always willing to help (whatever it may be that you are looking for). Beds, pillows and mattresses are so comfortable that you will feel like you are sleeping in clouds, and the wash/toilet facilities work perfectly and are super clean. Leaving Cocomama was probably the most difficult part of my trip.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

I have a very pleasant stay in this place. It is about few minutes from Central Station by tram, in a calm but safe area. The tram station just across the street. I stayed in a mixed bedroom for 4 (with 2 bunk bed). Bedroom is spacious enough for a hostel (about 15m2, incl the bathroom). The shower works absolutely fine. It's very clean, both bedroom, bathroom, and also the living room, including the garden.

They also have large living room + pantry + dining room. In here you can just chill out meet other backpacker, or just read the travel books. You can use the kitchen and cook your own pasta, they already provide the ingredient. They have refrigerator as well, where you can keep your drinks (don't forget to label them) or you can just buy something from the convenient store and cook it in the hostel.

Lovely staffs, they know a lot about the area ( it seems they also travel a lot), also trustworthy. Wifi here is fast. They also have a couple of computers near the living room you can use.

Overall, I have nothing to complain about!

Room Tip: Choose the one in the first floor, just behind the receptionist desk. You can have a nice garden vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

I don't typically preach the hostel gospel, nor do I particularly enjoy hostels, but Cocomama is a really nice experience. I loved the cat, Yurp-- So cute! The kitchen felt like a home away from home-- there were games and DVDs for you to use, and they provide all cooking implements, a fridge to store your food, and best of all, free pasta! There was also a super cute garden outside the kitchen to hang out in if you wanted to enjoy the weather. The staff was super, super friendly and helpful-- they gave us a map and told us where all the main sights were, let us print our tickets to the Anne Frank museum, and let us store our luggage below stairs after checkout.

My only quibble with this place is that all the dorms are mixed gender. As a female traveler traveling only with another female friend, this was a bit of a challenge for us. So, if you're not comfortable with this but still want to stay here, I'd try and book a private room, if there's one available. (We didn't book far enough in advance for this, though).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Cocomama is definitely one of the nicest hostels you can get. It's located in a great area, about ten minutes away from Museumplein and near several supermarkets and cafes. The staff is very friendly and willing to answer all questions. They even let us print tickets for the Anne Frank Museum and gave us great directions around the city.
The real gem of Cocomama however, is their wonderful kitchen. It feels like going to an actual home, as there are cozy couches, a garden outside, and very sweet and cuddly cat! They also provide free pasta to cook, along with a fully stocked kitchen if you want to make your own lunch or dinner. They also have DVDs, board games, and books.
The only drawback of this hostel was that all of the rooms are coed, and there is no option for male or female only dorms. Other than that, our stay was lovely and I would definitely recommend Cocomama to anyone who wants a pleasant, affordable stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Me and my friend stayed at cocomama for 4 nights, we are both 24 and went on a little break away to amsterdam to do the usual things, coco mamas has such a lovely vibe about it, we met other travellers from around the world, and chose to actually stay in the communal living room kitchen area on a couple of occasions at night as it was such a great place to be. the showers are powerful, we shared the canal themed room with two other travellers, the rooms are small, but the beds are sooo comfy and the duvets are really warm, and good quality. I have told all my freinds to stay at coco mama if they ever go to Amsterdam... its so nice, and i will 100% be going back!!! oh also it was really clean, and the kitchen (which is also lovely) has two fridges, one honesty fridge, which is stacked with beer and wine, a glass of wine or a beer is 1 euro. the other fridge is for your own food if you want to cook there.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cocomama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocomama

Address: Westeinde 18, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 174 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Cocomama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocomama Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocomama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.