We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed is so comfortable...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sebastian's to your Saves list
Hotel Sebastian's
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Offer
Ranked #11 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Bed is so comfortable...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed at the triple room facing courtyard. Although in the morning can hear children's noise but its just a short while. The bed is so comfortable.. its fluffy n yet not too soft. Still thinking of the bed when i'm back in Singapore. And the room is very spacious, although the room is a little dark, I still enjoyed my stay n will always remember the lovely luxurious bed..

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    213
    21
    3
    1
See reviews for
91
375
52
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel is truly special. The hotel is on a charming canal (but aren't they all?) extremely close to tne Anne Frank House, Dam Square and countless shops and restaurants. Yes the rooms are small but how much time does one spend in the room while traveling? After we booked the room, I recieved a personal email from the staff ensuring I knew the room would be small. We had more than enough space for our luggage, an incredibly comfortable bed and a great size bathroom!

What makes Hotel Sebastian's special is the people--the staff is so friendly and helpful! They truly go above and beyond to ensure you're having the best experience possible. If I am ever fortunate enough to return to Amsterdam I will be staying here!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Charming little hotel conveniently located to EVERYTHING---the Red Light District and the Anne Frank House were in close walking distance. Even the Rembrandt Museum was not that far away. The staff were nice and very attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My wife and I and two friends stayed at the Sebastians for three nights and enjoyed a wonderful time in Amsterdam. The hotel is in a good location, the ambiance is wonderful and the staff went out of their way to assist us in any way possible. We didn't let a rather unpleasant and moody chambermaid spoil our stay, because the rest of the staff were so wonderful. Harm in particular was excellent and made the breakfast so much more enjoyable. Nothing was too much for this man and he deserves being recognized.

The rooms were a little small by our Canadian standards, but this is Europe after all. We did manage to fit everything it, but I still have bruises on my knee from squeezing into the tiny bathroom! The bar area was very cool and the breakfast was excellent. The front desk staff made many good restaurant recommendations and reservations for us. Our stay was great and we will be back one day.

Room Tip: We had a canal view room and enjoyed just watching the boats go by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed there with my friend for 4 days. It looks directly to a canal which makes the stayal obviously good. Staff was so friendly, our room was always clean, but it was a small room for 2 seperate beds. In total, it is a affordable place with good quality for travellers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Sebastian's is a perfectly located hotel near the city center. The surroundings are quite and very-Amsterdam like. Our room was spacious, clean and comfy. The hotel staff is very kind and friendly. Would recommend to everyone who will visit this beautiful city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We loved our stay at the Sebastian , especially after spending the first few nights in Amsterdam at a large hotel on the Dam Square where stepping out the door required courage and patience.

When you arrive at the Keizergracht, you leave the noise and crowds behind, but there are great shops and restaurants close by in the Jordain .
Great shopping was a little too close by.
We were there during a Holland match, and one of bars moved all the TVS into the square,and most of the neighbourhood families had gathered to watch.

Its a short walk /tram ride to most attractions from here.

The rooms are surprisingly quiet, and the beds very comfortable.

You have to be creative with storing your bags because the rooms are quite small, but as we sat with our feet on a suitcase looking out at the lights on the canal, we didn't have any objections.
Our room had large windows which opened on to the canal.

The breakfasts are of great value, with everything you need, and only 10 euros including coffee.
The little breakfast /bar area has lots of charm- our one wish was that there was more daylight in the room as the decor is dark and dramatic.

And the staff at this hotel, without exception, were outstanding.
We had a drink at the hotel before dinner, and had Robert , who was at the bar one evening, tell us about the neighbourhood which we found helpful, but every one was so willing to make recommendations.

We really enjoyed our stay, and Amsterdam for the first time, as a result of this charming hotel.
I often travel alone, and the Sebastian would be a good choice for solo travel as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal room- I think a bit more expensive, but peaceful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sebastian's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.