We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Canal Ring Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sebastian's to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sebastian's
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #16 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Newbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Canal Ring Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed 1 night in a small single room. Room was nicely furnished and comfortable. Friendly staff.
Location is excellent on the western canal ring. Reasonable value given the location, though if you're staying more than 1 night, go for a bigger room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    335
    177
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
67
297
40
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prairie Village, Kansas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

My husband and I, along with another couple, stayed at the Sebastian Hotel on March 20-23. We had a fantastic time in Amsterdam and loved this hotel! The entire staff was so nice and helpful. From the moment we booked the hotel on-line, they sent us maps, directions, restaurant suggestions...they even made sure to inform us that some museums might be difficult to get into and advised us to purchase tickets in advance. When we arrived, we had a bottle of Champagne waiting for us in our room. The front desk made several restaurant reservations for all four of us on very short notice, and purchased tickets to another museum that we decided to visit. They could not have been more helpful!!

Room Tip: I would reserve a room with a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The hotel sebastian is a great choice for an amsterdam trip.
They are the friendliest staff i have ever met , helpfull, pleasant and very kind.
This hotel is a must !!

We will most definitley be revisiting very soon

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

My husband booked Hotel Sebastian's in Amsterdam for my birthday and we were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived the staff were both welcoming and friendly. The hotel is decorated in a chic style and the room was very comfortable. The hotel is situated in the perfect area of the city; right next to a canal, peaceful and serene. The girls at the reception very kindly booked some museum tickets for us and were helpful at all times. Everything is in walking distance which is great. All the staff we encountered were lovely and friendly. The breakfast was gorgeous with beautiful scrambled eggs which set us up for all our walking round the city. We would definitely return and would recommend to anyone visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We had a 3 night break in Amsterdam as a birthday present to each other and could not have chosen a better hotel. Although our room was quite small we had a view of the canal and the room was clean and comfortable.The service in the hotel was excellent. Without exception everyone was helpful friendly and courteous. The buffet breakfast was also good value.
The hotel is in a fantastic location and we had a wonderful time in the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

This is a family run small hotel with about 20 rooms. We stayed in room 121 which is a small double but has a great canal-side view. All of the staff are very friendly and hospitable. The hotel was, in our opinion, in a perfect location; quiet and calm and yet only a few minutes walk from the key sights. Close by is the '9 Streets' area which is a series of canal-side streets full of boutique or personalised shops and bars, all without the hassle of tourists and the like. We loved it.
Breakfasts are buffet style and excellent. Once again the service was first class and attentive.
My wife and I vow to go back soon.
There was also a nice bottle of champagne on ice upon our arrival, gatis courtesy of the hotel for my birthday. A telling touch.

Room Tip: If you can, do choose a room with a canal view. It will be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sebastian's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.