We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding personnel and neighborhood!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sebastian's to your Saves list
Hotel Sebastian's
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Offer
Ranked #11 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Chicago
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Outstanding personnel and neighborhood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

From the moment we made our reservations to our first step into the Hotel - through our 4th day, the entire staff and ownership could not have been more concerned, helpful and kind. We made contact with the staff before arriving and several times heard directly from the owners, Mr./Mrs Toren...... very gracious and excellent hosts.

2 couples stayed here in one Canal room and one Courtyard room - our Canal room was tight by American standards (our room width was the length of the bed plus 16 inches -our knees hit the closed BR door when on the toilet) but had a memorable view of the canal while our friends had a more spacious courtyard view which was great and a bit quieter - I'd choose the latter if I returned!

The location was wonderful for those who wish to be among the locals - fewer tourists and tourist spots but a flavor of this city which we very much enjoyed! We really walked to most things - or when leaving the canal area, took the tram - easy, cheap and fun. The desk helped with recommendations for dining, tours, transport and pretty much anything we could ask - and thier answers were great!

We've stayed at many high end boutique type hotels but this was tops......

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    201
    21
    3
    1
See reviews for
84
354
49
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seneca, South Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

OK. Maybe the bathroom was a bit tiny (although with very nice amenities and great shower) and could use some new tile work and the room needs a carpet upgrade, but who cares?! Hotel Sebastian's is wonderful. The location on the canal street is so peaceful and charming. The staff is fabulous. It seemed they were caring for family instead of hotel guests. We had a problem with our safe one morning and it was resolved in just 15 minutes after we called the front desk. Joey, one of the bartenders, is a delight. So friendly and nice. We enjoyed the bar each evening after a day of sightseeing. We had a canal front room (222) with a window that opened and a window ledge perfect for sitting and taking in the lovely canal scenery while enjoying a glass of wine. The bar is where the very reasonably priced breakfast is served each morning. It was delicious with a very nice selection of hot and cold breakfast items...sausages, eggs, breads, cereals, beans, etc. The location is perfect. The decor is very art deco, with purples and blacks. Wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We arrived in Amsterdam by train, and the Sebastian's is abaout 10-15 minutes from the Centraal Station, and about 10 euros by taxi. Don't forget to print the address to show to the taxi driver, because the name of the street isn't easy to pronunciate. We got the room with the canal view which was great. The staff is very friendly and always happy to help. The hotel is about 3 blocks from the dam (the old city main square), where you can take the trams to the museums (lines 2 or 5 - always take change coins and pay to the driver at the front door, or to the colector on the middle door, depending on the type of tram car). If you keep walking through the square, you reach red light district, etc.

About the museums, is always a good idea to purchese tickets in advance. You avoid a lot of lines and save time. If you forgot to to this at home, the hotel has a computer on the bar for that.

There are many restaurants near the hotel. We tryed a few, but the one we recommend is Seasons, at Herenstraat 16. Everything is good, but the salmon is excellent. And if you're a beer guy like me, try the Ijwit (the one with an ostrich on the label).

Having the breakfast in the hotel is also a good tip. For 10 euros (not very expensive, comparing to the bakeries around) you have a complete meal. And the good part is that it starts at 7h (the bakeries don't open until 9-10h) so you can catch an early flight or have more time to visit the city.

Room Tip: The canal view rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My daughter (14) & I stayed for 2 nights. We were warmly welcomed & offered restaurant bookings, bike hire & umbrellas! Nothing was too
Much trouble. Although we had a small room it was quiet, very comfortable & had a coffee machine with a wide choice. Breakfast was fine. The location is perfect - quiet, on a canal & near quirky shops & cafés. Also near tram stops. Definitely going to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Highly recommend, boutique style with flare. Service was excellent. Not so for families, more couples and singles. Close to everything. Well priced and great decor. Rooms were spacious. Great bar and food. It's sister hotel the toren, is also as good if not better.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I spent three nights at Hotel Sebastian's in May 2014 with a good friend. It was my first time in Amsterdam in 40 years. The hotel has an excellent location near the train station, right on a beautiful canal near Ann Frank's house. I liked my room very much; it had a canal view. The hotel is large enough to have the services I wanted, but small enough to make you feel at home.

But the best part of this hotel lies in the service of those who work there. The people at the front desk in particular spent a lot of time helping us answer questions about museum tickets and other practical things. Very helpful, very friendly and lots of fun to talk to. It made me feel like I was staying in the home of some really warm and competent distant Dutch cousins.

Next time I am in Amsterdam I will stay here for sure.

Room Tip: Canal view was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

This is a small hotel in an old building on a canal in the northern part of old Amsterdam. All the rooms and facilities are modern and the English-speaking staff are friendly and helpful. When booking a double room the hotel made clear that there was a choice between smaller doubles (really only suitable for single occupancy) and larger rooms at higher cost. Because the hotel is canal-side there is no traffic noise, yet it is only about 8 minutes from the central railway station, which is also the terminus for most tram routes and the place to get a train to the airport. The hotel has a bar with a choice of restaurants 5 - 10 minutes walk away. Breakfast is fairly standard for the Netherlands in terms of price and choice of foods.

Room Tip: Make clear whether you are a couple or single when choosing a "double" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sebastian's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.