We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet canalside hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sebastian's to your Saves list
Hotel Sebastian's
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Offer
Ranked #10 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Oxford, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Quiet canalside hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had a very pleasant couple of days in this delightful small hotel, close to the main attractions and station, yet in a pleasant and quiet location. Our rooms were comfortable and perfectly adequate, with spacious and well fitted bathrooms.
Decoration is very modern and in good order, with a pleasant bar area for relaxation and light meals. Breakfast is very reasonably priced at 10 euros with hot and cold food options. Daytime snacks are also available.
All the staff were most pleasant and helpful on practical details and their recommendations for restaurants provided us with excellent choices.
Thanks for an enjoyable stay. We would definitely return and recommend the hotel to friends.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the canal give an attractive view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    217
    21
    3
    1
See reviews for
92
387
55
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Sebastian's for four nights in September. The hotel has a lovely canal-side setting in a very convenient location. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and we were offered a room overlooking the canal on the first two nights and a garden view room for the remaining two nights. Both rooms were clean and spacious, especially the garden view room which would easily have accommodated four people, and both rooms had fantastic bathrooms with nice toiletries.
The only quibble we had was the extra charge of 10 euros per person for the breakfast which we felt should have been included at no extra cost as the room rate was quite expensive. Should it be possible to include breakfast in the room rate, then Hotel Sebastian's would get top marks all the way.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My wife and I visited Amsterdam for the first time and stayed at Sebastian's. It turned out to be an excellent choice. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was perfect and close to Anne Franks, Dam Square and the Central Train Station. The room was a good size and the bed was very comfortable. This hotel is very charming and an excellent choice.

Room Tip: A canal view room will make a great stay better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magog, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I travelled in Amsterdam in October, 2013, I spontaneously choose Hotel Sébastian s on this site, and what a GOAL. Really a great hotel, with a great service, Staff very kind and always willing to help and serve you. A hotel with great style that makes you live your journey a special way, also very well situated in the city, just a few minutes walk from center.. I really recommend it, a i will certainly go back to this charming hotel. Afew words in French ,Je viens de Magog ,Québec Canada et je vous suggere fortement d aller a cet hotel , Flyer, et de le découvrir par vous-meme ,vous allez Adorer. A proximite de tout tres bien situé et tres propre. Le service est excellent. Personnel Accueillant. D Origine Hongroise voici quelques mots pour les gens de là-bas. Nagyon kellemes hotel ,tiszta es jo hejen van .Minden Dolgozo nagyon Kellemes. Voila. Suzanne Csiszer Québec, Canada

Room Tip: Just be spountaneous , follow your feelings and the rest will be just Great. Enjoy life.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights in October on the strength of other reviews, and wasn't disappointed. As others have said, service at this small hotel is superb, reception staff are friendly and helpful. My room, although small, was spotless and had everything I needed for a short stay. Free wifi worked well, and the Nespresso machine in the room was a fantastic touch. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Many of the hotels reviewed by Tripsadviser after being visited by me, I really wonder. who are these reviewers? But the reviewers who stayed at this Hotel really got it right! A real find! Close to the Dam square, lovely room, nice view on the canal, when u climb down onto the enclosed balcony part of your room. Rather expensive but worth it. We were there during a very busy period when there were a lot of conferences. Hotel sent a letter to the room apologizing for the expensive tarif but as it was conference time .... And also next time they would give me a cheaper rate..
And the breakfast. It was really good value for money. Definately go for it. They were also willing to keep a suitcase for us when we shot off for a week n came back later. The only negative was that there could have been more space for our clothes. The room could also do with more lighting.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed at sebastian hotel in Amsterdam we were to big family, the service,the clean and large room with an exit to large porch , the location was near the main street in the center, everything was excellent.
I will sure come back to this lovely hotel

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sebastian's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.