We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place on the old canal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sebastian's to your Saves list
Hotel Sebastian's
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Offer
Ranked #11 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Berkshire, England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place on the old canal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

This is a small hotel in an old building on a canal in the northern part of old Amsterdam. All the rooms and facilities are modern and the English-speaking staff are friendly and helpful. When booking a double room the hotel made clear that there was a choice between smaller doubles (really only suitable for single occupancy) and larger rooms at higher cost. Because the hotel is canal-side there is no traffic noise, yet it is only about 8 minutes from the central railway station, which is also the terminus for most tram routes and the place to get a train to the airport. The hotel has a bar with a choice of restaurants 5 - 10 minutes walk away. Breakfast is fairly standard for the Netherlands in terms of price and choice of foods.

Room Tip: Make clear whether you are a couple or single when choosing a "double" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    213
    21
    3
    1
See reviews for
91
375
53
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

17-MAY-14

Dear Henry and team,
I am home in Montreal with sweet memories of beautiful Amsterdam.
And that is because of the beautiful Dutch people and, you.
Thank you for all your help, honesty and sincerity. I took your smallest room that was perfectly described, quaint, clean and efficient. Your service and facility is beyond reproach. Your humanity is what makes life a pleasure.
Thank you for everything. I vow already to return.

Best regards,
Larry B

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located on a peaceful, leafy canal 10 minute walk from the central railway station. Easy walking to most major tourist sites. We had a 3rd floor room facing the canal and were able to sit in our window and watch the boats on the canal while sipping wine. The staff is friendly and accommodating, the hotel clean and the decor relaxing. They serve an excellent breakfast with delicious croissants and hot and cold buffet items at a modest additional charge. Harm serves as a goodwill ambassador for the hotel as well as serving coffee and tending bar. They could do with a little more storage space and brighter lighting in the rooms.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a short break in May. It was a surprise so I had no idea what to expect. I had hoped for a small, friendly hotel by the canal. What I got was so much more. Sebastian's is a gem. Located on the edge of the Jordaan district it is perfectly placed for those who love to wander by the beautiful canals and watch the world go by yet close enough to the major sites. We had a medium double overlooking the canal and woke to the lovely view each morning. It was quiet enough to leave our windows open. The room wasn't large but that's to be expected in most city hotels. The bed was extremely comfortable and two chairs were provided. Breakfast was lovely with a good choice of not only continental but also cooked items. However the best thing about Sebastian's is the staff. Nothing is too much trouble and they always greet you with a genuine smile and a chat. If the key to a good hotel is making the guest feel welcome and valued Sebastian's has it in spades. We will be back.

Room Tip: Room 222 was great. Choose one overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

This hotel is in a lovely,convenient location. It is not big and because of this it feels very comfortable. The staff are really great, they all try to make your stay with them the best they can make it. The decor is maybe not to everyone's taste but bland it isn't! We had a room overlooking the canal and it is interesting to watch the boats passing by.
It is only a few minutes walk to various attractions yet it is really peaceful in the immediate area.
There is a bar where breakfast is served and they serve a few snacks but not meals but they will arrange a take away for you if you don't feel like dining out. I think it's appeal is the really welcoming atmosphere
that the staff give from the moment you arrive.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

My wife, daughter and I stayed a few nights after stays in Budapest and Prague. The service at Sebastian's was the best. Started with excellent restaurant recommendations. Very pleasant front desk and bar room staff. Great location. Will definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Withernsea, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

On our first night in Sebastian’s we had take away and the
young man Robert made sure that every thing was done as
if we where in a restaurant he looked after us and made us
feel like we where special those little touches are why we love
this hotel. Every thing is just a short walk away. We found this
is the best Hotel that we have stayed in and we
been going too Amsterdam for a lot of years.
Will We be back absolutely

Room Tip: they are all very nice we liked view of canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sebastian's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.