We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, close to everything!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sebastian's to your Saves list
Hotel Sebastian's
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Offer
Ranked #11 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel, close to everything!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

We had a great time at Hotel Sebastian's last summer! The hotel is quaint but beautiful and so very close to everything. My husband and I were able to walk to all of the attractions on our to do list: Anne Frank house, bols, Van Gogh museum, red light district, and a dinner cruise we had booked through Viator. It was a beautiful area and we felt very safe. I would return in a heartbeat!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    201
    21
    3
    1
See reviews for
84
354
49
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Despite great reviews of the hotel, I was a little hesitant after looking through photos and thought the interior was a bit too 'dark' for what I'd usually choose in a hotel. However my boyfriend pushed booking the room and I'm so glad he did.

It was a beautiful hotel, outside and in! Our room was more than I expected and was really clean, modern and comfortable. Breakfast was included, which we did not realise upon booking and had a wide choice of foods to start off your day.

The hotel is possibly in the best location you could ask for, with a 10 minute walk from Centraal Station to the hotel and another 10 minute walk the other way to a tram stop on Keizersgracht. Close to Anne Frank's house also if you were planning a trip there!

I'd definitely stop there again and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We had one of the cheapest, small rooms but this did not lack on quality or size with a great amount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I chose this hotel after much research and am so happy that I did.
Location: An easy walk from the Central Train Station. Situated on a picturesque canal. Easy walking distance to bars, restaurants and hop-on, hop-off canal boat tours.
Façade and Décor: Trendy façade and boutique décor with an Amsterdam twist.
Room: Immaculate, quiet, stylish and surprisingly spacious. Very comfortable bed with beautiful view of canal, especially at sunset. Small but spotless bathroom with good shower pressure. Ample space to store luggage / clothing.
Breakfast: Generous and delicious.
Hotel Staff: Professional, attentive, generous and so friendly. No request was too much!
Value for Money: Excellent.

Room Tip: Pay the bit extra for a room with a canal view ;-D
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Perfect location, very helpful and accommodating staff, comfortable bed and good sized room for all 4 of us to fit in. Great value breakfasts too, will definitely be staying there again next time we are in Amsterdam

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Can't recommend this little gem of a hotel highly enough.

Great location and fabulous staff who couldn't help us enough

We had booked what I believe was the hotel's smallest room so we were expecting a shoebox. The room was absolutely fine with a nice view out to a courtyard

Lovely and quiet.

Breakfast was included, great coffee and plenty of Dutch cheeses and meats.

The hotel has bikes for hire - great way to spend the day

Only wish we had longer

Thanks for making our stay so great.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Our third visit to this lovely city and we have never been disappointed. However the sense of welcome and care at Sebastian's was exceptional. The location is perfect and very tranquil. We had a third floor room with a canal view and had happy times enjoying the view from our window. Breakfast was very good indeed and plentiful. Extra coffee was always offered.

The bar menu was well priced and one evening when we ordered the bar attendant got on her scooter to visit the sister hotel to get more panini as they had run out!

Sebastian's is very well priced and the service far outstrips the cost. Reception were exceptionally helpful and their restaurant suggestions were excellent.

We loved it!

Room Tip: We loved 330
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Sebastian's 20 May14 to 23 May 14. its a delightful little boutique hotel on a quiet street overlooking the canal.The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We arrived earlier than the specified check in time but are room was ready and so we were checked in! There was a personal note from the owners addressed to us which made us feel really welcome. The staff had said that the room is a bit small but we found it just right. The bathroom was also fine had very nice amenities and an awesome shower!:) Our room overlooked a courtyard I think and it was unbelievably quiet which was great.
They have a nice friendly little bar where breakfast is also served. Breakfast was simple but had everything.
We had dinner the last evening and were served a delicious tomato soup(I can still taste it in my mind!)
Had a lovely stay and the staff were extremely welcoming polite and helpful will definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sebastian's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.