We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic time in Amsterdam, Fantastic Hotel Sebastian's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sebastian's to your Saves list
Hotel Sebastian's
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Offer
Ranked #9 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Pershore, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic time in Amsterdam, Fantastic Hotel Sebastian's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is an absolutely lovely hotel, a little quirky and different ....and totally dedicated to looking after their guests. The staff, particularly on reception were so friendly and helpful and we felt they were genuinely interested in us and making our stay in the hotel and Amsterdam the best it could be.
Our room overlooked the canal and was quiet and well equipped. We particularly liked the quality of the coffee from the coffee machine and the lovely complimentary toiletries.
Thank you so much to all at Hotel Sebastian's for making our stay so special. You should be very proud of the service you provide to your guests. We look forward to staying with you again when we have the chance to return to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: We had a canal view room which was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    229
    21
    3
    1
See reviews for
99
425
61
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Got 2 rooms for family and stayed 4 nights. Staff was welcoming and helpful. I would have preferred a brighter look, but I think it's a themed hotel, so no problem really. Our rooms were located in the garden area, so no views of the canal, but very quiet, which I liked. The rooms are quite big, beds very comfortable, but the pillows are very soft, and only one each person. The bathroom is more than adequate and bright, clean and layout is good. There was a slight problem, though, with the control of the shower- difficult to turn. It was the same difficulty with our daughters' shower. Anyway, during checkout, when the lady at the reception learned of this, she offered to give our breakfast that morning for free. The hotel was located in a quiet neighborhood, but near the city center, so eating out is no problem. Breakfast was good ( not included in the room charge, costs 10€/person), hot dishes and very good breads.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Hotel Sebastians is in a really pretty part of Amsterdam within walking distance of the station, Anne Frank's house and the Nine Streets shopping district. Our room was quiet and well equipped (Nespresso machine, hairdryer, fridge) the beds were very comfortable and the bathroom spotless. What made our stay such a pleasure, though, were the staff. They were extraordinarily attentive, courteous and friendly. Look no further.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, Surrey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

A friend and I recently spent a night at Sebastian's en route to The Hague. Our 'small double' rooms, although compact, were very comfortable, clean, well equipped and extremely quiet. There was a good range of food available at breakfast, including some hot items. Sebastian's is in a great location - within walking distance of most of the sights, but on a quiet leafy street in the canal belt with cafes, bars and restaurants nearby. The staff couldn't have been more welcoming, friendly and helpful, and gave us a map and list of places to eat. We were able to check in early and to store our bags after checking out. My only small gripe is that the staff were a bit inefficient during check-out and couldn't add together the cost of breakfast and the city tax (our rooms had been pre-paid) and insisted that the two rooms owed wildly different amounts even though we'd both had the same. It was sorted out eventually, but took almost half an hour. This is the only reason I have not given top marks. Despite this, I would considering staying at Sebastian's again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed 1 night in a small single room. Room was nicely furnished and comfortable. Friendly staff.
Location is excellent on the western canal ring. Reasonable value given the location, though if you're staying more than 1 night, go for a bigger room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie Village, Kansas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

My husband and I, along with another couple, stayed at the Sebastian Hotel on March 20-23. We had a fantastic time in Amsterdam and loved this hotel! The entire staff was so nice and helpful. From the moment we booked the hotel on-line, they sent us maps, directions, restaurant suggestions...they even made sure to inform us that some museums might be difficult to get into and advised us to purchase tickets in advance. When we arrived, we had a bottle of Champagne waiting for us in our room. The front desk made several restaurant reservations for all four of us on very short notice, and purchased tickets to another museum that we decided to visit. They could not have been more helpful!!

Room Tip: I would reserve a room with a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The hotel sebastian is a great choice for an amsterdam trip.
They are the friendliest staff i have ever met , helpfull, pleasant and very kind.
This hotel is a must !!

We will most definitley be revisiting very soon

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sebastian's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.