We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel, superb service and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sebastian's to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sebastian's
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 15, Amsterdam 1015 CC, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Offer
Ranked #16 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable hotel, superb service and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Spent 5 nights in a canal view room on the first floor. Nice big room with large comfortable bed and a couple of seats overlooking picturesque canal and quiet street. Small shower room was perfectly adequate and the shower very efficient. Coffee machine in the room with great choice of coffees. Hotel decor is contemporary/quirky (lots of purple and black) which makes it a characterful and memorable place to stay.
Service was outstanding. Staff were helpful and friendly without being obtrusive. Good choice of breakfast: cereal, yogurt, fruit, bread and pastries, hot buffet (scrambled egg, bacon, mushrooms etc) and cold buffet (cooked meats, cheese).
Location is excellent. The Jordaan is a lovely area to wander in with small individual shops and good neighbourhood restaurants. Only 10-15 min walk from Centraal Station which suited us well as we arrived by train from London. Also convenient for trams to the Museum District. A short walk alongside the canals to the Anne Frank House. Great Saturday morning farmers' market (food/flowers) in nearby Noordermarkt.
Would certainly return to Sebastian's if visiting Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    276
    159
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
53
255
34
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

First time stay here for 4 nights, solo traveler. I've been to Amsterdam before so knew the location and area pretty well, which factored into the decision. It is near the intersection of the Keizersgracht and Brouwersgracht, so a very easy walk to/from Centraal Station. My understanding is that it is run by the same folks who operate the Toren.

Lovely reception and bar/breakfast area. Decor is purple/mauve/black/tan - rather elegant and I thought quite attractive. My room was very small, as I had been warned in an email at time of reservation, but well appointed with a comfortable bed, lovely bath and shower, nicely decorated. Coffee/tea in room, personal safe, armoire, tv, etc. Pretty quiet area. The staff were friendly and helpful. I arrived early and though my room wasn't quite ready was able to leave my luggage and go for a wander. Back in an hour and a half to a freshly cleaned room and much needed shower! Breakfast is available for an extra 10 euro charge, though I did not take advantage of it. Bar was quite spiffy though I did not spend any time there.

Overall a very nice hotel. For those who prefer the small boutique hotel experience, I think this is a great choice.

Room Tip: Be advised that the sole single room is very, very small and won;t be comfortable if you have a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Sebastian's is a charming small hotel in a great canal-side location. The room was well-appointed and clean, if a bit small. One of the nicest things about it was the warmth and friendliness of the staff. Whenever we asked for a recommendation--for restaurants, airport rides, directions--the young people at the desk were helpful and accurate. Oh, and it is a great location for just wandering and discovering small shops and charming restaurants. Loved it!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

On my first solo trip I was so relieved to have chosen such a hotel in a fabulous location where I felt safe. The staff were very friendly on my arrival. I had emailed in advance to request early check-in if possible and, although they couldn't promise the room would be ready, it was by 11.15 am which was nearly 3 hours before normal check-in. The staff also gave some great tips on where to visit and marked on a map where to explore.
I had the smallest room in the hotel which was cosy and comforable, great for a solo female traveller. I could hear someone snoring through the walls though so possibly need to pack ear plugs next time!
The hotel is in a brilliant location close to the Jordaan and Nine Streets on a quiet and peaceful canal. Definitely the real Amsterdam!

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Sebastian's Hotel is a most charming, comfortable and beautifully managed hotel. Rooms are spotless and very well appointed. The staff are extremely helpful and nothing is too much trouble. A great breakfast starts the day and being close to Central Station makes it easy to arrive and start sightseeing. Great for museums, shops and restaurants but in a quiet area for a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

After spending numerous hours researching where to stay in Amsterdam, trip advisor did not disappoint. The Sebastian was delightful. The staff was attentive and accomodating. The room was quite clean and well appointed with a tempurpedic mattress pad, fluffy bedding and a Nespresso machine. The hotel is decorated in rich dark colors and has a cool edgy club vibe. Breakfast choices included meats, various cheeses, yogurt, fruit, warm pastry and a wide variety of teas and coffee. Our server Harn was friendly and pleasant. The location was excellent as well, lovely quiet canal and a short walk to the attractions. Our stay in Amsterdam to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary and my birthday was everything we could have hoped for and more.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel while in Amsterdam for work. It's about a 10 minute walk to the main train station but located in a very quiet residential neighborhood. Great restaurants within easy walking distance.

The staff at reception were always friendly and helpful. I had a great room on the very top floor with lots of big sunny windows. Can't remember the room number but it definitely one which I would request again, though might not be great for those with limited mobility since the elevator stops one floor below.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Address: Keizersgracht 15, Amsterdam 1015 CC, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sebastian's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.