We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sebastian's to your Saves list
Hotel Sebastian's
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Offer
Ranked #11 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Lake Tahoe (California), California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

I was originally going to visit Amsterdam on my own and booked a small room overlooking the canal. In an email to the hotel I asked if the room had two beds because my daughter was joining me. They replied that while a garden room didn't have a view, it was much larger. The room was perfect for us. Incredibly quiet, comfortable beds, roomy, nice bath. I always prefer hotels in a quiet location but walking distance to everywhere and Sebastian's was perfect.. We are walkers and walked to the museums, restaurants, city square, parks, etc. I have to admit the colors in the hotel entrance put me off a bit but the staff made our stay. They helped us with everything - even found us a drop off laundry at a great price. The bar area was friendly and attractive. We had looked for a fun place to watch the World Cup and wished we had watched it at the hotel. Breakfasts were very good. Most of all the staff made us feel as if they truly cared and made our visit in Amsterdam great. Really sweet people.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    202
    21
    3
    1
See reviews for
84
354
49
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Superb value, very convenient location. The beds were really comfortable and the room was really spacious. Very clean and excellent bathroom facilities. The staff were very friendly and a mine of information. Although breakfast was extra it was good quality and there was a wide range to choose from.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

this was our first visit to Amsterdam and picked this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and I am thankful. We grabbed the train from the airport and it is less than 10 minute walk to hotel. We had a small double with a canal view. Yes it was smaller but the view was amazing. and I sat by the window everyday and enjoyed it. The hotel staff were very friendly and Esme( hope I spelled correctly) was so nice to try and get our room ready before 2 as we arrived at 8 am but did suggest we could stay and have breakfast but I knew there was a market close by open on Saturday so we wandered around the Nordermarkt and pick up some yummy things to eat and used the mini bar to store. We did receive a complimentary drink when we returned and were in our room before 2 pm. Unknown to us we arrived during pride weekend and the parade was just one canal over and we had a great time. great music with decorated boats going along the canal. The hotel is on a quiet residential street but the action is close by. We walked everywhere and did not even rent bikes. The farthest walk was to The Van Gogh Museum at around 30-40 minutes but we wandered around other streets and stopped for a drink when required. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: we were on the first floor facing the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We had a tiny room at the hotel, however the staff did all they could to make up for this. Great breakfast at the hotel much better than we expected. The staff at this hotel really want you to enjoy your stay, and will give you lots of information. The location is perfect approximately 8-10min walk from the train station, Great for all the bars, resturaunts and tourist attractions, we enjoyed our visit to the zoo. The hotel has a sister hotel the toren in the same street this is worth a visit. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez,Ca
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Couldn't ask for a friendlier, ready-to-help staff. Location on the canal is great; it's quiet but within easy walking distance of most of the sights. The rooms were comfortable and well furnished. Loved the color schemes! Great breakfast at a reasonable price

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Just back from a weekend break at hotel sebastian in Amsterdam August 23/24/25
A great hotel with really friendly,helpful staff who were always willing to pass on local knowledge of restaurants bars etc
Situated on a lovely canal in the Jordaan district,the lobby bar and restaurant area were beautifully decorated
Our room was at the back of the hotel and was very quiet,it had a large living space and an extremely comfortable bed , we couldn't fault a thing and will definitely will be returning for another visit
Ps thank you so much for the champagne for my birthday, it was a lovely surprise and much appreciated
Neil Michele UK

Room Tip: We stayed in room 114
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We slayed at the hotel for one night 23rd August. The hotel was full when we booked so we could only get a small room. The offered to put us on a wait list for a larger room and kept us well informed as to availability. As it turned out, the room thought small was more than adequate and quite comfortable. Bathroom was well equipped with quality soaps, shampoos etc, and very clean. Bed was very comfortable, TV, mini bar and coffee pods.

The breakfast was excellent. We had a night-cap at the bar and the drinks provided were quite generous - size for cost.

Décor excellent

The best part was the quality service. Reception was welcoming, polite and thorough. Excellent recommendations and clear directions. All staff were polite and went out of their way to greet you and offer service.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sebastian's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.