We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sebastian's to your Saves list
Hotel Sebastian's
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Offer
Ranked #9 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

What a fab place excellent staff amazing setting with very picturesque canal outside just away from main drag. But short walk to hop on off canal tour boats and Anne frank museums . Nice coffee shops restaurants .Small rooms but comfy bed power shower very modern with nespresso machines huge window with boats going by you really feel your in Amsterdam. I'd say it's a trendy upmarket area. Which is quieter than main area. Nice breakfast cooked cereal cakes coffee ect. And complimentary drinks on arrival. Would come back. A great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    207
    21
    3
    1
See reviews for
89
364
52
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

what a find! hotel Sebastian is located in a perfect spot overlooking the busy canal and a short walk from all the action, yet offers a peaceful and relaxed haven. the staff are great and very helpful, and the breakfast was a treat. we will certainly be returning!!

Room Tip: our room (229) was fantastic..kooky and comfy and very cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Nice little hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, in a great location on a beautiful canal. Generous, delicious breakfasts. Rooms tend to be a bit dark to go with the atmospheric decor but I would have liked a bit more light in the bathroom. For my taste, the beds were too soft.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Had a pleasant two night stay in the triple room. The interior design is very nice but a little dark for my taste, but that is only a personal opinion, but considering we were out most of the time that was no big deal. The only downside would be that there wasnt enough wardrobe space for a triple room. Breakfast was served in the bar area, which was nice and cozy. The location was perfect, in a nice district facing the canal, within a short walking distance to the station and main areas of interest. The staff were very friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make sure we were happy with everything. Would definitely return again and would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

In summary we loved our three night stay at Sebastian's. Some highlights included the friendly and service oriented staff. I could name many as they were all so lovely but will just mention 'Sir Henry' who saved us over 2 hours wait at the Van Gogh Museum by booking the tickets in advance and all the other little things that he and other staff did to help us enjoy our stay in Amsterdam.

Location is excellent, situated in a 17th century canal house right in front of the Keizersgracht. We chose a canal view room and enjoyed seeing the world walk/cycle/boat by. Staff are very knowledgable and will help you re tours, restaurants, museums, etc.

I noticed they described the hotel thus - "The interior design can be described as funky and jazzy. Warm and slightly dark colours set the tone throughout the property to create a unique environment with lots of character." In my opinion that is true description and that said, don't expect pristine/characterless 5 star style accommodation. This hotel is much more suited to travellers that enjoy a more intimate characterful experience with modern attributes such as good wi-fi. The hotel has a great bar where you also come for breakfast if you chose with food for most cultures and lots of nooks to sit.

We requested a couple of minor changes soon after arrival and they were resolved with speed, and a smile. They genuinely want you to have a great stay so if you need anything, ASK and don't leave issues unresolved and moan about it later on TripAdvisor - that is the worst mistake of travelling as people generally are keen to help when asked NICELY.

We found this hotel with TripAdvisor and will in turn give the constructive reviewers a 'helpful vote'.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed at the triple room facing courtyard. Although in the morning can hear children's noise but its just a short while. The bed is so comfortable.. its fluffy n yet not too soft. Still thinking of the bed when i'm back in Singapore. And the room is very spacious, although the room is a little dark, I still enjoyed my stay n will always remember the lovely luxurious bed..

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel is truly special. The hotel is on a charming canal (but aren't they all?) extremely close to tne Anne Frank House, Dam Square and countless shops and restaurants. Yes the rooms are small but how much time does one spend in the room while traveling? After we booked the room, I recieved a personal email from the staff ensuring I knew the room would be small. We had more than enough space for our luggage, an incredibly comfortable bed and a great size bathroom!

What makes Hotel Sebastian's special is the people--the staff is so friendly and helpful! They truly go above and beyond to ensure you're having the best experience possible. If I am ever fortunate enough to return to Amsterdam I will be staying here!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sebastian's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.