We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sebastian's to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sebastian's
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #16 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We've just returned from a brief stay in Amsterdam and can thoroughly recommend this hotel. The location & facilities are excellent. We had booked a small double room but on arrival we were upgraded to a larger room, with a lovely canal view. The staff were very efficient and friendly. The bar food and breakfast represented good value for money. Hopefully we will be able to return for a longer stay and we would definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    178
    20
    2
    1
See reviews for
70
304
42
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Branford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Very well located on one of the three primary canals and walking distance to most major attractions. There are many hotels to choose from in a large city such as Amsterdam and the way in which one can distinguish itself from the rest is in the level of service provided by the staff, Hotel Sebastian's gets this and everyone there is extremely friendly and helpful. I had a cell phone issue while there and the front desk personnel went to great lengths to assist. The room decor is somewhat eclectic, mine continued the 'homage to Marilyn' from the restaurant.The in-room amenities are excellent, coffee-maker, robe, slippers and umbrella! Probably my 11th or 12 visit to this lovely city and if Sebastian's keep it up, I will certainly be back again!

Room Tip: You can't beat a canal view - isn't that why you're here?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

After reading all the reviews I settled on booked this hotel and very much hoped that it would live up to what I had read. We booked a small double and after booking we had another email from the hotel reiterating just how small the room was (At this point I was wondering how small is small) We walked to the hotel from the central station which took 10 mins and upon arrival at the hotel I was pleased. We arrived early but our room was ready, staff were courteous and the hotel was warm and welcoming. We were in room 118 and climbed the one set our stairs somewhat apprehensive to see the room. I opened the door and it was OK! yes it is smaller than your average room but as far as I'm concerned you are there to sleep. The bed was comfy, plenty of spare blankets and pillows. There was a proper coffee machine with Pods which made the morning more pleasant and the bathroom was of good size.
We had a wonderful time and whilst we didn't spend much time in the hotel, it provided us with an excellent base in a lovely location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Only a 10 min walk from the main train station, this hotels location was amazing.
The location was just outside of the main tourist location, so we got to experience the best restaurants, bars and area much like the locals do!

Close to Anne frank house, pretty streets, amazing restaurants and bars.
The staff we very friendly, and seemed to be happy to go above and beyond expectations.
The breakfast was fantastic and even cater for gluten free.

The hotel decor is kind of boutique and funky. I would absolutely stay here again and can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Withernsea, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We loved our stay. The staff where so friendly and helpful
the rooms pure luxury and spotless. We had a view of the canal
it looked wonderful day and night can not fault it
"would we stay again"? have no plans to look for anywhere else
when we go back too Amsterdam in 2014

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Loved this hotel. Walked from the train station to get there and it was no problem. Staff were attentive, quiet and professional. The whole place is spotless and has tiki lights out front at night which really helped us zero in after a night spent out on the town! Our room was spotless, big, had a beautiful big bath, shower stall, excellent wifi and a comfortable bed. The courtyard was immaculate and lovely. We didn't use any of the amenities (don't really know what they offer) but instead, chose to go out for all meals. Great recommendations from staff when you need help. I will definitely stay there if we go back to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Room 107 is a very large room which has access to a lovely courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Choose this hotel after reading the reviews, and we where not disappointed. A lovely find and definite repeatable when coming to Amsterdam again. Staff where very friendly and helpful. The room was spotless and very comfortable(in the newly build part)
The bar was nice and relaxing, and they even had a smoking room. Breakfast was yummy.
My only gripe was that the lighting was very sparse in the corridors and bar area ( specially as the décor was very dark. I brought my elderly mother and she found it very difficult to get around as it was too dark to see where she was going. specially the steps down to the new build was very dark and dangerous. It is not a hotel that is good for anybody who has poor eyesight( due to dark décor) or find steps difficult ( to the dining room, to the toilet, to some of the rooms.)
We definite will be back, but without mother

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sebastian's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.