We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel; great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sebastian's to your Saves list
Hotel Sebastian's
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Offer
Ranked #9 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great hotel; great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Sebastian's on the last leg of a long six-week Western European holiday. After staying in a variety of hotels, B&Bs, and some rented apartments we were looking forward to a proper, upper-scale hotel and we weren't disappointed.

Hotel Sebastian's is in an absolutely perfect location and the view, as our pictures show, is a fabulous one. The street below is breezy and quiet and it's a short walk to just about anywhere you'd like. The room itself was pretty small but well-appointed with a very luxurious bathroom and ample space for ourselves and our two suitcases.

We didn't pay for the breakfast so I cannot comment on that aspect but the service, room, and location were top-notch.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    229
    21
    3
    1
See reviews for
99
425
61
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for a few nights when travelling with a friend. The location is perfect being central but situated on one of the main canals (Keizersgracht) rather than in a touristy street so very pleasant and picturesque. The rooms are well equipped although not massive. Very comfy beds and good shower.

The main asset of this hotel is the staff who could not have been more helpful, right down from providing a list of local restaurants to checking whether we were happy with our breakfast. They even provided a kettle and some peppermint tea one evening when I asked for it. My friend arrived early off a long haul flight and was offered breakfast even though it was a bit late in the morning.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and should I be returning to Amsterdam would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Great boutique hotel in a beautiful and convenient location. The rooms are small but very well appointed with a coffeemaker, toiletries, mini-bar, hairdryer (not the hose attached to a wall), in room safe, and great bedding.

What sets this place apart from others is the staff. From the minute I walked in the door to my departure, they were extremely eager to assist with directions, recommendations, etc. Truly a great group of people.

Hotel also has a bar, serves breakfast, and has bikes for rent.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The location of this hotel is just a 10 minute walk to the central station, situated in a quieter area on the canal ring but within walking distance of all attractions. The hotel featured a lovely entrance hall and a well designed and comfortable lounge/breakfast room/bar. Check in was easy with staff being extremely friendly and helpful, offering tips and maps for getting around the city. We stayed in a 3 bedded room on the 3rd floor without canal view. It was nice however to see that despite the lack of views the hotel had made an effort to dress the otherwise dreary rear courtyard with flower tubs and baskets. Our room was quite small for the 3 beds and there was lack of storage for 3 people, furniture was a little squashed for fit, for example you could not use the full length mirror due to the wardrobe being in the way and there was inadequate shelving in the bathroom for 3 people. The room was very clean, the bathroom had a lovely large step in shower and there were complimentary soaps, shampoo and vanity kits, the room also had a free to use safe, wifi and air conditioning. Breakfast was average compared to my experiences of other European hotels and in my opinion a little overpriced, however the staff once again were attentive and welcoming. On my first night I had a problem sleeping due to noise from the pipes above the room, when I reported this on leaving the staff were very apologetic and clearly keen to resolve the issue for other guests and also grateful to us for reporting this. We received further emails from the managers who could not apologise enough and arranged for the repair to be undertaken immediately. Overall I think the hotel is a little over priced, however there are a lot positives about this lovely place and I would stay here again, the staff are probably the most helpful and friendliest I have come across and along with the manager clearly value their guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Room was uniquely decorated. Hotel web site has accurate pictures, generally dark but beautiful. Staff was exceptional. Henry greeted us and treated us like there was nothing he would rather do than welcome and guide us. Breakfast was extra and we thought a little pricy. But we checked it out and it looked very substantial. Location on a canal so it was quiet, but was just a short walk to tram/train connections. Thanks to Travel Advisor reviewers for finding us this fabulous place.

Room Tip: You can ask for a room that faces the canal. We stayed in a courtyard facing room and it was just fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Fabulous boutique hotel. Outstanding staff. Could not do enough for us- so helpful. Intimate breakfasts - everything fresh and tasty.
Had room 220 - was a little small- but bigger was not available
Next visit would choose room 119.
Very central
Would stay there again on my next visit to Amsterdam

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

We had a great time at Hotel Sebastian's last summer! The hotel is quaint but beautiful and so very close to everything. My husband and I were able to walk to all of the attractions on our to do list: Anne Frank house, bols, Van Gogh museum, red light district, and a dinner cruise we had booked through Viator. It was a beautiful area and we felt very safe. I would return in a heartbeat!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sebastian's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.