We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, friendly, helpful staff, great rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Sebastian's to your Saves list
Hotel Sebastian's
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #14 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, friendly, helpful staff, great rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Apologies in advance for the lengthy review. Although I probably still have, I wanted to do my best to not miss anything out!!

Stayed here in mid-late Jan 2014 with my partner for our anniversary.
Specifically booked this hotel with her in mind, the decor from the lobby/reception right the way through to the bar and rooms is amazing (and very much to my partner's taste!).
We stayed in a large double room with a view of Keizersgracht. The large rooms are massive and were way above my expectations.

The room:
Bathroom/wet room well stocked with basic toiletries.
Safe in room.
Plenty of storage space and hangers.
Hairdryer in room.
Spare/extra pillows and sheets already in the room.
Tea and coffee facilities atop the minibar.
Ipod docking station (although we didn't spend enough time in the room to warrant it's use!)
The bed itself was probably the comfiest I have ever slept on.

Prior to booking and arriving the staff were very helpful via email contact. Upon arrival this didn't subside either... reception staff more than happy to recommend and book tables at restaurants (even for a fussy eater such as myself), recommend bars, tourist attractions etc.
I ordered a bottle of champagne on one night to be delivered to our room and this was upgraded to something a bit nicer than what I had selected, compliments of the house! The bar staff were also happy to fix me up a cocktail that wasn't listed on their menu. Little things like these can make such a difference.

As far as location is concerned, Sebastian's is nigh-on perfect. The Jordaan district is a lot quieter than other areas of the city that I have stayed in previously. Ten minutes walk from Amsterdam Centraal, most attractions within walking distance but just far enough from the city centre nightlife to not disturb your all important sleep!
As with any major city hotel around the globe, some people may find the prices a little on the high side but as it was a special occasion, this didn't bother me. After staying at the hotel, I would happily pay the prices they ask again.

I work in a 4 star hotel myself and understand very much how things can go right or wrong in these environments. Hotel Sebastians are getting it right every step of the way and I can't wait to return. 100% recommended.

Room Tip: I think we were in Room 18 (large double with canal view). Very pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    187
    21
    2
    1
See reviews for
73
318
45
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

As with most of central Amsterdam it's a little pricey but it's quiet, central and the "fill yer boots" breakfasts see you in good stead for a full days sightseeing. Everything within walking distance as well. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Nice hotel in a terrific location next to canal in Jordaan area. Easy walk from the main station and close to restaurants and shops. Staff very helpful and friendly. Would highly recommend the hotel with its purple, decadent decor although it's a bit pricey for a smallish double room. However, the location makes up for this as the area is safe, quiet and pretty with all the main attractions within easy reach, either walking or by tram.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newfoundland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I have no complaints about this hotel. The room was clean, staff friendly and location good but I had stayed in another hotel a few days prior which was cheaper and nicer in my opinion. Amsterdam is so small that it is easy to walk everywhere so location was not an issue. The rooms are a hoot and quite eclectic. They are a little small but nothing outside the norm for Europe. If you arrive late at night, as we did, don't be surprised if you find it a little hard to find as the only thing distinguishing it from the only canal houses is small print in the window.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

It was an excellent hotel in a very good area. The staff was so kind and talented. We got very usefull suggestions about where to go and almost all suggestions were perfect. The room was quite comfortable. Especially bed was very comfortable. I would suggest this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Very easy to find, an easy walk from the station. Lovely canal position and within easy reach of Anne Frank's museum and quiet at night. Very welcoming staff who sent restaurant suggestions in advance and made reservations for us.The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom, whilst small, had nice products. Nice bar and excellent breakfast- really good value for City Centre

Room Tip: Worth paying a bit extra for the canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

me and my husband and 2 boys aged 8 and 5 had wonderful stay here.
fab room, great shower and bath.
room bit hot, but managed air con in end!!
breakfast was very good value esp for 5 year old who was free.
staff so helpful esp at breakfast.
central but quiet.
cant recommend highly enough!!

Room Tip: great family room in basement, huge!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sebastian's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.