We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sebastian's to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sebastian's
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #16 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

An ideally located and inexpensive hotel. Located in the Jordaan, about a 10 minute walk from the train station. This hotel offered the perfect match of location, it is situated on one of many canals, and friendly, helpful staff that aided in the enjoyment of Amsterdam, now my favourite city.

The staff supplied a list of locally-endorsed restaurants, and the ones we visited were terrific and allowed us to avoid the tourist trap places.

I recommend this hotel for new and repeat visitors to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    325
    172
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
65
288
39
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Friendly helpful staff. Pleasant breakfast. Great location for biking . I attended a meeting and could not have found a better base . Lots of restaurants in area. Close to train station. Very quiet and picturesque.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

The hotel is well located on a lovely canal side and close to all touristic spots. The friendly and help full staff will make sure that your stay is going well at Any time.
Very confortable and spacious bedroom, ... excellent breakfast!
Really, you will not regret to book at Sebastians hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Really lovely hotel in a fab location right on one of the canals, 10 mins walk from the central station and within walking distance of all the other areas.
Staff very friendly and helpful and lovely room.

Would definitely stay again and have no bad points to make.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Having stayed in the sister hotel the Toren back in February and loving it, we decided to give Sebastian's a try and I'm glad to say I wasn't disappointed.

It's not on par with the Toren but it's not to far of. The decor is the same throughout, nice and warm, making it very cosy and welcoming to come back to of an evening. The room was more than sufficient for a long weekend, cumfy bed, ample closet space, TV with English channels, espresso machine, mini bar, safe, free Wi-fi, air con, and more importantly it was clean, and tidy and are room 331 had a very nice canal view. The room was turned over everyday with fresh towels.

The only draw back for me, and it is only a small one was the size of the bathroom...it was snug to say the least however i spent very little time in there so for me it wasn't a big deal.

The staff were very polite, and helpful, and there was no issues at all. I was satisfied with the price, I'd be hard pushed to find somewhere as good, and in such a prominent location for a similar price.

Well worth a visit, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in October with our teenage sons. Booked the hotel based on reviews and the fact that they had a room that could accommodate all four of us. We couldn't have picked a better hotel.
The staff were extremely helpful from the onset. As soon as I booked the hotel they contacted me to ask how we would like the beds configuring. Very thoughtful.
On arrival, nothing was too much trouble for them even to the point of organising a doctor appt for my son.
The hotel is very 'boutique chic' and we loved it. We had the large family room on the ground floor right at the back of the hotel. It was fabulous and wonderfully designed, very tasteful. Very large and with a great seating area. The beds were extremely comfortable. The room faced onto a small courtyard which was very peaceful and great to look onto.
Bathroom was fabulous with underfloor heating and enough products to last us all for months had we been lucky enough to stay that long!
Breakfast was an optional extra and again the staff were very helpful and accommodating. The staff were always in the vicinity but discreetly in the background but seemed to appear at just the right moment if need be.
The location of the hotel was perfect. 5-7 mins walk to Anne Franks house, same to the Damrak and basically just in a very upmarket beautiful area.
This hotel would be perfect for anyone. Couples, families or just friends. Even if I were travelling alone this would be a perfect hotel to just sit and watch the world go by through the fringe curtains.....
We have been to Amsterdam on a number of occasions but I have to say this has to be the best hotel we have had the pleasure of staying in and we will definitely be back and would totally recommend to all.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Central, quiet, clean, cozy, warm, friendly, helpful, polite, well located, charming staff and property.
My partner and I are still in residence December 5th 2013, the staff are charming and helpful had a personal written letter from the Hotel Manager and proprietors, wishing him a happy 50th birthday with a complimentary bottle of vintage bubbles!
Room very spacious and sumptuous for Amsterdam hotel standards. central location only ten minute walk from the Centraal Station, beds are very comfortable, lots of toiletries and a Nespresso machine in the room is a genius touch of decadence, hotel is on hand to all sights, right on of the three main Canals crisscross sing the city, handy for all districts.
Much appreciated, mr d sisterna

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms larger and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sebastian's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.