We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sebastian's to your Saves list
Hotel Sebastian's
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Offer
Ranked #10 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Perfect location, very helpful and accommodating staff, comfortable bed and good sized room for all 4 of us to fit in. Great value breakfasts too, will definitely be staying there again next time we are in Amsterdam

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    221
    21
    3
    1
See reviews for
93
397
57
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Can't recommend this little gem of a hotel highly enough.

Great location and fabulous staff who couldn't help us enough

We had booked what I believe was the hotel's smallest room so we were expecting a shoebox. The room was absolutely fine with a nice view out to a courtyard

Lovely and quiet.

Breakfast was included, great coffee and plenty of Dutch cheeses and meats.

The hotel has bikes for hire - great way to spend the day

Only wish we had longer

Thanks for making our stay so great.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol UK
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Our third visit to this lovely city and we have never been disappointed. However the sense of welcome and care at Sebastian's was exceptional. The location is perfect and very tranquil. We had a third floor room with a canal view and had happy times enjoying the view from our window. Breakfast was very good indeed and plentiful. Extra coffee was always offered.

The bar menu was well priced and one evening when we ordered the bar attendant got on her scooter to visit the sister hotel to get more panini as they had run out!

Sebastian's is very well priced and the service far outstrips the cost. Reception were exceptionally helpful and their restaurant suggestions were excellent.

We loved it!

Room Tip: We loved 330
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Sebastian's 20 May14 to 23 May 14. its a delightful little boutique hotel on a quiet street overlooking the canal.The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We arrived earlier than the specified check in time but are room was ready and so we were checked in! There was a personal note from the owners addressed to us which made us feel really welcome. The staff had said that the room is a bit small but we found it just right. The bathroom was also fine had very nice amenities and an awesome shower!:) Our room overlooked a courtyard I think and it was unbelievably quiet which was great.
They have a nice friendly little bar where breakfast is also served. Breakfast was simple but had everything.
We had dinner the last evening and were served a delicious tomato soup(I can still taste it in my mind!)
Had a lovely stay and the staff were extremely welcoming polite and helpful will definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon PA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed at Sebastian's in late April 2014 and were thoroughly pleased. It's a relatively small boutique hotel located in the downtown area on a quiet, picturesque street with a canal. Our room faced the canal. The room was spacious and comfortable. The staff is excellent-they were more than happy to help us with directions, reservations, maps and taxis. They provide a nice Dutch style breakfast at a reasonable price; there is a small friendly bar too. We are happy to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

From the moment we made our reservations to our first step into the Hotel - through our 4th day, the entire staff and ownership could not have been more concerned, helpful and kind. We made contact with the staff before arriving and several times heard directly from the owners, Mr./Mrs Toren...... very gracious and excellent hosts.

2 couples stayed here in one Canal room and one Courtyard room - our Canal room was tight by American standards (our room width was the length of the bed plus 16 inches -our knees hit the closed BR door when on the toilet) but had a memorable view of the canal while our friends had a more spacious courtyard view which was great and a bit quieter - I'd choose the latter if I returned!

The location was wonderful for those who wish to be among the locals - fewer tourists and tourist spots but a flavor of this city which we very much enjoyed! We really walked to most things - or when leaving the canal area, took the tram - easy, cheap and fun. The desk helped with recommendations for dining, tours, transport and pretty much anything we could ask - and thier answers were great!

We've stayed at many high end boutique type hotels but this was tops......

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, South Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

OK. Maybe the bathroom was a bit tiny (although with very nice amenities and great shower) and could use some new tile work and the room needs a carpet upgrade, but who cares?! Hotel Sebastian's is wonderful. The location on the canal street is so peaceful and charming. The staff is fabulous. It seemed they were caring for family instead of hotel guests. We had a problem with our safe one morning and it was resolved in just 15 minutes after we called the front desk. Joey, one of the bartenders, is a delight. So friendly and nice. We enjoyed the bar each evening after a day of sightseeing. We had a canal front room (222) with a window that opened and a window ledge perfect for sitting and taking in the lovely canal scenery while enjoying a glass of wine. The bar is where the very reasonably priced breakfast is served each morning. It was delicious with a very nice selection of hot and cold breakfast items...sausages, eggs, breads, cereals, beans, etc. The location is perfect. The decor is very art deco, with purples and blacks. Wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sebastian's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.