We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sebastian's to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sebastian's
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #16 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Hotel Sebastian's is in a perfect location for a weekend trip to Amsterdam. Right on a canal in a quiet location yet close enough to walk to Central Station, Dam Square, Anne Frank House, Red Light District, etc. The staff went above and beyond to ensure our stay was pleasant. The breakfast each morning was perfect to start us on our day and the coffee was delicious! The rooms are definitely funky and bit dark but plenty large enough for three of us! I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    335
    177
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
67
297
40
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Hotel Sebastian's was simply outstanding. The location is without par--not boisterous but accessible to all of Central Amsterdam. The service was remarkable. Every single member of the staff was friendly, informative, and accommodating. They had perfect recommendations for dining, walking, and sightseeing. The room was lovely and clean. I will stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

This is a decent hotel, good value, central and nicely quiet by the canals. I enjoyed my stay, but found the rooms unnecessarily dark. Cleanliness not so great. Very friendly staff and good breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is an absolutely lovely hotel, a little quirky and different ....and totally dedicated to looking after their guests. The staff, particularly on reception were so friendly and helpful and we felt they were genuinely interested in us and making our stay in the hotel and Amsterdam the best it could be.
Our room overlooked the canal and was quiet and well equipped. We particularly liked the quality of the coffee from the coffee machine and the lovely complimentary toiletries.
Thank you so much to all at Hotel Sebastian's for making our stay so special. You should be very proud of the service you provide to your guests. We look forward to staying with you again when we have the chance to return to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: We had a canal view room which was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Got 2 rooms for family and stayed 4 nights. Staff was welcoming and helpful. I would have preferred a brighter look, but I think it's a themed hotel, so no problem really. Our rooms were located in the garden area, so no views of the canal, but very quiet, which I liked. The rooms are quite big, beds very comfortable, but the pillows are very soft, and only one each person. The bathroom is more than adequate and bright, clean and layout is good. There was a slight problem, though, with the control of the shower- difficult to turn. It was the same difficulty with our daughters' shower. Anyway, during checkout, when the lady at the reception learned of this, she offered to give our breakfast that morning for free. The hotel was located in a quiet neighborhood, but near the city center, so eating out is no problem. Breakfast was good ( not included in the room charge, costs 10€/person), hot dishes and very good breads.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Hotel Sebastians is in a really pretty part of Amsterdam within walking distance of the station, Anne Frank's house and the Nine Streets shopping district. Our room was quiet and well equipped (Nespresso machine, hairdryer, fridge) the beds were very comfortable and the bathroom spotless. What made our stay such a pleasure, though, were the staff. They were extraordinarily attentive, courteous and friendly. Look no further.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, Surrey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

A friend and I recently spent a night at Sebastian's en route to The Hague. Our 'small double' rooms, although compact, were very comfortable, clean, well equipped and extremely quiet. There was a good range of food available at breakfast, including some hot items. Sebastian's is in a great location - within walking distance of most of the sights, but on a quiet leafy street in the canal belt with cafes, bars and restaurants nearby. The staff couldn't have been more welcoming, friendly and helpful, and gave us a map and list of places to eat. We were able to check in early and to store our bags after checking out. My only small gripe is that the staff were a bit inefficient during check-out and couldn't add together the cost of breakfast and the city tax (our rooms had been pre-paid) and insisted that the two rooms owed wildly different amounts even though we'd both had the same. It was sorted out eventually, but took almost half an hour. This is the only reason I have not given top marks. Despite this, I would considering staying at Sebastian's again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sebastian's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.